We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel - Good - Front of House Staff terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club
Ranked #402 of 1,069 Hotels in London
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel - Good - Front of House Staff terrible”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed just after New Year. The room was spacious and quiet for a very reasonable price and the location was perfect.
Room service and cleaning staff were lovely and efficient.
The only sour point was the front of house staff who were rude and arrogant to the point of being offensive. Luckily we only needed to suffer them on check in and check out - otherwise a very good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millcopchelsea, PA to the General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were extremely pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We were however disappointed to read the comments regarding the Front of House staff which we will be looking into further. We thank you for your feedback as this always helps us to further improve our service.
Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    883
    401
    144
    106
See reviews for
322
888
143
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel as part of a secret deal from an online broker so the price was excellent for a 4 star hotel. As has been noted it is unclear which hotel building you are staying at as they both are within the stadium precinct at the front and both share the same name. So I went to the first less impressive looking one and was told to go to the other one. So that could be clearer on the booking form.

The room was typical standard hotel room for that quality and was comfortable but had two single beds but that is fine. The biggest problem was the heating it did not work and I guess apart from the staff areas the heating was cool at warmest. The reception desk told me to turn up the heating on the wall it made no difference and it had been on for some time prior.

The other major, major gripe was the parking. It is £2 per hour for 12 hours then a whopping £36 for any remaining time after that. This was resolved by removing the vehicle after a couple of hours from the licence to print money parking lot and parked it for free after 6pm in a surrounding street, free till 9am. No good getting a good deal on the hotel when you lose it all the parking it would have cost me to park from 4pm to 9am in the morning £48 in total, no wonder the car park appeared empty.

My last gripe I was billed for a meal in one of the restaurants and drinks at the bar at check-out, unfortunately for the hotel it was not me and the bar staff had mistakenly written 7 for a 2 so as I told them it was not mine. I knew that anyway and I told them that at the outset delaying my departure to pick up a client who was a high ranking US Government Official.

Reception staff are courteous without being friendly, the concierges seem friendly the front-desk staff gave an aura of self-importance, perhaps at the Ritz or Savoy not at Chelsea football ground. I would stay there again but the heating needs sorting, I don't do cool! The checkout was a little tainted and the parking was heinous, considering it is free parking 100metres away.

Room Tip: Check the heating works before unpacking, consider parking in a side street unless you have a Bugat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Copthorne hotel was easy to find by car, I stayed there a night before surgery at the Chelsea & Westminster Hospital the next day. It was clean, tidy and a comfortable nights sleep. Shame that the parking charges are so high but that's London I guess! The reception staff could have been a bit more enthusiastic about being there, but apart from that highly recommended for the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Got a really good deal on Lastminute.com - We stayed at the Copthorne Hotels on the 23rd/24th December so we can do a bit of last min shopping in London before heading off to visit family on Christmas day. We turned up earlier than the check in time as we tried to avoid driving down in the horrific weather forecasted and the duty manager was kind enough to check us in and give us a double instead of a twin.

Great location only took 20min to walk to south Kensington to all the museums, lots of nice café, restaurants and pubs en route (Fulham road) and the tube station is only 5min away.

The room itself may be a little dated but it is clean and tidy and the bed is comfortable, no issues with the shower as some reviewer mentioned. All the staff were polite and very helpful - someone set off the fire alarm one morning and they bought us a hot drink as we waited - Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booked hotel through last minute.com for £67 for double room. Location for us was perfect 5 minute walk to tube station but we walked to the hotel from Victoria coach station. On arrival we paid an extra £20 for a double bed as the only room they had was two single so rooms arent as cheap as you first think! Room very spacious great storage facilities and the bathroom was spotless. We were on 3rd floor which was very quiet so slept very well. Bars and restaurants close to hotel would recommend Hache about 10 minute walk away which had excellent burgers and cocktail menu. This will be our 1st choice now when visiting London at weekends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I wanted to send my husband to London to watch his favorite soccer team play (Chelsea). It was harder than I thought. Lots of ticket vendors but difficult to know which were legit. I happened to get on the Chelsea site and saw that they listed this hotel as offering Match Day packages. I emailed the hotel and immediately began corresponding with Mr. Clifford Pile, Manager of Match Day packages. He was amazing: informative and quick to respond. Within a week, I had booked the room, which included 2 match day tickets, 3 course dinners and breakfast for my husband and son at a very reasonable cost. My husband and son relayed the following information about the hotel and its services. The room included 2 twin size beds and was above average (for European standards). At one point the heater stopped working and management immediately sent a space heater up while they worked on the problem. The restaurant in the hotel (called Fifty Five) was very good and the staff throughout the hotel was outstanding. Best of all (and the best part of the whole trip) was that the Match Day tickets that came with the package were really great. All in all, the trip was everything they dreamed of. Thanks to Clifford and all of the hotel staff for providing such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ptorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The rooms were of a high standard with great views. Very quiet and only a 4 min walk to the tube station. All the staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast also a good standard, and room service arrived on time. Can recommend, and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millcopchelsea, PA to the General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were delighted to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. We were particularly pleased to hear that our staff were pleasant and welcoming towards you. We are in full agreement that the hotel is conveniently located as it has fantastic transport links making it easier to get in and around London. We thank you once again for your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#190 of 1,069 in London
1,711 reviews
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#458 of 1,069 in London
4,412 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club

Property: Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club
Address: Fulham Rd | Stamford Bridge, London SW6 1HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#279 Luxury Hotel in London
#316 Romantic Hotel in London
#354 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium & Copthorne Hotels At Chelsea Football Club Hotel London
Millennium And Copthorne Hotels At Chelsea Football Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing