We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Ranked #55 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worthy of 4 stars”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The rooms are sufficient in size, but very disappointing in standard. There were several pieces of furniture with damage. The kitchen was very badly equipped, so dont aim to do alot of cooking! We also needed help to get the aircon on, and once on, was unable to turn it off again.. The breakfast was also less than average and far below expectations for a hotel in this price range! I would rate this as three star hotel, cant see that they deserve the fourth...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEvensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    1,261
    430
    192
    161
See reviews for
1,417
355
53
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The Grand Plaza apartments has been constructed out of several Georgian houses. They've done a pretty reasonable job given the constraints of load bearing walls & floors over many levels. I stayed there for 8 days with my two teenage daughters in a 1 bedroom apartment. 2 of us slept in the Queen bed in the bedroom & the other on the fold down couch in the kitchen/lounge. We paid many months in advance so got a reasonable although by Australian standards, expensive deal. We were cramped by usually only slept & had breakfast there. It was hot but the fans were useful & the staff were happy to provide sheets to use instead of the hot duvets.
We were on the 3rd floor at the back & it was extremely quiet apart from the previously mentioned mystery morning fire alarm. We could open the windows easily.
The area & access to public transport was fantastic.
I would go there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we will most certainly pass on your comments to our team - thank you!

We hope that it will not be too long before you visit us again and indeed if booked well in advance or directly with us, especially as a returning customer, you will get a good deal.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Plaza!

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Cons - we struggled to locate the apartments on arrival - we called for directions but found the reception staff quite unhelpful, we booked an apartment for 4, however it was more suitable for 2 - we received one double bed and a pull out sofa mattress, which when you're all paying equal price isn't acceptable. The beds were very hard, we were plonked in a basement room with no view, we couldn't get any reception or internet access in the room, the room layout was a bit bizarre too many doors and too much wasted space that could have been better used, also we had to go down a few sets of stairs and hallways to get to our room - there was no lift access, after waiting 20 mins for a member of staff to help with bags we gave up and made our own way with a lot of heavy bags this was a burden. We were also supposed to have received a fruit basket which never turned up. The cooker didn't work. There was a few issues with the cleanliness of the room - it didn't look well vacuumed/dusted and the plates, etc weren't cleaned properly.

Pros- the main bedroom was very large (the "second" bedroom was a kitchen, lounge, dining area with table and bedroom combined - not well spaced which is what I meant by wasted space given the size of the main bedroom), bathrooms were nice and well decorated, we were provided with utensils, the building was lovely from the outside (the inner decor was very hostel like and unwelcoming- especially reception), well located near shops and restaurants, close to the underground.

It wasn't bad but not a great standard apartment given the price and area it was located in we were expecting a lot more. But as I always say, in a big city how much time do you spend in the hotel! If you can get a cheap deal it's worth it.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Shimmyshimmyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your review after such a long period. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We would just like to mention that since September last year, when you last stayed with us the property has changed ownership and many improvements and refurbishments have been done.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future and to get the opportunity to change your opinion about Grand Plaza.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We have been fortunate to have stayed in many hotels and apartments throughout the UK and Europe whilst on holidays and always experienced friendly and accommodating service. I could not say this about Grand Plaza Apartments and would not recommend this place to anyone. The attitude and service we experienced throughout our 12 day stay was well below their star rating. We were on the fourth floor which was serviced by a lift as well as stairs. During our stay the lift broke down 7 times requiring a lot of walking up and down stairs with bags. Staff did not help by their attitude. They did not inform by placing a note that the lift was not working therefore causing people to stand and wait long periods for the lift.
Our room was like a sauna - there was no air conditioning but we were supposed to have a cooler with ice & a fan in the room. We didn't have either but when we mentioned our hot room after a couple of days- because the passageway was cooler than our room - that's when we found out what we we're suppose to have. No apologies from the staff just gruffness that they will send it to our room. This was typical of any requests or inquiries made to the front desk staff.
Although we already have a booking for a future stay at Grand Plaza we will not be returning there. We will be going elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting a review about our property. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we will most certainly pass on your comments to our team - thank you!

We have a customer oriented policy and we do appreciate all our guest opinions as they help us improve and grow our business.

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding one of our 3 lifts. One of them was indeed under maintenance but the other 2 were fully functional. As for the coolers they are provided on request base and as soon as you have requested them I understood they have been provided.

Once again we are sorry to hear that you haven't enjoy your stay!

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My family stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom unit . Getting to tour room was nearly impossible because of small, narrow hallways, and lots of doors. The apartment itself had a small kitchen/dining area and 2 very small bedrooms and a bathroom connected by a narrow hallway.The 5 of us were cramped and had no space to move around.The unit had no working air conditioning and we couldn't open the window more than a few inches. The second night the fire alarm went off in early morning and then stopped without any notice from management about what was happening! I would not recommend the 2 bedroom unit to anyone .This place is highly over -priced for what you get.
The only positive is the location which is great and very near Hyde Park and the tube.

Room Tip: The two bedroom unit we had was on the second floor, very small and cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about our property.

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy about the size of our apartments even though they are above the average London ones. Also we would like to apologize about the inconvenience with regards to the fire alarm. For health and safety reasons it will start even if someone is smoking in the room- and this is beyond our control unfortunately. For the same H&S reasons the windows can't be opened more than a few centimetres on higher floors.


Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Recently had 4 nights here as a family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 children (10,8 & 4). The layout of the whole building reminded us of a rabbit warren! Our apartment was 3 bedrooms upstairs and a very small living area downstairs. Very limited cooking utensils. Whilst it was clean - it really needed to be revamped with new carpet and painting - it was showing considerable wear and in no way reflected the apartments on the website, not GRAND in anyway. We are use to small apartments in London, so that was not a huge problem, it was more the expense for not much, even the towels were small and tatty.
Positives - breakfast was good, laundry service was great, location is great - easy access by tube, bus and walking to local attractions, beds were ok.
Don't plan on staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting a review about our Hotel. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went here as a family staying for 3 nights. No real problems, the room was clean carpets were new and clean. Plenty of space. Hens party above but did not really notice. Great location for the Tube and food. Did not eat here but looked good. Reception friendly and professional. Would have given the 5 stars, but some of the pots and pans are not magnetic for the induction hob, tried to explain but got lost in translation, no big deal though we improvised and used the microwave! Would visit again, lovely area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert18651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will most certainly pass on your comments to our team.

We hope that it will not be too long before you visit us again!

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#163 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#336 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Pimlico
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments

Property: Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Address: 42 Prince's Square, London W2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza apartments give you the independence and catering flexibility of your own home together with the comfort and service of a 4* hotel. Think of us as your home, but with cleaning, catering, porters and reception staff thrown in. Serviced apartments are the new direction for the hotel industry. They provide a ready made home rather than a ready made room. Each apartment has its own fully equipped kitchen. You choose whether to enjoy your own home cooking or try the Grand Plaza Breakfast or visit one of the myriad of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel (or heat up a takeaway!) Grand Plaza is the largest Hotel/Apartment complex in Bayswater. We won the 2009 award for best serviced apartments in London as a result of votes from the readers of Business Destinations Magazine. We accommodate more people each day (tourist, leisure, romantic and business) than any other Serviced Apartment Hotel in the area.We are located in the centre of the West End overlooking the precise type of garden square which Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts climbed into in the Golden Globe nominated film, Notting Hill! We look forward to providing you with a home in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing