We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in good location”
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #114 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average hotel in good location”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at the Chamberlain only for one night in early April. I was given a room from the fourth floor, room 415 in fact. As I travelled alone, the twin room was more than adequate for my needs space wise. The room was spacious and could have easily capacitated yet another person with the massive luggage like mine.

What comes to the room decor, this room wasn't one of those recently re-decorated ones, so it felt a bit old fashioned and bleak. Additionally, the bathroom smelled of sewer and the shower didn't work properly, so had I needed to stay there any longer, these details would have certainly disturbed me more. After all, the hotel isn't the cheapest in London, if not the fanciest either. Also, during the night I could sense the nearby rail traffic vibrating the building's structure (or I don't know exactly, but something trembled the room every now and then, I assumed it to be the traffic), so if you can, you might want to try to get a room from the other side of the building.

Breakfast was just okay, but the restaurant staff were very helpful. Before my departure I also ate a burger at the bar downstairs and the food was delicious. The the upside, the hotel is conveniently located if you wish to see the city and for traveling by public transportation to the airports. Oh and yes, the wifi worked strong everywhere in the hotel premises.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Losviages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    517
    115
    35
    14
See reviews for
206
677
69
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked a club double room and an executive twin room- the executive room was beautifully decorated with luxurious finishings, and a lovely bathroom with a walk-in shower and big bath tub. The club double room was nice enough- decor seemed dated compared to the other room though and the smaller ensuite didn't have a separate shower, but next time I think we'll pay the extra and go for two executive rooms. The staff were faultless, very friendly and hospitable. The breakfast service was great! Our price included breakfast so we were able to have full english' and were told we could help ourselves to the continental breakfast bar as well: pastries, cereals, fruit, yogurt, cold meats and cheeses. All of it was delicious and we started the day feeling well fed and ready to go!
Rooms were very clean. Quite warm in there so we had our air conditioning on most of the time.
The only reason I'm not giving this review 5 stars is because we struggled to get to sleep on the Friday night as there is 'Mary Janes' Nightclub right next door and various pubs all along the road. But, the city quietens down on Saturday and Sunday.
Very central location- very near to Aldgate tube station so perfect for travelling around the capital.
Will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room on floor 2! Worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RED3093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Chamberlain. I'm delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us and am pleased that you found the team to be friendly and hospitable.

We look forwarding to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked on the day of arrival and got a good deal. Probably wouldn't have bothered staying in a hotel unless the price was around that level but made sense to stay over and be in the city first thing in the morning rather than travelling home that night and back up the next day. Bedroom wasn't very big but was furnished very nicely and looked very new. Only had croissants and tea so cant comment on the full breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelguru1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Chamberlain. I'm delighted that you liked the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to write a quick entry about our stay over the last 2 days. We were due to stay before xmas but had to cancel because one of our dogs broke a leg and had had an operation which prevented us going. The booking we had made was non refundable but when I explained our circumstances to Liz the manager she allowed us to defer our stay for up to 3 months. That is what I call a caring attitude and we are very grateful to Liz and Fullers for that. We had a great stay. Breakfasts were very good with fresh fruits, cereals, a good full English and coffee on tap. The staff, particularly at breakfast were polite and professional. A really good location only being 5 mins from Tower hill and the Tower of London. Plus a really good pub in Leman Street beside the old Leman street Police station and one of the best Indian restaurants in The Empress a few minutes away too. All in all a great stay in a great location.We will return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mikdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here before once and had a very pleasant stay. Having to go into London frequently now I thought I'd try it again. They say every hotel has one naff room and I guess it was my turn. Room 416. If I stay here again I'll avoid this room like the plague.
It's a pleasant room BUT:
1. It smelt of smoking. Couldn't figure out why until I looked out of the window and saw the fire escape immediately outside the window covered in fag butts of different shapes and sizes. Yuch.
2. I'm a light sleeper. As I got ready for bed I turned off the air con. The fan stopped but the noise carried on. Then I realised there is air conditioning plant above the ceiling by the door. AWFUL. It went on all night and I felt dreadful by the morning. Really - you can't stick plant in bedrooms - I've been in quieter engine rooms.
I mentioned it on check out and the receptionist acknowledged that it can be noisy on the 4th floor...not just 416 then! She gave me a voucher for 10% off my next stay which I thought was a nice touch until I realised everyone was getting them upon checkout!
I won't write this hotel off but I'm not sure I want to play Russian Roulette and ending up on the 4th floor again. If I do stay here again I'll be sure to add a note asking to be spared 416!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked for a theatre and "tourist" weekend and were really happy with our ad hoc internet choice. Receptionist on arrival was very pleasant and helpful and even introduced us to the friendly Karen, who was in charge of breakfast. Our room (109) was spacious, with an easy chair and table separate from dressing table, always nice to have another place to sit rather than the bed. The bed itself was comfy and the bathroom well appointed with separate bath and shower and lots of space around basin area as well as large good quality towels and bathrobes. (lots of hot water and good shower pressure was a plus) Good wardrobe space and enough mirrors to keep even the most vain person happy :D

We ate in the bar area one evening and had room service the next, both meals were speedily served by the ever friendly and chatty staff and were delicious and good value. Breakfast, served in the restaurant area, was plentiful with an excellent range of both English and Continental styles . Karen and her staff made you "at home", ever attentive with a refill of your coffee/tea. Only gripe here is the insistence of couples being seated at the smaller tables where there is not enough room for all the various breakfast necessities, I imagine if you have an evening meal it would be even more squashed with plates etc.

This hotel was a great "find" for us, having stayed in many places across the UK we rate this among one of our favourites, good value for London with the staff being much more friendly than you would expect, taking an interest in you and having time to stop and chat, more like a country hotel than one in the middle of the city. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieM0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found all the team helpful. I will pass on your kind comments to them all, especially Karen.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Chamberlain in the not too distant furture.

Kindest Regards
Liz McLelland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent the weekend in London going around the markets (yes that was her idea of a Valentines Break). Arrived at the Hotel to a spacious Deluxe double room, with no drawers. Clothes hung in the cupboard or stayed in the suitcase. Nice pub below which was very quiet over the weekend, but with very friendly staff.

Warning - don't expect much for Breakfast quality wise. First day both had full english (Fiancee's went back as eggs stone cold, came back out eggs, sausage and tomato cold and raw). My eggs like bullets. Next day we had learnt our lesson, but Omlette seemed deep fried and dry, My scrabbled eggs on toast came out with no toast. Couple on next table returned their full english (oh how we giggled). I pity the waiting staff who had to get all the comments and return the breakfasts, but sack the chef!! Pub platter of an evening not really much better.

May return as room was very nice, just eat somewhere else though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#89 of 1,069 in London
3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#149 of 1,069 in London
1,041 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,069 in London
1,934 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#232 of 1,069 in London
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Property: Chamberlain Hotel
Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing