We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic budget hotel”
Review of Grantly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grantly Hotel
Ranked #676 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good basic budget hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at the Grantly for one night to attend the Shepherds Bush Empire which was just 2 mins walk away. There were 3 of us in a triple room and the room itself although not plush by any means was comfortable, clean and large enough for us all. The decor is dated although the bathroom we had was recently renovated and was very modern and stylish. The only drawback we had was the lack of a hairdryer in the room and when we asked at reception one was provided however it was a two pin plug which meant we had to go back and request an adapter. Why a two pin plug? it doesnt make sense.

The staff were great, very pleasant and friendly and any request we made, ie for extra pillows, hairdryer etc was dealt with efficiently and with a smile. We didnt have breakfast so can't comment on that.

As a small budget hotel, I would recommend it and would stay again, just dont expect the ritz for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manx_kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    150
    103
    30
    24
See reviews for
110
67
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We spent 1 night at the Grantly Hotel having chosen it for close proximity to the O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire and for the reasonable price. The room we had booked was a twin, but we were given a ground floor room with a double bed and a single bed. Plenty of space in the room, a fridge, tea & coffee tray etc. The bathroom had a bath, it was rather cramped for space but acceptable. I should point out that some friends in the same hotel for the same night had a double room on the upper floor which was very small and cramped, about a third of the size of our room & with the bed up against the wall on one side and with the window and radiator right up against the other side. They also commented that they couldn't fit the kettle under the tap so had to fill it with glasses of water.
Beds clean and reasonably comfy if a bit hard. The room decor is very plain and some scuff marks on the walls and paint peeling on bottom of bathroom door, we were on the front of the building facing the road so there was road noise until early hours and then again from about 7am but if we closed all the windows it was quiet enough.
We did not have breakfast as we had a late night and preferred a lie-in, but our friends said the breakfast was cereal, toast and a boiled egg if you wanted one. For the price this was a reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LazyRizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Given London's unpredictable underground service, this hotel is ideal for those wanting a base that allows flexibility to other public transport and shopping. It's a short walk from the Shepherd's Bush underground and the Westfield Shopping Mall. For 'shopaholics', one can almost skip Oxford Street and the public transport cost to just shop at the Westfield! As I was stocking up on early Christmas gifts, I could make several trips to the Westfield and drop off the shopping within the same day, without spending extra on transportation, even on the day I was supposed to fly off home!
The reception staff was helpful and accommodating and the included continental breakfast was good. The impressive thing about this hotel is their staff do stay employed at this hotel, thus allowing repeat guests like myself to experience the familiarity (this is my 4th stay at the hotel).
The only improvement that I would suggest for the hotel management is to install hooks in the rooms and their toilets for hanging up coats and clothes, respectively. In addition, it'll be worthwhile considering having family rooms for 4 or more as I would consider staying there if my family should travel with me in the future! Currently, the room sizes are small and compact, just good enough for sleeping, but not much else. The toilets are also smallish.

Room Tip: Those with bulky luggage may wish to consider requesting for a ground or 1st floor room as this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel is perfect for the Shepherd’s Bush Empire which you can see from the steps of the hotel as well as close to a tube station.

On arrival full payment was requested, but most hotels swipe a card even if you dont pay at time.

we had lower ground twin ensuit which was nice size for our stay and had flat screen TV
room being below the road level didnt get any undue nosie from the main road.

Breakfast was served between 8:30 in a lower ground floor conservatory and comprised of cereals, toast with preserves/cheeses and also croissants and boiled eggs. Both staff were friendly and asked if you wanted anything else. But no fully cooked breakfast but it is included in the price where as alot hotels charge for breakfast.

Although websites does not mention parking i emailed and was told was available, there was space for four vehicles and was only 6 pound so worth ringing or emailing. if you want to take the car.

The hotel has good wireless as long as your a bt customer. but not sure if they charge if your not.

Hotel was clean and beds fine, towels provided but no soap or shower gel like you get some hotels.But cost of hotel for the location is great. The staff are friendly. You do have to leave your car key with receiption if your leaving car at the hotel when you go out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank submarinex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Strong smell of sewerage from shower drain, telephone not working, unclean room in general. Furniture and fixtures in poor state of repair. No hot water and to cap it all off, one of the shower fittings fell off the wall while I was using it.

Thank goodness I'll be drunk when I get back there for my second and final night.

Room Tip: Don't allow yourself to be booked into room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

North East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel is ideally placed for the Shepherd’s Bush Empire (two minute walk) as well as affording direct access to central London via the Central line tube or Kings Cross/St Pancras, and Paddington mainline stations via the Hammersmith and City line.

On arrival full payment was requested – having previously stayed I was aware of the debit and credit card surcharges (1% and 2% respectively) so had sufficient cash available (although there are ATMs nearby if needed).

My lower ground single en-suite was compact (but in line with other London accommodation) and appeared to have been recently refurbished with new tiling, wardrobe and chest of drawers and flat screen TV/DVD (although limited space prevented the inclusion of a writing desk and the kettle had to be boiled in the socket behind the TV. As it was located to the front of the building, some road noise was audible during the night.

Breakfast was served between 7:30 – 9:30am in a lower ground floor conservatory and comprised of cereals, toast with preserves/cheeses and also croissants and soft boiled eggs (if you timed it well or weren’t afraid to ask!). I ate earlier so quieter and less rushed. The two staff members were very pleasant and happy to oblige with my numerous coffee refills! The Food Standards Agency has awarded 4/5 stars.

Advertised checkout is between 10 – 11am however I was told not to hurry as 11:30am would be fine and there was also the offer to hold my baggage until I caught my train in the evening.

Although websites state that no parking is available, there was space for approximately four vehicles (I believe tariff was £6 - £8 per night) so worth ring ahead to check details.

The hotel has good BT Fon/Openzone hub hotspot coverage which could save you paying the £3 daily Wi-fi charge.

The £60 per night single en-suite tariff was very good value for money (tariff is £120 for the duration of the Olympics) providing basic clean accommodation for a few day’s stay.

Room Tip: Business travellers specify that needing a desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermintrude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We arrived at the Grantly 9/7/12 and we had book a double as no twins available on booking.com however when we checked in we were offered a twin room. The room was roomy and spotless with a fridge and a fan which was an added bonus. The location was excellent as we were off to the Shepherds Bush Empire which is literally across the road so perfect. All in all I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Comfotel Prpl
#706 of 1,068 in London
66 reviews
Hotel 65
#757 of 1,068 in London
547 reviews
Queens Hotel
#659 of 1,068 in London
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#243 of 1,068 in London
1,930 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#840 of 1,068 in London
722 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grantly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantly Hotel

Property: Grantly Hotel
Address: 50 Shepherds Bush Green | Shepherds Bush, London W12 8PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #676 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grantly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grantly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grantly Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing