We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Ranked #621 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed here earlier in the year. Heatherbank is a modest guest house with very comfortable rooms and beds and the room I had had a lovely original fireplace. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Central London, but only a short tube ride away and I have to admit whenever I come to London that is what I prefer.
I was meeting a friend who has recently moved to London and I didn't know whether we were going to eat or go to the theatre, so I checked the restaurants on Finchley High Street out and most were open late and there was a wide range opf cuisine within a very short walking distance.
I can't comment on the quality of them as we ended up eating in Covent Garden, but the ones I checked out were clean and attractive.
The real bonus for me was free parking, as I wasn't going straight home from London.
The food was more than acceptable and I was lucky enough to sit at a table looking out onto a lovely garden area.
The Heatherbank certainly offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobGraham1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a family room for one night after The Last of the Proms party in Hyde Park last night. We checked in at lunch time and were met by a very friendly young man who showed us to our room which was great with a large double and one single and ensuite shower room. The room was very clean and everything we needed was provided. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets lovely and clean as were the towels. There was a box of essentials provided for each guest which was a lovely touch. It is only 5 mins walk from Woodside Park tube station which was perfect for us to get into London. We all slept really well. Our room overlooked the road but it was quiet in the night. We all had a full english breakfast which was fine and there was as much toast and tea and coffee as you wanted together with yogurts and fruit and cereal. All in all we had a perfectly good stay and would stay here again and recommend it anyone who just needs a bed for the night. REally good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannyWeybread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had a lovely 2 day stay here while visiting London. This is a small b&b located in Barnet in northern metro London. It is an approximately 10 minute walk from the Woodside Park tube station on the Northern line in a residential neighborhood, and was approximately 1 hour from Heathrow on the tube. Shops and pubs are only a further 5-10 minute walk up the street. An added bonus is a network of nature walking paths within a few minutes that take you into parks and gardens that dot the area and provide a real respite from the bustle of central London.

The b&b comprises two connected and renovated historic homes. My room was on the 3rd floor and one of the staff kindly helped me take my bag upstairs. The room was very clean and large, with a comfortable bed, desk space, and a modern bathroom. Breakfast is served in a large dining room overlooking a well-maintained garden and a wide variety of options (cereals, yogurt, fruit, eggs, etc.), most of which are cooked to order. Wifi was strong and fast.

Although the location is definitely outside central London and will require a bus or tube ride, the difference in cost, the pleasant surroundings, and the ability to get out and take a walk in some lovely gardens and parks makes up for the extra time it takes to get here. Also, if travelling by tube, note that the Woodside Park station does not have "step-free" exits when arriving northbound. In other words, you need to take your bags upstairs and across a bridge to exit the station in the direction of the Heatherbank.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pakkoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

from the minute we arrived to the moment we left, we enjoyed every aspect of our stay at heatherbank. The owners made us feel immediately welcome, the rooms were very clean and spacious (plus included a little welcome gift which really impressed my partner); and location wise, it is very well placed for a direct bus or train into central london.

breakfast on both the sat and sun mornings included a wide range of choice; and sitting in the breakfast room, overlooking the gorgeously well kept garden, was a lovely way to start the day.

overall, a great stay in every way and we would definitely stay at this b&b again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuartsaunders1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a lovely little place. Owners/staff very friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed sitting in the pretty, quiet garden. Room was nice and bed comfy. Breakfast good. It is quite a way from central London though and the tube line into the centre wasn't working so it took us ages getting in/out. Would recommend if the location suits.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I booked this guest house to stay in while on a training course and it was ideal as it was within walking distance of the training and there was plenty of places to eat in the area.

i arrived late on the Sunday evening to a warm welcome and was shown a lovely large room with everything i needed. The location is in a quiet street with plenty of off street parking and I was allowed to park my car there all week at no extra cost.

very clean rooms and fully cleaned every day with fresh towels. Breakfasts were nice and I enjoyed a full English everyday.

I'd recommend this place for both business and a visit to London as there is a tube station at the end of the road which will take you into the city centre on the Northern line.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

It was a sign from the B&B gods that challenges lie ahead. When we checked in, there were nice gift packs with blindfolds and ear plugs on the beds. I strongly suspect your satisfaction with this B&B depends on where your room is. First, it is located north of London. It is a 5 minute walk to the Underground station, and around 45 minutes to central London. The area has several restaurants, although mostly Thai and Italian. The front of the house was average in appearance, but the back garden was beautiful. The room was fairly large and very clean, though the walls in the room and caulking around the shower/tub had some cracks and dents. Nice refrigerator. We had room 11 which is a family room with 2 double beds in the main room and one twin bed in an alcove. The owners were very friendly. Breakfast was good, though choice of cereal was more limited than other B&Bs we stayed in. They just need one child-friendly choice. Unfortunately there are a few major flaws with the room. It is between the office and the breakfast room, so it was very noisy. People walking upstairs reverberated through the room. The security system beeps whenever someone gets near the front door, and this is clearly heard in the room. The owners are aware of this, so it would seem they would turn that feature off. Telephone, and the conversation, are also clearly heard. They also have two dogs that bark on occasion. That's why you get ear plugs. The window has nice blackout curtains which are needed with the early London sunrise in the summer, but there is a skylight above the twin bed that has a thin blind. The room is brilliant by 7 AM. They should just board that thing up. That's why you get the blindfold. The cost, location, and general condition of the B&B make it a great place to stay, but only on the second floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WXRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Glenlyn Hotel
#473 of 1,078 in London
545 reviews
London Guest House
#514 of 1,078 in London
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Grantly Hotel
Grantly Hotel
#654 of 1,078 in London
363 reviews
Kingsland Hotel
#735 of 1,078 in London
434 reviews
Hotel 55
#431 of 1,078 in London
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherbank Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherbank Guesthouse

Address: 25-27 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #621 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heatherbank Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Hotel set in 3 large Edwardian houses which, whilst offering guest the highest standards of comfort and service, retain many of the original Edwardian architectural features.We are open all the year round and offer single, double, treble, Quad and large family rooms, all with en-suite facilities.We cater for business persons and visitors to London. Being situated in North Finchley we are five minutes walk from Woodside Park underground station (direct to the City and West End in 25 minutes), and 8 minutes walking distance to North Finchley bus station. Also next to major bus routes, and within reach of the A1, M25 and A406 North Circular Road.We are ideally placed for anyone visiting the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Place, Copthall Stadium and North or Central London with the advantage of not having to pay Central London prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Heatherbank Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing