We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms / unhelpful staff / nice nearby area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Ranked #65 of 931 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The rooms are very awkward and tiny (though they're very clean). During the first half of our stay, we got one in the back and with no view (contrary to what was promised - even after I had called them up earlier to confirm a room with some front view). Can understand that everyone wants a front view - but why promise something if you can't deliver?

Beds were comfortable.

The staff at this place was not very helpful, to say the least. Requests from us to help with luggage, or to change our room to ground floor, or even for a small thing as helping with our laundry - were ignored and needed reminders.

Bayswater station is nearby, so that's good. Also, there are some good places to get breakfast or "tea", which is very convenient before you head off for the London tours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rishi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 2,821 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We booked an 'apartment' room to sleep 4.
Would barely call it an appartment and the second bed was a fold out couch and comfort level was very low.
We booked this hotel because it advertised 'laundry facilities' but upon arriving we learned that the hotel offers a laundry service between 9am and 7pm.
We were only in town for one day and had to delay our tour start until after 9am just to get the washing done.
Expected much more for the money paid and should have checked the trip advisor reviews before booking. Lesson learnt.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Teniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

I am sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations this time. It is indeed wise to check details about a property before booking your stay. On our website there is an accurate description and even pictures, both for our rooms' facilities as for the laundry opening hours.

We hope to welcoming you again in the future!

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Upon arriving at the apartments from the outside I was impressed even said 'luxury' apartments, the foyer again was quite impressive but that is where it stops.

What a let down. After walking through the rabbit warren we eventually arrived to a 5th floor poky apartment with no appeal whatsoever. Twin beds that were pushed together with no room to separate and a tiny bathroom. The towels were thin and the couch in the sitting room was dirty with stains. It was not what is advertised on the website....a disappointing experience and 4 star what a joke.

Noone offered to take our luggage up the many stairs to our ceiling apartment. The only nice person we spoke to was a house maid who showed us a quick way to get to reception which involved walking out on the roof minimising the many corridors, stairs and smelly stuffy hot corridors.

The whole place needed a complete overhaul, fresh paint, carpet - a complete con

I would never recommend these apartments. Luckily the weather was fantastic which meant we spent minimum time in our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us on your trip to London.

We are glad you found our facade and foyer impressive. There are always ups and downs with the listed victorian buildings. While they are so bright and charming there is not much to be done with regards to the corridors or rooms layout. We are also sorry for the front office and housekeeping issues.

Thank you for letting us know.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for five nights, in a two bedroom apartment. Reception staff are rude and very unhelpful. We arrived after a 24 hour flight and were sent to the incorrect lift with all our luggage, reception staff didn't know how to get to our room.
Room was on the lower ground level, lots of stairs and corridors as others have mentioned. The apartment had very heavy doors between rooms, we propped them open with chairs. The only view was three high white walls. Not overly clean either.

Location is great, close to two underground stations, lots of shops and hyde park a short walk.

beware do not organise any town car through the hotel, we did to St Pancreas and the driver would not honour the price quoted.

We would not stay here again. Very overpriced!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mrsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience at Grand Plaza.

We appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Thank you for your feedback and we assure you we will look into the matter.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Highest possible cost for little more than student accommodation.
We booked a family room which is no more than a small room with a double bed and a sofa bed 18 inches away. Noisy, uncomfortable, unclean, disastrously faulty lifts. Never again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank free_umi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Grand Plaza in London.

We appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. As much as we do apologize for the inconvenience created by our lift maintenance process we would like to kindly remind our guests that is for their own safety to have them out of order when there is the minor issue. As well as we have 3 lifts in the building and we never experienced to have all of them disabled in the same time.

Thank you once again for your feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to assess and continually improve upon the quality of our service.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

On arriving to our apartment after some 30 hours travel we were delighted to find our accomodation clean and comfy for our 4 night stay. Loved the quirkyness to the hotel ie walking to our room - up some steps, round the corner, down the hall then up the lift all added to the charm.The front desk staff were more than helpful & the best delight was the glass light filled breakfast room, breakky was good with plenty to offer and fresh. What a great area to stay in only one station on the tube into central London - bayswater/queensway had loads to offer great cafes, some shopping & very central to buses/rail or walking. We used the hop on and off bus to tour London for the first 2 days it was a 5 minute walk to our stop and at all times we felt safe. We even caught the tube back one evening after dinner, we were 3 women travelling alone aged from late forties to seventy. Would definately recommend this apartment to travelers both young and old.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor - I don't know if that makes a difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we will most certainly pass on your comments to our team - thank you!

We hope that it will not be too long before you visit London next time and we look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Plaza!

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Shown a 1st floor room on arrival, was small dark and oppressive, requested another room was given a ground floor, had no ceiling fans, was also dark and stuffy, as nothing else was available we took it. The paint work was chipped and scuffed, the carpet was lifting at the joins and they were frayed, there was rust in the bath. The staff were offhand and unhelpful, they looked bored actually. We booked months in advance for a special family occasion. The pictures on the website are very misleading. Would not recommend this place at all.It is certainly isn't Luxury as advertised on the front of Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wethree1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#286 of 1,077 in London
1,714 reviews
South Kensington
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 931 in London
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments

Address: 42 Prince's Square, London W2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 931 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £73 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza apartments give you the independence and catering flexibility of your own home together with the comfort and service of a 4* hotel. Think of us as your home, but with cleaning, catering, porters and reception staff thrown in. Serviced apartments are the new direction for the hotel industry. They provide a ready made home rather than a ready made room. Each apartment has its own fully equipped kitchen. You choose whether to enjoy your own home cooking or try the Grand Plaza Breakfast or visit one of the myriad of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel (or heat up a takeaway!) Grand Plaza is the largest Hotel/Apartment complex in Bayswater. We won the 2009 award for best serviced apartments in London as a result of votes from the readers of Business Destinations Magazine. We accommodate more people each day (tourist, leisure, romantic and business) than any other Serviced Apartment Hotel in the area.We are located in the centre of the West End overlooking the precise type of garden square which Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts climbed into in the Golden Globe nominated film, Notting Hill! We look forward to providing you with a home in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing