We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No runing, no hiking, just book the Cardiff”
Review of Cardiff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cardiff Hotel
Ranked #626 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No runing, no hiking, just book the Cardiff”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very clean, small rooms, but it's usual for London, good place close to Padington, comfortable beds, good linen. Our room was on fourth floor, so with no elevator you can get here with two three stops on narrow staircase with your luggage. The check out at 10.30 is a little bit early, but at leadt you can leave your luggage at reception. A little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vykintas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    307
    223
    64
    46
See reviews for
205
124
162
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Cardiff Hotel is situated on a quiet street facing a small park. In two minutes time, you are at the Paddington Station, bus stops and just a 7 minute walk to Hyde Park. It's close to Notting Hill and High Street Kensington, as well! There are countless restaurants, shops and points of interest in this neighbourhood.
All of the rooms at the hotel have been redone and are very clean, cozy and comfortable. I have been coming to London year after year, and the Cardiff Hotel is my hotel of choice.... Why? Because it's everything I look for in a hotel when I'm traveling, and that's why I keep coming back here to stay. Reasonable room rates, great breakfasts, clean rooms, all situated in one of the nicest areas of London. What makes my trip so memorable each time, is the staff, who really are wonderful and go out of their way to insure their guests are happy. They really make you feel 'at home,' when your away from home, and for me, this is important! I love staying here and highly recommend it to everyone!
I have to mention also that all of the rooms and breakfast room have been completely redone, and I was able to see the whole process from beginning to end, between my numerous stays. I have to say that they did a wonderful job it shows. I love staying here and really feel like I'm 'coming home' when I walk through the door. And that, is a great feeling!

Room Tip: If you'd like a view, why not chose a room facing the park? The hotel is on a quiet street, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leesa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First, the location is fabulous. It is a very short walk from Paddington Station and is very easy to find. There is a little park right outside the front door of the hotel as well.

There is no lift in the hotel. My room was on the 3rd floor, so carrying bags up skinny winding staircases for several floors after a long trip was not a good start. I have a room that had a private balcony. The balcony was great. The view was to the back of other buildings, but with a room so small I couldn't even put my suitcase down it was nice to have a little space to avoid claustrophobia. I think the balcony was as large as the room. A towel for the bath was provided, but the first night I did not even get any soap! The hotel was very budget looking so I figured maybe they just didn't provide soap until I got one the the second day. The shower was the worst shower I have ever experienced at a hotel. It is tiny, but that is fine with me. The problem was the water pressure, or rather, the lack there of. The water just fell out of the nozzle. There was no pressure at all; it just fell from gravity. It definitely was not a nice way to try and refresh after a long trip.

The breakfast was mediocre. I also found it very interesting before I arrived how they made such a big deal that they are open 24 hours. It was even more interesting after staying there and seeing there was no one at the front desk when I arrived back after a show at about 11 pm and no one when I checked out around 5:30 am in the morning. I am not sure what exactly constitutes open 24 hours, but I would think that would mean someone at the desk.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

First impressions cute, then had to manoeuvre through piled timber in the stairwell and luggage piled everywhere, with our suitcases up to 1st floor (thank goodness only 1 floor). Room clean but blanket on bed and spare not so clean looking. Shower so small you wouldn't want to drop the soap. In all good location but over priced .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Cardiff when we first arrived in London. We arrived late at night and were pleasantly surprised at its close vicinity to Paddington Station. Virtually one block away and we were there at our destination. Beautiful breakfast included each morning in a lovely setting downstairs. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodation and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokia, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I spent four nights at Hotel Cardiff with my two kids aged 12 and 17. The hotel is situated ideally in a peaceful, beautiful area, the nearest Tube station just around the corner. The centre of London can be reached in no time. Around the hotel we found nice restaurants with good food, small shops where we could buy snacks, etc. Hyde Park is within a walking distance from the hotel; we enjoyed one hot day having a picknick there, and the kids enjoyed it a lot. The hotel is quite old and a little bit shabby, but renovations are on the way. Free WiFi and breakfast were included. We'll choose the same hotel next time when London calls us again!

Room Tip: There is no lift in the hotel, and the stairs are quite steep. So, if you have problems carrying you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I, a single parent stayed at Hotel Cardiff in Norflok square paddington along with my two kids aged 12, 19 from 15th June till 18th june 14. The hotel is situated ideally a comfortable walking distance ie not more than 100 mtrs from the Paddington tube station. We were really happy with the location and was just perfect since all our travel was through tubes primarily . it really served our purpose of hopping on n off any time of the day or night.
Also the hotel overlooks a beautiful garden which gives it a very homely feel. initially at the time of check in I was given a back facing triple room which I was very disappointed to enter. I knew I wont be able to stay here for three nights if they would not change it. but to my expectation when I went downstairs to the reception and requested them for the change in the room for a front facing one they initially said we are full, but in five minutes only they called me in my room and asked if I was ok to check in after about 3 hours. I happily agreed.
Breakfast is included in the deal and is basic English breakfast in a nice cozy basement which is kept neat. No complaints. Staff is helpful too.
Another nice feature about the hotel is its surroundings.. Very nice market place just as soon as you come down from the hotel. nice old english pubs , KFC, Mcdonalds in case you have small kids, shwarma place, Costa coffee everything is literally 20 steps away !
Only ONE Down side : SIZE OF THE ROOM. its small but the size of Bathroom is TINYYYYY )) rediculously small.
But then given the other benefits I was really happy I found this one. If you are one of those luxurious travellers this one is not for you. but if you are ok with small size of room n bathroom and wanna look at the functional aspect of the hotel its a thumbs up !

Room Tip: Try getting the front facing rooms with garden view. you ll love them esp in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagararora123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Stylotel
#588 of 1,069 in London
768 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#604 of 1,069 in London
587 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#425 of 1,069 in London
1,056 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#668 of 1,069 in London
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Hotel

Property: Cardiff Hotel
Address: 5-9 Norfolk Square | Hyde Park, London W2 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #626 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardiff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Cardiff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing