We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shame about the staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #763 of 1,089 Hotels in London
The Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for the second time. All I can say is never again. The way we were treated by the staff on the reception desk was an absolute disgrace. Totally inflexible. The manager would not even come out from his office to speak to us, pathetic.
I will not recommend is hotel to anyone. I suggest that management and staff undertake customer service training ASAP.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenl1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    173
    142
    66
    44
See reviews for
123
167
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Where do I start!
We had initialy booked this hotel for 2 nights via Booking.com but decided we wanted to stay in London another 2 nights so contacted the hotel direct and asked if we could add to our existing booking for a total of 4 nights, reply back over the phone and also via email was "yes that is fine, not a problem 4 nights booked" but they didn't have a twin room so would a double be ok which we said yes (as it was mother and daughter travelling together) We checked in and made our way to our room which was a double bed and a single (a triple) Apart from the small shower everything seemed ok. Then after 2 nights and on our 3rd day we were asked to check out at 11am and could not check in until 2pm, confused?? yes we were.
We showed the reception staff our email that stated 4 nights accomodation but they said the person had made a mistake and we had to check out as the room was required by another traveller and it was a triple and we were only 2 people. (We didn't request a triple, the hotel put us in a triple!)
We asked to speak to the manager and after the front desk person went out the back she returned and said nothing could be done we needed to check out! After much discussion and getting nowhere as the staff did not want to help at all, we packed our bags checked out and went out for the day returing to check in again.
The fact that the manager couldn't / wouldn't make himself available to speak to us was very poor customer service! We just wanted to discuss our probelm and see what could be done.
The front desk staff are rude and made you feel like you were an inconvenience to them, worst customer service I have ever encounted.
The final blow was we asked for a late check out ( an extra 3 hrs) and they said we would have to pay another "full nights" accomodation! usually in other hotels it's a half day rate or a small fee.
The room was tiny, no A/C and not much room for suitcases and the bathroom not much better. They did have wifi but the connection was weak and frustrating.
The one redeeming value of this hotel was its close proximity to Paddington Station and Hyde Park and a couple of ok restaurants close by.
Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and apologies for any misunderstandings you may gone through.
Our records show that you have originally made a reservation for two nights for a Twin room and then and then you have phone the Hotel to extend your stay for a further two nights, you were then advised that the only possibility to an extension would be to take a different room type which was a double room (double bed) as the twin room was not available and you agreed with the condition, we would have let you stay in the same room you originally check in to if this would be available however it was not possible therefore receptionist asked you to move the room as agreed.
Our check-in time is at 14.00 Hours therefore any room movements should take place before that in giving us the chance to have the rooms cleaned on time for guests on the arrivals list, this is the reason for which the receptionist politely asked you to have your luggage packed and ready for change.
Our reception team is trained to support our guests with their queries on a friendly and professional manner, we proud ourselves of this service and guests positive reviews are on display on tripadvisor.
We do appreciate that other Hotels have different policies and services this is unfortunately out of our jurisdiction however we only provide what is advertised on all portals, if you expecting to have a room with air-con you should have inquired about before making the reservation and due to the popularity of the Hotel and the given fact that it is full most every single day we can not offer late check-out to our guests as we have the responsibility to honour all other reservations. Although that there is flexibility of an extra hour allowance to check-out a full day late check out fee applies to guests who vacate their rooms after the stipulated check-out time.
I regret the fact that i was not available to speak to you at the time when requested but I can assure you that I spend many hours at the office in the Hotel and surely would make some available time to speak to you if this would be requested again.
Is our aim to provide our valuable guests with best service and comfort and we sincerely hope to have you accommodated with us again in the near future and have a better experience.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed in a single room which if described as compact it would be generous! On the top floor the sloping wall restricts access to the tiny bed and the way the bed was placed stopped the bathroom door being able to open fully. A huge step up into the smallest shower/toilet. Not sure how you would manage if you were any taller than me (5'2") !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aideen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here.
This is a very old building and we are aware that sometimes the sizes of the rooms don’t exceed the guest’s expectations,
However we are currently undergoing renovation in order to modernize the room as best as we can,
Nevertheless, if you were not happy with your room, the reception team would have been more than pleased to change you to a room that you would feel more comfortable in.
Despite everything we would like to have you here again with us and provide you a better stay than before.
Warm regards,
Abbey Court & WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is in a great location between Hyde Park's North side and Paddington Station in Central London (5 minutes each way). The rooms were clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.
The rooms were quite small and not very luxurious but then it's central London!
There are a couple of cafes round the corner to have breakfast at, and restaurants are close by for dinner in the evenings. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review!
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we wish to have you once again in order to exceed your expectations even more.
We always take the comments as a constructive criticism & as a guidance to improve our Services.
We are undergoing renovation & the rooms are being modernized step by step.
Hopefully we will see you in a near future.
Best wishes,
Abbey Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is the perfect location for tourists; 5 minutes walk to Paddington. This means easy access to Heathrow, and Paddington Underground station connects you to most Underground lines quickly and easily. The rooms are basic, no air-con, but tidy enough. Breakfast was actually rather nice, with buffet English breakfast options. The main downside was the wireless internet, which was weak and intermittent. Certainly not good enough for FaceTime or Skype. Many of the rooms clearly had poor wireless reception, as the hotel lobby was always full of guests with their laptops trying to get better reception (it was somewhat better, but not much).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBCKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting a comment on trip advisor.
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy our internet service as much as you wanted to.
Our wireless connection sometimes may be problematic due to the amount of people trying to connect at the same time,
However we are aware of that & we are trying our best to improve this issue.
Other than that, we hope you have enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again some day.
Warm regards,
Abbey Court & WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed by the condition of this so called "triple". There were three of us sightseeing in London and we thought we were lucky to find a triple so conveniently located just steps from Paddington Station. While the hotel did advertise that the second bed was a sofa bed, they should be ashamed to ask any guest to sleep in it. The mattress was thin and worn, and you could feel the rails of the bed frame poking through it. The room was in the basement, which would have been okay if you didn't feel like you were being sent to a dungeon. The hall and common area of our room smelled like cigarette smoke and the doors were so heavy we killed ourselves opening them. I would rate this terrible except that it was clean and had a good location.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KBHobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving a comment on trip advisor. We are very sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. If guests are unhappy with rooms and request to move within the same price range we move them whenever we can and on the basis we have availability.
We are a non-smoking hotel and it is an offence to smoke or knowingly to permit smoking in our premises.
The hotel doors are fitted according to the fire regulations.
A few of our rooms are located on the lower ground floor; however they are exact same standard as all other rooms’ located upper floors. All these rooms have windows and natural light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Had a great Family trip .Location of Abbey court is very convenient ,easy access to Hyde park ,National History musem.Accessible to Portobello Market .
Staff are very friendly and courteous.Continental food served is good..Ambience is comfortable.
My Kids love the fish tank .Tube station is nearby .

Room Tip: Room away from the life corner side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for posting such a positive review. We are pleased that you had a nice stay in our Hotel. We hope to welcome you in a near future. Best wishes, The Abbey Court hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Westpoint Hotel
Westpoint Hotel
#807 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#796 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#779 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#844 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#306 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Property: Abbey Court Hotel
Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #763 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hyde Park Hotel London
Abbey Court Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing