We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #827 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The room was VERY small although adequate for a 2 night stay. The literature in the room said Continental breakfast only so we had the meal elsewhere, on the second day we could smell bacon!!!! Staff spoke when necessary but not overly helpful.

Room Tip: Not 58. Ask for a large one.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving a comment.
There are slightly different sizes of the rooms, some are bigger and some smaller. This is a Victorian building in Central London and the rooms vary in sizes. We have options with different room sizes when making a booking and try to request guests requests whenever possible, please enquire for your next visit.
Our breakfast offering has improved substantially offering a range of hot and cold items, including freshly baked croissants

Kind regards,
Abbey court & WestPoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Bedroom and facilities are compact but very clean and comfortable.Price ok for London and even more remarkable considering proximity to Hyde Park and the summer concert season. Some great pubs and eateries within a couple of minutes walk. Staff pleasant and efficient with an early check in. noticed other guests being quite rude to the receptionists but quite frankly it was quite unneccesary and you will never win them over by being discourteous. Friends also stayed in a room below ground level didn't have quite the same experience but we will both book again next time in London

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room above ground level.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelers 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you for leaving a positive review on trip advisor. Westpoint & Abbeycourt Hotel is located in a very convenient place, close to the main touristic attractions as well as transport and the Hyde park is around the corner. We always do our best to make sure that all our guest are pleased and satisfy from our service. We look after every guest in a very special and unique way. We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Kind regards,
Abbey court and WestPoint hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This Hotel is situated in a nice area close to bus and tube connections. The staff are nice and the hotel is clean.
However the room we stayed in was tight...and the bathroom was even tighter. We did not have air conditioning and with the temp.around 30 degrees outside it was really missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest,

We are happy to offer other rooms if guest requires as all rooms are varying in sizes. Fans are provided in reception at all time.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Wishing you a very nice day

Kind regards,
Abbey court & WestPoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a very reasonably priced hotel and you get what you pay for. Its clean and basic. But all you need is there. The bathroom in our family room was tiny though, but fine, despite the fact that the sink was too small to fill the kettle. Bottled water provided the answer, but I guess if I'd asked they'd have filled it for me.
Breakfast also basic, but again fine. The high points for this hotel are its excellent location in a very nice area and also the pleasant staff, who were good humoured and obliging.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting a comment on trip advisor.
We are pleased to admit that for our new refurbishment rooms look after great housekeeping staff. We are proud of our room service which is also appreciated by our guests. In our Restaurant we provide buffet breakfast which offers a variety of good quality food. What is more we offer different room types therefore when a guest is not happy with the room allocated can contact reception and ask to have another room or ask for an upgrade for which we will be happy to do so if possible at the time or the next day. The well trained, very friendly receptionists staff is always happy to help you at any time. Please feel free to ask for help.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

AVOID THESE FOLKS IF YOU VALUE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND HONESTY. I stayed for 1 night 6/21/13 on a reservation originally made for 3 people. My traveling companions left the trip early for an emergency, and when I checked in I asked if it was possible to take a single with a refund of the difference. I was given the single (a very tiny 10x14 foot room-including the bath) and then at checkout was informed that no refund was possible. Three different staff members at three different times could have confirmed no refund and left me in the larger room, but none did. Instead, THEY TOOK THE OPPORTUNITY TO SELL ME A SINGLE AT A TRIPLE RATE AND RESELL MY ORIGINAL TRIPLE FOR THE NIGHT. I should have realized from the evasive staff replies at the start that they were not honest about a refund, but assumed that nobody would be that DELIBERATELY DISHONEST. BTW, avoid Booking.com for reservations since they will do nothing to try to help resolve problems like this one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John01012000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The lobby looks big but the rooms are extremely small even for my standard as a traveller. However the bathroom was even smaller as in when you're sitting in the loo you can actually wash your hands??? thats too close for me. Further its not cheap because for almost GBP180 I think that was just too much to pay for the room quality. Thank god I only stayed a night.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank busytraveller5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a comment on trip advisor.
This is a Victorian building in Central London and the rooms vary in sizes. Guests can choose to upgrade their accommodation subject to availability when they are not satisfied with their room. We do offer different room types and if you are not pleased with your room please come to reception. Our staff will do their best to help you. They will change your room or they will try to upgrade you. Please note that we are in the middle of high season and the prices are much higher than during low season. Therefore if you stay with us next time you are welcome to call us and enquire for our current rates. Our Reservation Department will offer you better price than on the website. Hope to see you next time and proof you can have a pleasant stay with us.
Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Traveled with my sister. We are both over 60 but agile. :)
Advantages are:
Close proximity to Paddington Station, a hub to go everywhere else on the Underground system and the station for Heathrow Express. Clean, attractive, relatively quiet street (Hyde Park "hotel row"). Felt safe. Lovely reception area, big breakfast area & full breakfast with lots of staff. Our room & hotel public areas (even outside) were scrupulously clean. Unlike some hotels in this area, this one had a lift - given our luggage, this was an essential, deciding factor in choosing this hotel. Has hair dryer, lotion soaps/shampoo in wall dispensers. WiFi worked fine in room, although I had some concerns about lack of a security certificate on the site and staff couldn't answer questions about it. Note: you must get new username & password daily (that was not explained at check in). Staff were courteous, though not effusively outgoing. Beds were comfortable for us (we are both under 5'4".) Good to have closet.
Disadvantages:
Small size of room. We had a twin room and for us and our luggage it was a juggling act to be able to move around, although we got used to it. Everything but one bag had to be on floor. One chair provided for the little shelf-desk had to be relocated to allow movement in room. Everything in room was reduced to most compact components - e.g., instead of bedside tables, small acrylic shelves attached to walls; tiny sink & toilet tank to conserve space in very small bathroom. Splashy sink. Shower was regular size, however, & the water temp and pressure were good. As I said, everything seemed clean and new. I like clean. We were fine overall, but I think taller/larger folks would find everything a tight fit in this room. No facial tissue provided.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and it was fine, surprisingly quiet, could open the window for fresh...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachflower_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westpoint Hotel
#831 of 1,072 in London
782 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#645 of 1,072 in London
206 reviews
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#749 of 1,072 in London
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#613 of 1,072 in London
642 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#557 of 1,072 in London
626 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#816 of 1,072 in London
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #827 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hyde Park Hotel London
Abbey Court Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing