We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for an update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club
Ranked #415 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 December 2013

As ever I have slightly mixed feelings about this hotel, which we have stayed at since its' opening by the Football Club many years ago. We have in the last couple of weeks stayed in both the Millennium and the Copthorne Hotels, so have had a good opportunity to compare.

For a little more luxury be sure to pay the extra and to book into the Millennium, with its' heated bathroom floors, dressing gowns, updated bedroom decor, and free wi-fi. Also if you book a club room, you have access to two hours free house cocktails a day between 5pm and 7pm in the Delta Lounge on the ground floor, and access to an executive lounge on the 6th floor, during the day for free soft drinks and coffee. You are also given a free mini bar with a couple of bottle of beer, some soft drinks, pringles and a kit-kat free, which is re-stocked daily, as well as a free continental breakfast, also in the Delta Lounge. There is also a separate check in for this hotel on the ground floor., and the lifts are usually there are waiting, whenever you need them,

Alternatively, do as we normally do and book into the Copthorne, where the rooms are a bit shabbier, but still perfectly comfortable, and a little less well designed (whoever thought it was a good idea to put a wardrobe at the foot of the bed, blocking the view of the TV from it ?). You also have the main reception area, bar and breakfast restaurant on floor one of this hotel. Here you get half an hour free wi-fi or pay £10 for 24 hours, and generally these days the system is more reliable than previously,

The major minuses of the hotel is the cost of parking - £36 for 24 hours (run by the football club rather than the Hotel). Make sure you book a space at the time of booking and that security have your registration number and make of car, to save any possible problems, and the breakfast which is distinctly average, and the one thing that has not changed in the hotel in all the years we have stayed there. It is included in our running deal with the hotel, and to be honest wouldn't pay for it otherwise. It is buffet style, cooked and continental, but doesn't stand up to other breakfasts we have had in other similar hotels.

The major plus of the hotel, apart from the fact it is at the home of my favourite football club the mighty Chelsea (lol), is the staff. Although staff turnover seems to have increased quite considerably, there are still a number of people who deserve a mention for their good and friendly service including Dele, Hendrik, and Mattiaon reception, the lovely Aditya and Ania in the restaurant, and the Concierge staff. Joyce the housekeeping supervisor is also something special, and one of the happiest, most smiley people we have ever met.

Concierge deserve a special mention Joseph and his time never fail to give excellent and friendly service however busy they are, and would also mention Alfredo, Nick and Sebastian who are always on hand if we need something.

Special mentions also need to go to Chiara who never fails to help when needed in a very cheery way, and the lovely Danny, who is one of the new duty managers, whose recent dealings with us showed him to be immensely competent, whilst still managing to be friendly and engaging. After our recent problem with Frankies (detailed elsewhere on this site) Danny, spent time with us, making us feel valued, listening to our thoughts, and even gave us a bottle of wine to say sorry for how we had been treated, although it wasn't the hotel's fault. He is an excellent ambassador for Millennium Copthorne.

All in all, this is definitely a hotel worth staying at. Great staff, good location, the football club and lots of eateries walking distance away, whether you like Nandos, pub food or Pizza Express at Fulham Broadway shopping centre and underground station (10 mins walk), or something a bit different like Lots Road Dining Room and Pub - a gastro pub with great food between the hotel and Chelsea Harbour.

Give it a try !

Room Tip: Never really had a bad room in either hotel, choose the Millennium for some added luxury.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
There are newer reviews for Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

we arrived early and were unable to check in however we were able to leave our luggage, a bit of a strange set up with 2 hotels with similar names in the same location with 2 different check ins , we checked in at one and left luggage at the other!!!, the hotel room was adequate, the dressing gowns were hard and scratchy, the room was unbearably hot, we had to open the window not ideal when there was a home game being played. All in all it was an ok hotel with easy access into central London via Fulham broadway , would I stay again ? definatly NOT, I would opt for a cheaper hotel in central London, reason being other than the football ground and its facilities there is very little around this residential area ......

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andysfatbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millcopchelsea, PA to the General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your standard. We do hope that you reported any issues you may have encountered with the Duty Manager who would have been happy to assist you. Fulham Broadway has many various amenities such as a mall with shops, restaurants, a health club, cinema and a number of bars. The Kings road is a 5 minute taxi ride away which has a worldwide reputation for shopping, restaurants bars and clubs. We thank you for your review as your comments always help us to further improve our service.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed in a twin room 1308 for one night at the Millennium Hotel.

Hotel is a 10 minute walk from Fulham Broadway (District Line) station.

Pros:
-We arrived at 10:35am and were allowed to check into the room. Mattia on Reception was particularly helpful.
-Keycard entry (one per person) to solid door with bedroom containing two single beds, shared bedside table & lamp, telephone, tub chair & circular table, cupboard (containing ironing board/iron, safe, hanging area, shelves), writing desk & upright chair, mirror, Samsung widescreen TV (with Internet access and channels including BBC News, Sky Sports, Chelsea TV) atop a cabinet containing fridge & coffee/tea making facilities, suitcase stand, long mirror, tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. En suite bathroom with shower-bath. Effective air-con. Views of the Tube track and adjacent properties.
-Free WiFi - for a limited period.

Cons:
-Occasional noise from corridor and adjacent railway (branch line?) track.

Notes:
-There's a three-storey shopping mall at Fulham Broadway Tube station containing a Pizza Express restaurant, Vue cinema and David Lloyd fitness centre.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millcopchelsea, PA to the General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We were delighted to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and we were particularly pleased to see the vast amount of pros you listed in your review. We are in full agreement that the hotel is conveniently located and is close to a number of great restaurants, shops and a cinema. We thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We went over to see the Chelsea V Crystal Palce game on saturday 14th for my birthday and we stayed in the Copthorne Hotel. At reception they told me we were upgraded for free which was very nice of them. The room was pretty basic though, clean but small enough and with just one double bed so not sure what the standard room is like. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style but good and again staff were very friendly. Drinks at the bar very expensive but it is the Chelsea ground so you would expect it. Not sure I could afford it for my next trip to a game though . Tip is to shop around the sites for the best deal, there is a huge difference between booking sites!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 562Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millcopchelsea, PA to the General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were delighted to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. We were particularly pleased to hear that our staff were helpful and friendly towards you and that you enjoyed out much desired breakfast. We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had a voucher from travel zoo and had an upgraded deluxe room for £89 for two. Good location, lovely and clean and staff efficient and friendly. The only down side we could find was that the sports bar at the ground, Frankies, did not sell Bacardi. They said their supplier didn't supply it. Seemed a bit odd as it's surely a bar staple ?? Anyway we didn't let it spoil our fun.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorge161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millcopchelsea, PA to the General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were thrilled to hear that your stay was more than enjoyable. We were particularly pleased to hear that the staff were efficient and friendly. We are in agreement that we are ideally situated with great transport links. Why not try the 55 Bar in the hotel next time which does supply Bacardi as well as a variety of other brand names. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I made the booking a week in advance and requested a double bed, as I'm 6'2", but on arrival told there weren't any available, which was surprising considering it was a Monday.

The carpet in the rooms was stained, the windows look like they had never been cleaned. When I returned later that evening after a meeting, I again requested a double bed and was given a disabled room.

I won't be returning to this hotel....ever.

Room Tip: If a double bed is required, I suggest booking it 6 months in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Festidious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millcopchelsea, PA to the General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were disappointed to hear that your stay was not an enjoyable one. It is important to note that when making a secret hotel booking via Lastminute.com that your room type is not guaranteed. We do however take into consideration requests for specific types and will accommodate where possible. We do however hope that any issues you had with your room were brought to the attention of the Duty Manager who would have been happy to assist you. We thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Ok Hotel Got it on Travel Zoo deal £89. Shower pressure was rubbish, Bar had zero atmosphere, but there is a Frankie Dettori bar next door which was very good. This hotel would be nightmare on match days. Be sure to specify when booking otherwise you can be booked into the Copthorne next door which I didn't go in, but is supposed to not to be so good, with no free WIFI, I mean who doesn't do free WIFI nowadays. We were upgraded to a superior room, god knows what the standard room was like, if they got the bed any smaller we wouldn't have fitted in it. But if you want to be in Chelsea I suppose this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millcopchelsea, PA to the General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We were pleased to hear that our staff were courteous enough to offer you a free upgrade. It is important to note that you do receive 30minutes of free Wi-Fi in your room and there is internet access on the televisions. It is important to note that the Copthorne also boasts a bar as well a restaurant. Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#206 of 1,072 in London
1,719 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#140 of 1,072 in London
686 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#17 of 1,072 in London
2,550 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club

Address: Fulham Rd | Stamford Bridge, London SW6 1HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#286 Luxury Hotel in London
#316 Romantic Hotel in London
#354 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £93 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium & Copthorne Hotels At Chelsea Football Club Hotel London
Millennium And Copthorne Hotels At Chelsea Football Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing