We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Cardiff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cardiff Hotel
Ranked #649 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Used this as a stop over on return from Belgium before returning back west via Paddington . Ideal for a place to put your head down or use as a base to explore city . Hotel was clean and breakfast good . It is situated near Paddington station / Tube in a pleasant little square . i've never really stopped in Paddington before simply used the train station a was pleasantly surprised at the number of pubs , eating places . Staff very polite , don't expect 5 star luxury , but for a London Hotel thought this was decent value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Monkedadda, thank you for your positive review. Everyone working at The Cardiff Hotel takes pride in what we do and we all love to read reviews like yours that take the time to show appreciation of the efforts we all go to. So thank you for encouraging the whole team to keep up the good work !
And yes your correct Paddington is a great area in Central London.
Best regards
The Cardiff Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Excellent position, very near the Tube. Surrounded by pubs and restaurants. Not far from Oxford street, you may shop drop your bags at the hotel and go back. Excellent english breakfast. Clean. Staff, very helpful. Only downside walls are a bit too thin. I would highly recommend. Stayed more than once. Never disappointed. Keep it up guys

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Henna E. Your are our favourite style of customer, the ones who visit London several times and grow to appreciate us and then keep coming back. You review is praise indeed and when the staff read this review and ones like it, it encourages them to give their best all the time and that's what gives us our edge.
Thank you from all of us.
We think your great !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We booked a family room, and although the bedroom was an adequate size the bathroom was minute and impossible to shower 2 small children in. The bathroom had mould & limescale too. The refurbishment work will clearly significantly improve the hotel, however we were not informed this would be going on, and the health & safety hazards for young children of building materials and wires in hallways and on stairs were not good. The bedspreads even had gloss paint on them! The only saving grace was the friendliness of the staff and their excellent customers service; they made us feel most welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hello Karen H,
Thank you for leaving a review and the several good points you made about us. As you noted we were busy remodelling parts of the hotel during your stay and as you mentioned it has lead to significant improvements all round for all our customers to enjoy. We are all very proud of the results.....
Yes we have a great team running the hotel.
Best regards
The Cardiff Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

No mention on the internet or when I checked in ,that the hotel was undergoing major refurbishment. Only when I climbed the stairs did I encounter numerous power tools,electric leads,building materials everywhere. The stair carpets covered with sawdust and debis. Mine was the only finished room on the third floor. Room next door used as a base for workmen. Noise finally ceased at 7pm. I asked for an early morning call for 7am but this was unnecessary because I was awakened by the workers returning for work. It is extrodinary that hotels can push customers to the the limit to fill rooms. I would have been happy with the room 6 'x 8' single for one night , although there was no hanging space except for 5 hooks on the back of the door . It did have an outside terrace with wicker furniture( a bonus in fine weather) that was larger than the bedroom and newly fitted shower etc. Kettle and TV clicker missing,delivered on request by one of the workmen ! It was an experience difficult to forget

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank shaggylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Shaggylamb,
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel.
We are all pleased that you liked the private terrace your room had.
Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused by refurbishing the hallways, however all buildings do require maintenance to keep them in good order and all rooms that were effected had generous discounts to help compensate for this. Receptionists are always ready to help with any problem you may have, but to do so we need to be made aware.
Our aim is to keep the Cardiff Hotel in its best standard to provide our guests comfortable, enjoyable and safe stay in the central London location. If you’d like to stay with us again I can assure you that all our staff will be more than helpful in responding to your needs like showing another available room in a quieter spot.
Central London location means that the room space is limited; however we are trying to convert every inch into the best ergonomic use for our customers, indeed we are now building custom made hardwood beds to allow easy and convenient luggage storage during customer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Again i have returned to the hotel. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is going through a real facelift at the moment and its very impressive. I had a chance to stay in one of the new rooms, what a difference, seems so much more space, nice and bright. Keep up the good work guys!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Cy C,
Thank you for your kind review. We have put a lot of effort into improving even further our building and it it is most gratifying that all the efforts are recognised by a regular guests.
Yes the rooms are looking and feeling bigger and brighter with so much more space.
Your reviews helps give energy and enthusiasmto all of us here to continue to keep up the good work.
And for that we all think think your brilliant !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have stayed in many London hotel rooms before,but The Cardiff Hotel room I had was the best I ever had-long may I return to this establishment,and thanks to the staff for being the best I have everhad

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Steve B,

You as a regulator visitor to London are in a strong position to give an opinion of London hotel accommodation, so your opinion carries a lot of weight. Your kind words that the room you had was the best ever by a long way really means a lot to our team who all work hard and give their best.

You Sir are a Kind man and for that we all think your wonderful....!!

Best regards All the team at The Cardiff Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights 24/26 jan 14 with 3 friends. A really good value for money hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean, newly refurbished and warm all of the time. Breakfast gave us both hot and cold options which were really good. We liked the fact that we could make our own hot drinks as and when we wanted and that they didnt object to how many times we went to the breakfast bar. This is going to be the hotel we will use for all future visits to london and one we will be recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 46 is a twin room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear gaygar,
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave such a positive review of our hotel. We all take considerable pride in providing great value, just refurbished and spotlessly clean rooms, our breakfast has always been a strong point and we are pleased that you mentioned it..... : )
You are more than welcome be be are guest anytime.
Kind reviews like yours are an important part of keeping up staff moral so everyone is motivated to give our best when they see that it's fully and truly appreciated.
And for that we all think your brilliant !!
Best regards form the Team Cardiff ..... : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#816 of 1,077 in London
638 reviews
Stylotel
#617 of 1,077 in London
789 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#425 of 1,077 in London
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Columbus
#491 of 1,077 in London
530 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
St. David's Hotels
#647 of 1,077 in London
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Hotel

Address: 5-9 Norfolk Square | Hyde Park, London W2 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #649 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £62 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardiff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Cardiff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing