We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst accommodation I have ever been!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Ranked #56 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst accommodation I have ever been!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I booked this apartment for 3 nights and requested a higher floor level but the reception gave us a room at basement level which is unacceptable! the room is very noisy and one of the window can not be closed because it was broken! will never come back again or recommend this apartment to others. this apartment does not worth for money at all! DO NOT CHOOSE THIS APARTMENT UNLESS ALL OTHER HOTELS ARE FULL!!!!!!!

Room Tip: do not choose this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank prasparas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We were sorry to learn that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations and we apologise for any discomfort or inconvenience caused.

We have taken note of your comments and rest assured we will address them.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    1,254
    430
    191
    161
See reviews for
1,410
354
52
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands ,England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The position of the hotel was just superb close to bus and train /tube stations . We could walk into London City centre taking maybe 3/4 hour a beautiful walk too through Kensington Gardens and by two over 60s with no problems Infact it was beautiful , lovely weather added to the enjoyment .Polite staff. Clean well equipped rooms . Would definately stay here again and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind,positive review and for staying with us.

I am glad that you found our hotel to be both conveniently located and our staff polite. Our Team here will appreciate you letting us know. Its also great that you have been lucky and enjoyed the London weather.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your trip will bring you back to London.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

it was a pleasent stay. i stayed for 9 days. the Corridors is very narrow. the receipsion staff are very helpful. we broke 1 cup and they said it is ok. the location is very good for queensway area. u can use the tube or busses. u can reach the park within 6 minutes. it was pleasent sytay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mixtureem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind,positive review and for staying with us.

I am glad that you found our hotel to be both conveniently located and our staff friendly. Our Team here will appreciate you letting us know.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location for two subways, it is a clean place but rooms look a lot different when booking to the room you get on arrival we were shocked at the size and layout of room . .Photos very deceptive. Lots of noise from above rooms and children running around early in mornings (7am)
We were out of apartment all day so it was just for sleeping,
The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Our team here will appreciate your comments and we are sorry to hear you were unhappy about the size of our rooms. They are generally bigger than average London ones.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Plaza in the future.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed with a few friends in one of the basement floor rooms whereby we had 2 expensive smart phones taken, a wallet containing money and car keys stolen. This happened when we left the apartment to visit a friend at their house for a few hours. Upon returning, I noticed my phone was gone, so I started to look in my bag for it, but then my other friends also found that their belongings had also gone missing.

The staff didnt act surprised when we told them and were not as helpful or as comforting as I had liked, baring in mind we were all very upset about our things being stolen. The police came after an hour or so and they have recently informed us that they have caught the culprit due to the fingerprints found at the hotel, so we are awaiting a response from the poilice as to who it was etc.

The room was secure when we left and there was no sign of forced entry which is very odd, I would have expected a windw smashed or door to have been found unlocked when we came back. This is what leads us to think it could have been an inside job, however we have no CCTV footage and were not given the logs for our door to our apartment to see at what times it was openened as this would have shown whether someone let themselves in whilst we were out at our friends.

As for the response from the grand plaza hotel below, our phones were actually on charge while we were out of the hotel. Because we were in a group we had enough mobile phones on us to be able to leave the ones behind that needed charging, and although the saftey deposit box is provided we cannot put our phones in this and be charging at the same time. I have stayed in many hotels throughout the UK, in Egypt, Kenya and Tanzania and never have I had anything stolen, even when I have left my phone on charge! Baring in mind this is a fairly expensive apartment in a reputable part in London, I would have expected more considering that I have stayed in much cheaper and less secure places.

Overall very bad experience, room was okay and spacious but the whole experience was ruined by our things being stolen, so I would never trust this place ever again, and would highly recommend you stay somewhere else if you come to visit this area of london.

Room Tip: Don't be put on the basement floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alexandrabridson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPManagement, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It’s regrettably evident the repetitive postings of the same incident by the same group emphasise an ulterior motive to slander, defame and extort money rather than a honest intention.

The door locks are safe locks electronically controlled and readings can be obtained showing every key that opened a door, the date and time that the door was opened. Each key card is designated and easy to identify who accessed either the guest or which staff. This also protects the staff from such accusers who misplaces things and always tries to blame someone else for it; if only they stop to think that their other 4 fingers are pointing towards themselves.

Almost in all hotels theft can and does happen and unfortunately the staff get accused but on most occasion it is proved wrong. In most occasion the guest themselves either forget where they laid the item or lost it while outside the hotel, some are honest to accept their fault but others do blame the hotel and staff for financial benefits and insurance claims.

With that said, Grand Plaza is still a very safe place, but you have to always ensure your doors are locked and your valuables are stored in the safe provided in the room...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had great 5 days at this place, we found it welcoming, convenient and exactly what we wanted.
The location is great, ten minutes walk from Kensington gardens (Hyde park west), next to vibrant streets and two tube stations (Bayswater and Queens Way). The place is well kept and the staff was very helpful and polite. The small kitchen in the room is a great plus, allows you to save time (and money) on meals. On nearby streets (QueensWay and Westbourne Grove) there are plenty of food shops. One thing to keep in mind though, especially for anyone coming from the US is the small scale of things (looks the images), the space is just about. the hallway is width enough for just 1.5 person..
There are only two minuses we found:
1. The room has only one layer of curtains, our room was facing the street and the other rooms in the hotel across it, and so the options was either sunlight or privacy. another layer of half transparent curtains (like most hotels have) could help a lot
2. No air-condition, only a desert cooler with little help. We got very lucky with the weather, but on sunny days the room can get pretty hot.

Room Tip: Take lower level. the Elevator is small and slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y2m2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great location, quiet nights and good for a traveller to hand over a pile of laundry and have the whole lot done for 6 GBP. The staff were helpful whenever we asked for something.
BUT
This was not the four star experience they advertise and we were quite disappointed with the overall stay. Tired, mismatching carpets, narrow scuffed labyrinth style hallways, having to move furniture to be able to open the front door to our apartment, plastic gingham tablecloths, rotting misshapen fruit for breakfast. The overall effect is three stars and this was advertised as luxury four stars - I'm in no hurry to forgive them for such gross misrepresentation. Do not intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: look before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#174 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#304 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Pimlico
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments

Property: Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Address: 42 Prince's Square, London W2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza apartments give you the independence and catering flexibility of your own home together with the comfort and service of a 4* hotel. Think of us as your home, but with cleaning, catering, porters and reception staff thrown in. Serviced apartments are the new direction for the hotel industry. They provide a ready made home rather than a ready made room. Each apartment has its own fully equipped kitchen. You choose whether to enjoy your own home cooking or try the Grand Plaza Breakfast or visit one of the myriad of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel (or heat up a takeaway!) Grand Plaza is the largest Hotel/Apartment complex in Bayswater. We won the 2009 award for best serviced apartments in London as a result of votes from the readers of Business Destinations Magazine. We accommodate more people each day (tourist, leisure, romantic and business) than any other Serviced Apartment Hotel in the area.We are located in the centre of the West End overlooking the precise type of garden square which Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts climbed into in the Golden Globe nominated film, Notting Hill! We look forward to providing you with a home in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing