We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, friendly”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #854 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had two nights here, and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The location was fantastic, close to two tube stations, and with some really good cafes and restaurants in London Street and around Paddington station. The room was spotless, my bed was comfortable and I had lovely hot water for the shower. I had one buffet breakfast, fairly standard offerings. For the price, this hotel is good value in London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MermaidSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing a comment about you stay and we are very happy to be welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Abbey court & WestPoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Must be one of the worse hotels, I have ever stopped in, in my life, having made a booking and needing to amend the dates, by cancelling one night over the phone this was all ok, until I arrived and was charged for the extra night due to the cancelation policy, but I think the biggest problem is the rude reception staff, I understand the city of London has multi nationality's working and visiting the city, but to stand there and be told that they are unable to understand an English man on the front reception was I thought was an insult. But you now the saying pay peanuts you get monkeys, the reception with its water feature looks all very well, the rest of the building is a shambles, room was that small I had to shuffle between the bed and wall to enter the room, the toilet and shower must have been designed for a cat ! absolutely ridicules, and for the location on the main bus and taxi route to and from Paddington Station avoid this poorly run hotel, had better rooms in a hostel and there must be better run hotels in and around the area,

Room Tip: stay at another hotel as the rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed late September 2013 for 2 nights. Room rate acquired via booking.com seemed pretty good value for what else was on offer around this area (very close to Paddington station/ Heathrow Express) - i.e. only a few pounds more than other establishments that were getting really really bad reviews. Hotel itself was clean and rooms were on the small side but comfortable and had all the basic equipment. Staff were regularly cheerful, polite and helpful. Would be happy to stay again for a few nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear guest,
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in Abbey Court & Westpoint Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future, wishing you a great day and thank you for sharing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I booked here because it was more affordable than most when it comes to London prices -and we needed to be near hyde park. The rooms are small and outdated. You could only just turn around in the bathroom -but it looks (on their website) as though some other bathrooms in different rooms have been updated. The room was clean and for what it's worth there was a flat screen tv and enough power outlets. The staff were very friendly. There is a lift/elevator and also a storage room for your luggage in case you have to check out well before your departing flight. Beds are tight for 2 people, but typical for UK/Europe -if either of you are tall, good luck ;) Breakfast is 7.50 BPS -worth it to have a hot cup of coffee and a buffet in the morning if you have no idea where you're going next. You can get to the hotel from Paddington station/underground (5 min walk) or Lancaster Gate Underground stop (also 5 min walk.) We took the underground to/from Paddington both ways to save money but if I had to do it again I would definitely take the Heathrow connect. Taking the underground involves one change of station into the city (up and across the street) but then 3 or 4 changes on the way back to Heathrow (msg me if you want details.) Overall, it was a pleasant stay. If I am not limited to the Hyde Park area next time, I would look elsewhere. But I still recommend the Abbey if you're on a tight budget --Note! There are TWO Abbey Court Hotels about 10 mins apart- careful you don't confuse this one with the one on Notting Hill.

Room Tip: Forget about a view (there isn't one, anyhow.) Ask for a room in the back or away from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandora09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest,

Reception is open 24 hours therefore are we more than happy to help guests if they would like to change for a bigger room as all of our rooms are varying in sizes.
Thank you for writing a review

Kind regards,
Abbey court & WestPoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The room was VERY small although adequate for a 2 night stay. The literature in the room said Continental breakfast only so we had the meal elsewhere, on the second day we could smell bacon!!!! Staff spoke when necessary but not overly helpful.

Room Tip: Not 58. Ask for a large one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving a comment.
There are slightly different sizes of the rooms, some are bigger and some smaller. This is a Victorian building in Central London and the rooms vary in sizes. We have options with different room sizes when making a booking and try to request guests requests whenever possible, please enquire for your next visit.
Our breakfast offering has improved substantially offering a range of hot and cold items, including freshly baked croissants

Kind regards,
Abbey court & WestPoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Bedroom and facilities are compact but very clean and comfortable.Price ok for London and even more remarkable considering proximity to Hyde Park and the summer concert season. Some great pubs and eateries within a couple of minutes walk. Staff pleasant and efficient with an early check in. noticed other guests being quite rude to the receptionists but quite frankly it was quite unneccesary and you will never win them over by being discourteous. Friends also stayed in a room below ground level didn't have quite the same experience but we will both book again next time in London

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelers 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you for leaving a positive review on trip advisor. Westpoint & Abbeycourt Hotel is located in a very convenient place, close to the main touristic attractions as well as transport and the Hyde park is around the corner. We always do our best to make sure that all our guest are pleased and satisfy from our service. We look after every guest in a very special and unique way. We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Kind regards,
Abbey court and WestPoint hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This Hotel is situated in a nice area close to bus and tube connections. The staff are nice and the hotel is clean.
However the room we stayed in was tight...and the bathroom was even tighter. We did not have air conditioning and with the temp.around 30 degrees outside it was really missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest,

We are happy to offer other rooms if guest requires as all rooms are varying in sizes. Fans are provided in reception at all time.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Wishing you a very nice day

Kind regards,
Abbey court & WestPoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westpoint Hotel
#802 of 1,076 in London
805 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#832 of 1,076 in London
1,136 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#448 of 1,076 in London
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#556 of 1,076 in London
321 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#942 of 1,076 in London
296 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#696 of 1,076 in London
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #854 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £49 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hyde Park Hotel London
Abbey Court Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing