We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service”
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #108 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have stayed at the Chamberlain many times over the years, doing business at Lloyd's. Liz and the staff, and now Nicky, have done everything to make my stays comfortable. Room service is great, the pub is well managed and the food is delicious. I have recommended the Hotel to many of my friends and colleagues and to a person they have praised my recommendation. great hotel, great location, great food and drink, great staff. What else do you need? There are also, now, several gyms nearby to choose from, as well as a Tesco's a block away. Lovely! Tony.

Room Tip: Executive Terrace There is no pool or fitness center. See above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw, it's always a pleasure to see you on your annual visit to London.

Hopefully we can make your next visit even more enjoyable.

Kindest Regards

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Clean and basic room,comfy bed. Had reasonable bottle of Prosecco and meal at the bar. Good breakfast buffet. All the staff very friendly seemed surprised to be given a tip, Location great for Tower and City.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAW687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, I'm so pleased you found the team friendly and that you enjoyed our bar!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Booked 2 rooms next to each other, 1 was a little noisy. Nice clean big room, everything you need, free minibar (water) and safe. Friendly and helpfull staff. Reasonably priced classic hotel. Breakfast included, ask from the warm menu (for free!) Restaurant was ok, classic british cuisine. The bar is super, nice atmosphere and you can taste some ales before choosing.
We'll definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedricfillieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is well located for anyone doing business in The City. You are close to the Tower of London and the Tower Hill tube station. At the other end of the Minories is Aldgate tube station. Rooms are clean and roomy (for London). Nice breakfast is available, although I had most of my breakfasts across the street at the Italian restaurant at the corner of Portsoken and Minories. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. They let me borrow a currency converter, and brought new pillows that were harder than the soft ones provided. Free internet that is relatively fast - unlike some free internet in hotels that is slow as molasses. No gym however. Lots of restaurants nearby. Good prices on the rooms if you book early. They are usually full so prices will be steeper if you book closer to the date you are staying. I like room 105 as I can walk up and down from the lobby without the lift, and the windows are double glazed which reduces the street noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Have only not given it an excellent rating because had to wait a bit too long for my cooked breakfast and, because it had been missed, it was only lukewarm when I got it. Other than that, very clean room and friendly staff as per previous 2 visits. Great location - haven't even bothered looking at other hotels' availability once I found this one on visit 1.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Chamberlain, I'm delighted to hear that we've become your hotel of choice.
I'm so pleased that you've been happy with our service and we'll make sure your breakfast is hot enough next time.
Kindest Regards
Liz McLelland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Beatifull hotel, beautiful rooms and the best breakfast I've ever eaten...
They have evan a pub with geat beers..
Hotel is close to the Tower Bridge, the Tower of London, the Aldgate and Tower Hill metro stations and St. Katharines doc...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinkoZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review and the comments about breakfast. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Warmest Regards
Liz McLelland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

In the heart of the city, a few mnutes walk from the Tower & London Bridge,I really enjoyed my stay here & loved the quiet room - 5th floor with a terrace & views of London Bridge to the left & the Gherkin to the right above a small cul de sac with little traffic. We loved the balcony so much as it was hot & sunny during our stay & evenings were blissful on the balcony with a few drinks.
The room itself was reasonably compact but everything you could want was there & very comfortable & stylish. We stayed on a summer 3 night offer & it was great value.
Some rooms overlooking The Minories can be a little noisy as it's such a main thoroughfare.
The reception area is a little old fashioned looking with just a couple of leather sofas & a rather garish carpet but there is a very comfortable & welcoming Fullers pub which adjoins the reception. It was actually a really nice change to have a pub rather than hotel cocktail bar. This is the flagship hotel of Fullers breweries. It's well used by city workers also so has plenty of atmosphere.
The staff are really helpful & charming - especially Shirley who is a Londoner & was able to give great advice. Breakfast was delicious & the hot dishes are freshly cooked to your order.
I really loved staying in the City for once - especially only being about a 15 min walk from Brick Lane's markets & vintage shops & less to Petticoat Lane & other shops along the way.
it's easy to travel elsewhere in London being only a few minutes from either Tower Hill tube stop or Aldgate trains plus Aldgate Bus Station. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibellius2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your view of the Chamberlain on TripAdvisor, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found all the team helpful.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#88 of 1,076 in London
3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,076 in London
1,991 reviews
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#149 of 1,076 in London
1,081 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#234 of 1,076 in London
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £98 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing