We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located”
Review of Cardiff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cardiff Hotel
Ranked #629 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here in London utilizing their convenience to Paddington Station, the Tube and many fine places to eat, drink and entertain ourselves. The rooms were small but that's what you can expect in London. The price is right and having free wifi, breakfast and luggage storage made it a very good value.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are needed as this hotel does not have a lift; especially if you have a large sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    306
    223
    64
    46
See reviews for
205
123
162
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) traveling to London for the first time for a wedding. The Cardiff was a perfect location for us to launch all of our sightseeing excursions. Being right near Paddington Station, we were able to take the Heathrow Express train round trip from the airport easily and cheaply. Also Paddington Station was convenient for getting anywhere we wanted to go. The room was a little tight but we expected that with 4 people and 3 beds, but it still was clean and had an open light feel to it due to the large picture window and light wood floors. The bathroom was pretty small as well but the water was hot. The staff was very friendly and helpful, getting us tickets to venues we were not able to get ahead of time. Breakfast was simple but fresh. If you want something fancier for breakfast there are plenty of restaurants a short walk away. The teenage kids, who seldom compliment anything, loved the hotel. We'd stay there again without hesitation. There is no a/c but they provide a small fan and with the window open and the fan on, the room was fairly comfortable.

Room Tip: Family rooms are downstairs. And the stairwell is pretty steep and narrow with quite a few steps. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A great value accommodation in very handy location. Clean, spacious and with a friendly staff. The only “but” is the absence of lifts. I haven’t tried the breakfast, but it looked alright. I highly recommend if you are a tourist.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSAzevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee WI
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here June 2014 for 4 nights. Conveniently located just 2 short blocks from Paddington Station, right off a medium busy street. The hotel seems to be two or three former independent buildings combined to form the hotel.
The front desk people were welcoming and helpful and they managed to get me into a room early since my flight the day before was rescheduled to early morning (from late afternoon). I was grateful for that however it was on the top floor with no elevator... I think it was on the 5th or 6th floor (it's difficult to tell since there are rooms right off the stairwells).
The room itself was tiny - it was a single room which meant that it had a twin bed that folded up into a desk if I wanted it to.... and a bathroom that was so small that I could have sat on the toilet and taken a shower AND brushed my teeth at the same time! (Not a complaint - just so interested people know).
The bed was adequate - a 6 on a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being best). But I was thankful that the room had a table fan - it made it bearable to sleep (for noise AND temperature). The noise from the hall was other guests' doors and footsteps...
The breakfast buffet was also adequate - bread for toasting, corn flakes and a kiddie cereal choices, canned fruit, eggs, tomatoes and beans, and juice and coffee... nothing fancy, nothing outstanding but adequate and edible.
I might stay here again, depending on what floor I could get a room on... after walking around town all day the last thing I wanted to do was do 5 or 6 flights of stairs!
The neighborhood has lots of dining options - for all meals and is central for public transportation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Chose this hotel on its location as well as cost. Location cannot be faulted; within spitting distance of Paddington Station on a quiet square with a large public garden. Plenty of restaurants nearby and a bus stop for the 23 bus that runs along Oxford Street/Regent Street to Trafalgar Square.

I was in a single room, large in relation to normal single rooms of this type of hotel. Room 18 is not as one would expect on the first floor but on the fourth (top) floor. Oh, those stairs. 77 steps from reception to bedroom door, with a case! The stairs got narrower and steeper as I climbed. Due to the age of the building there are halfway landings so it is impossible to know which floor you are on – to be told I was on the fourth floor really meant nothing.

Lots of very amiable, cheerful staff and absolutely no problem with arriving early and leaving my case – you get a green sticker – or leaving it on the last day – with a red sticker.

Praise for the breakfast room, a further 20 steps into the basement – and the superb buffet provided.

Apart from the many steps there was nowhere in my room to hang clothes, just three hooks on the back of the door – you cannot hang skirts and tops on a hook. First night I used the towel rail, I did ask for coat hangers and they were given promptly.

The hotel is clearly undergoing some refurbishment; I suspect my room, 18, had not long had a makeover. However a bit disconcerting to have to step out of the shower onto a tiled step.

Would I book and stay here again – yes, I probably would. Location is terrific but some degree of certainty regarding room position would have to be guaranteed.

Room Tip: Unless you are a mountaineer make sure you are not on the top/4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

had a twin room no 43 was told this was a quiet room. There wasn't any traffic noise only hotel noise. Noise from room above us was disruptive- creaking floor boards and hear drawers being opened and close. This room backs onto a courtyard and there a frequent noise of water going down an external down pipe (not rain water!) Ensuite was tight and could of done with a bath mat. That said the room was clean, beds comfy. Breakfast was fine. We found all staff pleasant and helpful. Spoke to another guest who was moved upstairs as I believe similar issues, and they were happy. No ask the right questions to get a good room. Value average because of my experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was obvious the Cardiff has undertaken an improvement program. It is an exceeding convenient and high value stay-for-money. As to the rooms, it was a big annoyance that there was no bath mat! Though the floor appeared clean, to have to step out on a bare floor with slightly damp feet from the shower was not good. And, since there was only one towel per person, there was not extra to use as a bath may. Further, over a four night stay we had to ask for the single use shampoo packets each day. As another reviewer noted, the changes in the breakfast set-up are disappointing. We've stayed at the Cardiff many times in the past and were quite looking forward to the breakfasts as they used to be. We were at first puzzled by no menus and no one coming to as if we wanted tea or coffee. Then we saw the "buffet" set-up and realized the change. Even with the larger toasted noted previously (it seemed to burn the bread rather than toast it) there was generally a queue waiting for toast. The eggs, bacon, etc. we're not re-supplied as frequently as needed, thus there was often a long wait. Probably the location is the top reason to go there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandBeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Stylotel
#589 of 1,069 in London
767 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#615 of 1,069 in London
585 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#425 of 1,069 in London
1,056 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#666 of 1,069 in London
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Hotel

Property: Cardiff Hotel
Address: 5-9 Norfolk Square | Hyde Park, London W2 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #629 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardiff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Cardiff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing