We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #114 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
DONCASTER
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a 2 night Christmas shopping break with my sister. Would highly recommend a stay there. Don't think there was anything we were not, happy with. The beds were really comfortable, the bathroom was very nice and lovely fluffy towels, and a good shower. The breakfast was good and staff were very pleasant both in the restaurant and on reception.. Had a meal on 1 evening in the bar and that was very nice. The Hotel is 2 minutes from 2 underground stations and a 5 minute walk to The Tower of London. I suppose the only downside of the hotel is you do hear a little noise from the underground but this didn't keep us awake or worry us at all. Will not hesitate staying there again on future trips to the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it's always a pleasure to hear that someone has enjoyed their stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Chamberlain Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    517
    115
    35
    14
See reviews for
206
677
69
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

What a great find in London. My partner and I booked this hotel due to its location for a party we had in East London. We were pleasantly surprised what value for money we got. The rooms are large for London standards, freshly painted with modern decor.
What a great find, we'll definitely stay here again if visiting East London.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and that you found the rooms to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends and from the moment we walked into the reception to the moment we left it had a good feel about it. The receptionist was very attentive and had our interests as her priority (as I assume she did with all guests). The rooms were of a good standard and very clean. Will definitely go back if need to stay in the City again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dendanjims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our receptionist made you feel welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chamberlain Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL.E.Yorks
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Lovely hotel.immaculate everywhere.rooms not at all sterile as in lots of hotels.. breakfast served as opposed to buffet with proper toast served not those stupid toasters all hotels seem to have that either undercook or burn the toast!!..friendly hotel staff on checking in and out..would recommend to use aldgate station as tower hill is longer..great views of tower of london..We walk all over and borough and embankment easy to walk to and somerset house..though we also walked from covent took a hour.. for us the hotel was too far out for what we needed but still great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Chamberlain Hotel, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you like our toast!

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Natwest had bank problems last night. Tried to stay here. Only had my natwest card on me. Wasn't working. Tried everything in front if them - even online banking. No luck. Wouldn't let me stay. Had to go to cash machine with my natwest card but then that didn't work.

I am a business man and was in London on business. It was late. I didn't have anyone to contact and was stuck. Silly me should have had spare cash I know - but that's not the point.

Without payment they were happy to have me sleep on the street.

Took over an hour at reception. Wouldn't even let my wife pay over phone by card for me as we had to phone here.

Eventually was paid by her having to go to her friends to get them online banking who use a different bank to transfer payment to a hotel account.

My god - this wasn't £5000 a night. This is like £80!

The back clearly had problems and I am on business - not some tramp trying to stay for free.

They should have been more helpful.

Saw them for what they were when things went wrong that is for sure.

Money grabbing cold hearted business.

Will stay elsewhere in future!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer74656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the difficulties that you have encountered. I would like to speak to you personally regarding this matter but I have been unable to trace your reservation to obtain your contact details. Please could you contact me directly chamberlain.manager@fullers.co.uk
Kind regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely interior and when we checked in very friendly receptionist. We had a club room which was warm and comfortable with all the basics you would expect. The bar was great and we enjoyed is so much we returned to it after our night out. The range of Fullers beers is great and my wife really enjoyed her wine. The bar manager was excellent and really superb , he and his great staff really made us feel welcome and enjoy our time there. They kept the tables really clean....Check out was simple and again the staff were very polite.

Two minor things to note; We did not eat there so can't comment on food quality but if I was a betting man I would say it would be good. The English breakfast was nearly £17 so out of our budget which was a shame. The only other thing is that you can hear the trains from the nearby station rumbling past so if you are a very light sleeper may effect you ( drink Fullers to help with this).

Really short walk from Tower of London and Tower Bridge. Great stay and hope to go back again, well done to management and staff.... T Brown

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it's always a pleasure to hear that someone has enjoyed their stay with us.

I'm delighted that you had chance to sample some of our award winning ales and that the team made you feel welcome.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just got back from a great weekend at the Chamberlain, the hotel was spotless and the staff friendly and helpful, breakfast was part of our deal, otherwise a tad expensive, but it was excellent. The room was modern and comfortable. So close to tube stations, petticoat market and Brick Lane and the Tower in other direction. Some of the nearby pubs and restaurants are closed at weekends but still enough places nearby. We will return and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Chamberlain Hotel and that you found the team friendly & helpful.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#89 of 1,069 in London
3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#149 of 1,069 in London
1,041 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,069 in London
1,934 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#232 of 1,069 in London
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Property: Chamberlain Hotel
Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing