We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Ranked #311 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Great Notley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great hotel with excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay, we booked two rooms and requested interconnecting rooms. I called the hotel the day before arrival to check that our request had been noted, Kenisha confirmed this and then asked how we would be travelling to the hotel as there may be a rail replacement service on some parts of the Underground and DLR. This was very thoughtful and shows that the staff go the extra mile.
The level of customer service throughout our stay was excellent, all of the staff were friendly, helpful and always had a smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out to leave such encouraging feedback about your recent stay with us.
Our staff work very hard to make each stay special and I am glad to see we were successful reaching that goal for you.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at our hotel, your kind words about the service you received are much appreciated and I look forward to sharing them with the team.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Crowne Plaza London Docklands in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Achraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    615
    230
    111
    74
See reviews for
259
583
83
566
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this weekend for the Boat Show. The room was okay but not outstanding and the food very average.
The bill was paid in full by debit card but on returning home I noticed that the hotel had ear marked funds but not cancelled this on receiving payment. I had to make two calls to my bank who advised this was due to a mistake at the hotel and suggested I ring and let them know. The duty manager could not have been more rude saying it was not their problem! A further call to my bank and then to the manager resulted in them sorting out their mistake - however they have charged me for the privilege! I will never use Crowne Plaza again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel via Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands, we appreciate you taking the time to express your experience and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We are deeply disappointed to hear your stay was anything less than 100% satisfactory and not reflective of the high brand standards we strive to deliver every day to our valued guests. Please rest assured all your comments are of great importance and been shared with the relevant manager who will take the necessary actions to make sure this will not re-occur.
Furthermore, it would be highly appreciated if you could contact me directly as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands.

Yours Sincerely,

Achraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting the London Boat Show at the Excel. We had a great stay the room was lovely, food was really good and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and this really helped to make our stay really enjoyable. We will definitely book again when visiting London.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Docklands and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our exceptional team is always ready to deliver exceptional service to all our cherished guests and it is so heart-warming to hear that your stay went so well and you look forward to visit us again.

We are looking forward as well to welcoming you back soon for great memories worth repeating.

Kind regards

Achraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Second time we have stayed here, the first time not long after it opened. We thought it good last time but this time it was excellent. The staff are genuinely concerned that you enjoy your stay and every member of staff with whom we had dealings from the manager to the waiters clearly took a personal pride in their job and the reputation of their hotel and genuinely cared about the quality of our experience.
Our room was large and comfortable, well decorated and very clean.( It was sufficiently large to enable us to comfortably entertain my daughter, daughter in law and five year old grandson for a room service lunch on Boxing Day). The breakfast offered a good variety from the 'full English' to the 'continental' with the breakfast tastes and customs of various other cultures also catered for.
Travel into Central London by the DLR, London Underground or bus is straightforward and takes less than thirty minutes while the surrounding area offers The O2, The Crystal Centre and The Excel Centre and great modern city scenery.
There is a very handy Tesco Metro for any forgotten items and several small restaurants within a few hundred yards including an excellent Lebanese restaurant just across the road although the hotel food is good and reasonably priced so if you don't want to wander out from the hotel there is no need.
We were staying there on a package deal over Christmas but would return. Hotel is clearly very well geared up for the business customer as well as tourists.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your rave review of our hotel. We try our very best to WOW every guest with excellent customer service, on top of the wonderful rooms and amenities that we offer. We are so happy that you enjoyed almost every aspect of your stay here and we would absolutely love to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands

Warm Regards

Achraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed for one night with my six year old granddaughter and we had an excellent stay. The staff provided a first class service and could not have been more helpful. Have stayed in a lot of hotels and for service this is one of the best, The room was spotless clean and bed was really comforable with lots of extras.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite and well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us such wonderful feedback about your experience with us at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands.

Our prime focus is to provide efficient, warm and friendly service to all our guests and your mention about these services is very encouraging and a great pride for the entire team. Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements about the Hotel. All team members are very happy to know that their service had a big impact on your journey.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit to London.

Warmest Regards

Achraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just had 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza in Docklands. it is nice looking, well decorated, with a good soft bed and excellent linen. The front of house were lovely, and very attentive. The disappointment was for the house keeping. I know it may be seen as picky, however I have to be honest.

On arrival there was one packet of biscuits which were not replaced on the second day, when the room was made up the bath robes where just thrown over the chair, the shower gel/shampoo dispenser run out of shower gel, and was not replace.

Over all it was very nice, good for the O2 but a bit way out for central London.

Room service was excellent. Quick, tasty, and beautifully presented.

I think if the small details improved I may consider returning, however, I may also look more centrally.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andiparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands.
Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guest’s expectations. We strive for the highest level of professionalism, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary stay you deserve and be assured that we are taking the appropriate actions to resolve all the issues you have encountered with our housekeeping team during your stay and while we speak we are already putting measures in place to try and ensure that similar service do not re-occur.
It is always very valuable for us to understand our guest experiences so that we can continue to review our service offerings.
Once again, our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused and I truly hope that this one off experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future as I am sure our housekeeping service will live up to your expectations and that you will find the service to be much improved.

Yours Sincerely,

Achraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Visited here in December for a 3 day break and was'nt dissapointed
Location is very good for access to O2 river boats and dlr station 3mins wlk
Room was as good as most hotels in this sphere staff were pleasant and breakfast was good to both in restaraunt and in room
Deffinatly worth coming bk too and we know as we travel to London a lot

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eggyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing the Crowne Plaza Docklands.

Your comments have been passed on to the team members who extend their appreciation.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any future assistance you may require and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Patience Eshun
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#269 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in London
#164 Family Hotel in London
#198 Business Hotel in London
#227 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing