We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel for the location, except for the nightlight”
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #118 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel for the location, except for the nightlight”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was really happy to find a good deal on the Chamberlain, which was ridiculously close to the place I needed to get business done in London. If you have business involved with central London, this is terrific. As a runner, it was great to pop over the Tower Bridge in the morning to run along the south side of the Thames River, where there is a well used running path. You do need to negotiate the mad traffic patterns from the hotel to the bridge access, but it's doable. One downside of the location when I got there on Sunday afternoon was that there are almost no restaurants open in that part of town, so be warned. Fortunately there is a reasonable pub under the railway bridge a couple of blocks away, and at last resort the hotel itself is connected to a pub, which was open. The room amenities and equipment were reasonably new and I had a comfortable two night stay there. The one downside: the street lamp. I stayed in room 203, and the street lamp is connected to the building right outside the window of that room. It's nothing a decent set of blackout shades wouldn't fix. It didn't affect my sleep, but I can imagine someone with light sensitivity having a problem with it.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor if you are sensitive to light at night because the street lamps are connected to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chamberlain Hotel, I'm delighted that you had a comfortable stay with us and that our location suited your business needs.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    484
    112
    33
    14
See reviews for
187
628
60
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A perfect weekend in London was topped off by this hotel. A few days before our trip I emailed the hotel with some information. As a result of that, the Reception staff were amazing, they could not have been more accommodating. when we arrived to our absolute delight our trip to London turned into something more amazing than we could have hoped for.

The hotel staff were great and the hotel itself was perfect, exactly what we had hoped for.

We will definitely be back.

Thank you so much to all the staff at the Chamberlain Hotel in particular Sahra Attar-Ferdji.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I'm delighted that that we made your stay amazing, that's what we're here for!

I will share your kind words with the team, and Sahra in particular.

Kindest Regards
Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a club on the 4th floor. It was good size, delightfully decorated , comfy & clean with a large bathroom that provide all the ammenities you find in high quality American hotels. (most London hotels just give you a shampoo/body wash). We faced the back and it was quite ( maybe not true on a weekend nights due to night spots in the area). Staff was wonderful. The pub had great food, especially enjoyed the steak pie that was featured on one of the evenings we were there. Close to several underground stations and Liverpool St. Station where we caught the cruise train to Harwich was also a walkable distance away.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjo409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of the Chamberlain Hotel, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to try more of our great pies!
Kindest Regards
Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

When you step out the door you almost trip over The Tower of London, could fall into the Aldgate underground station, and will be amazed by the proximity of the iconic Gherkin. Found the room comfortable and nicely appointed, staff were friendly and helpful. Great jumping off point for exploring London by foot or by underground - we walked to The Monument, St Pauls, Leadenhall market, The Barbican, etc, etc

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank petitCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your exprience at the Chamberlain and for identifying so many local landmarks.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This is an Xcellent hotel...cosy, decor brings us to our childhood, mine, at least.
Looks like a family hotel, with all luxuries...I felt at home!
The pub/restaurant is sooooo typical....nice food...great!
I felt like I was going to find John Clesse at any moment... : ))))

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FernandoFMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your view of the Chamberlain, It's always a pleasure to hear that someone has enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in not too distant future.....though it's unlikely John Cleese will put in an appearance!

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Spent 3 nights here in July. Triple room which was very roomy and exceeded our expectations. Air-con worked well despite it being warm outside. Great shower pressure with a large bathroom.
All staff very friendly and breakfast choices were great. Close to tube, light rail and bus services. A great central point if staying in London. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you come back and see us next time you visit London.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Two blocks from the Tower of London, great food along the street, Aldgate Tube station 2 blocks down, bus to Picadilly right across the street.
I had a double room which was big and roomy! Very nice lay out of room with updated bathroom! The bathrooms in Fullers hotel include towel warmers :-) full bath tub and great shower water pressure. The rooms also have a frig and free wifi!
The beds are comfortable and the service is good. Not great but good. There are 2 room service menus. One for before 10pm and one for after 10pm don't bother asking, the chicken curry on the after 10pm menu can not be made until then?!?! Visa versa it's a firm negative folks!
Now ask for rooms away from tube noise! It didn't bother me, but may others! It's not loud just annoying. This is a great place, close to everything and not killing your bank account!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the tube noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzzlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chamberlain, I'm delighted that overall your stay with us was a pleasant one.

If you would like to contact me directly with some more details I'd be delighted to find out why the chicken curry was unavailable to you.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#77 of 1,067 in London
3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#160 of 1,067 in London
977 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#127 of 1,067 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Property: Chamberlain Hotel
Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing