We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid room 416 if you're a light sleeper!”
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I've stayed here before once and had a very pleasant stay. Having to go into London frequently now I thought I'd try it again. They say every hotel has one naff room and I guess it was my turn. Room 416. If I stay here again I'll avoid this room like the plague.
It's a pleasant room BUT:
1. It smelt of smoking. Couldn't figure out why until I looked out of the window and saw the fire escape immediately outside the window covered in fag butts of different shapes and sizes. Yuch.
2. I'm a light sleeper. As I got ready for bed I turned off the air con. The fan stopped but the noise carried on. Then I realised there is air conditioning plant above the ceiling by the door. AWFUL. It went on all night and I felt dreadful by the morning. Really - you can't stick plant in bedrooms - I've been in quieter engine rooms.
I mentioned it on check out and the receptionist acknowledged that it can be noisy on the 4th floor...not just 416 then! She gave me a voucher for 10% off my next stay which I thought was a nice touch until I realised everyone was getting them upon checkout!
I won't write this hotel off but I'm not sure I want to play Russian Roulette and ending up on the 4th floor again. If I do stay here again I'll be sure to add a note asking to be spared 416!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked for a theatre and "tourist" weekend and were really happy with our ad hoc internet choice. Receptionist on arrival was very pleasant and helpful and even introduced us to the friendly Karen, who was in charge of breakfast. Our room (109) was spacious, with an easy chair and table separate from dressing table, always nice to have another place to sit rather than the bed. The bed itself was comfy and the bathroom well appointed with separate bath and shower and lots of space around basin area as well as large good quality towels and bathrobes. (lots of hot water and good shower pressure was a plus) Good wardrobe space and enough mirrors to keep even the most vain person happy :D

We ate in the bar area one evening and had room service the next, both meals were speedily served by the ever friendly and chatty staff and were delicious and good value. Breakfast, served in the restaurant area, was plentiful with an excellent range of both English and Continental styles . Karen and her staff made you "at home", ever attentive with a refill of your coffee/tea. Only gripe here is the insistence of couples being seated at the smaller tables where there is not enough room for all the various breakfast necessities, I imagine if you have an evening meal it would be even more squashed with plates etc.

This hotel was a great "find" for us, having stayed in many places across the UK we rate this among one of our favourites, good value for London with the staff being much more friendly than you would expect, taking an interest in you and having time to stop and chat, more like a country hotel than one in the middle of the city. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieM0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found all the team helpful. I will pass on your kind comments to them all, especially Karen.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Chamberlain in the not too distant furture.

Kindest Regards
Liz McLelland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent the weekend in London going around the markets (yes that was her idea of a Valentines Break). Arrived at the Hotel to a spacious Deluxe double room, with no drawers. Clothes hung in the cupboard or stayed in the suitcase. Nice pub below which was very quiet over the weekend, but with very friendly staff.

Warning - don't expect much for Breakfast quality wise. First day both had full english (Fiancee's went back as eggs stone cold, came back out eggs, sausage and tomato cold and raw). My eggs like bullets. Next day we had learnt our lesson, but Omlette seemed deep fried and dry, My scrabbled eggs on toast came out with no toast. Couple on next table returned their full english (oh how we giggled). I pity the waiting staff who had to get all the comments and return the breakfasts, but sack the chef!! Pub platter of an evening not really much better.

May return as room was very nice, just eat somewhere else though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is part of a pub. The rooms are beautifully decorated with all the modern features you want. They have a real contemporary feel and are warm which is exactly what you want when its freezing in London.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb. Breakfast good with excellent service. Room not made up until after 1630 on day 2 so no towels as off to show early. Safe not working due to upgrades. Evening restaurant poor at night ordered steak off menu and didn't have any. Beware of mice in the lounge/bar area! Told staff and said they were aware.....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My family stayed at the Chamberlain in July 2013 during the heatwave London was experiencing. The hotel was conveniently located near several tube stops, which was perfect for a the one night we were staying. However, their air conditioning didn't appear to be working, which made for an uncomfortable night of sleep, and it had already been hot for several weeks before we stayed there, so they can't have just discovered that it was wonky. We didn't say anything until we checked out the following morning, opting to just open windows as much as we could, because we got in late and they wouldn't have been able to get anyone out to fix it until the next day anyway. Good location, not so good AC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed at the Chamberlain Hotel for two nights in January and overall I had a pleasant stay. Compared to other hotels in the area, I found it priced at nearly half the daily rate. The rooms and general hotel decor were dated, but completely funtional and clean. The shower was great and fresh towels were provided daily. My only compaint was the bed which I found to be uncomfortable. It could have been the room I was staying in but after two nights, I could feel pain in my back. My room was on the 4th floor and faced out to the main road which was pretty quiet given it's central London location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank step_hen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Chamberlain. I'm delighted to hear that overall it was a pleasent stay.

If you would like to contact me directly with the details of the room that you stayed in I will check the bed to ensure that there are no defects.

I hope that you decided to return to the Chamberlain in the future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#83 of 1,081 in London
4,176 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#86 of 1,081 in London
545 reviews
City of London
Dorsett City London
Dorsett City London
#139 of 1,081 in London
171 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#276 Romantic Hotel in London
#305 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £86 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing