We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Ranked #329 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
N.Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Crowne plaza. We had an excellent stay, the room was lovely overlooking the Thames, the food was really good and the staff were excellent, particularly Christine who gave was never to busy to help and give us directions to all the places we wanted to see. The DLR is literally a few minutes walk, which takes you to the tube stations, which will take you anywhere, it is an excellent system. If you are confused just ask the staff at the hotel or tube stations and they are only to willing to help. I would recommend an oyster card for travel this definitely saves you money and can be used on the emirates cable cars just outside the hotel, they are brilliant to take you over to the 02 or to the clipper riverboat which is a great way to get up the Thames again you can use the oyster card for this saving you money. London is a fabulous place with so much going on and I certainly would stay in the crowne plaza again.

Room Tip: We had a view overlooking the Thames great room and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands and for taking the time to post your review regarding your last stay with us.

We were delighted you chosen to stay with us and that you had a very pleasant stay. Our staff works very hard to make each stay special and I am glad to see we were successful reaching that goal for you. Thank you for also recognising Christine's hard work from our Reception Team. I will give her a copy of your feedback and share it with the team as well. Thank you for acknowledging many good elements about the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza London-Docklands in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michelle A. Ramirez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    620
    231
    116
    77
See reviews for
264
586
83
578
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We ran a large residential course here in June and the staff looking after us were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble including our dinner numbers changing on one of the nights from 70 to 130, changing the layout, food orders etc with short notice. Their attention to detail and regularlly checking all was ok with me, was brilliant. The only grumble I would have is that there was zero flexibility in cancelling bedrooms - any we cancelled had to be paid for in full despite us spending quite a few thousand pounds there - I accept you have a contract but showing a bit of consideration is always a good thing. The hotel is well kept, ideally located and well run.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent event at The Crowne Plaza London Docklands Hotel on Tripadvisor,

Our prime focus is to the provide efficient, warm and friendly service to all our guests and your mention about these customer services is very encouraging and a great pride for the entire team. Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements about the Hotel.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza London-Docklands.

Kind regards

Michelle A. Ramirez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I would just like to thank everyone at this hotel for making my mother feel so welcome and special.
I booked the Crowne Plaza London, as a Birthday Surprise, as my mother was attending a special event locally at the O2 Arena.This was always one of her lifetime dreams, to actually see the Eagles in concert.
From the moment that she arrived, she was treated as first class always.
Upon arrival, she was given personal Birthday wishes at reception - then later when she got back to her room after the event, a special surprise gift of luxury gourmet cakes and sweets in her room.
The Breakfast was described as fantastic, and well cooked with a huge selection of all types. All Staff were amazing for the entire stay.
I would definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza for all who are considering.
Totally outstanding service. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry_Whiteley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza London Docklands for your recent stay in London. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is brilliant to read that you found your room to be excellent and that you enjoyed the surprise for your mother’s birthday. I am very glad that you enjoyed all our amenities and had such a memorable time here.

It is wonderful that you appreciated our buffet breakfast and thank you for recognising our team members friendliness, your kind words have been shared with our team who are all pleased that they were able to positively impact your stay by displaying their passion for hospitality.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Michelle A. Ramirez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a night when seeing the eagles at the O2. Excellent location - 15 minutes door to door on the tube and DLR, too scared to do the Emirates Air Line!
Arrived at 2pm, reception was busy but we were checked in really quickly. On a hot day we got to the room to find the air conditioning on, which was great! The room was excellent - spacious with a sofa bed. The bathroom was spotless.
One of the best night's sleep in a hotel ever. Such a comfortable bed. Only small gripe was the shower was a little weak. I would recommend a room away from the lifts. Altogether an excellent stay and we will return for the great location when we next visit the O2.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 29cjb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your rave review of our hotel. We try our very best to WOW every guest of ours with exceptional customer service, on top of the wonderful rooms and amenities that we offer.
I am extremely pleased to know that our location was a big plus in your favour and that you enjoyed almost every aspect of your stay.

I am certainly looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Michelle A. Ramirez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Crowne Plaza and can honestly say this is a great hotel in a wonderful location. We chose the hotel due to its proximity to the O2 where we were attending a concert and booked through LastMinute.com. Upon arrival we were welcomed in a lovely friendly manner by David on Reception and our request for a room with a waterside view was met immediately. Our room on the 3rd Floor was beautifully furnished, very clean and had the most stunning view of the Docklands, O2, Canary Wharf and the Emirates Airline Cable Car, a wonderful way to travel from the hotel to the O2 and highly recommended! We thoroughly enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the adjoining Docklands Bar & Grill Restaurant and received excellent customer service with a smile from all employees working there. Nothing was too much trouble, even when the restaurant was full of guests for breakfast we were offered, and accepted, a table outside overlooking the waterside and Canary Wharf, made more beautiful by the sunshine! This hotel is a gem near the city of London, (the Royal Victoria Dock DLR railway is only a few minutes’ walk from the hotel) it’s in a reasonably quiet area, where a walk along the dockside is a must! Thank you to all at the Crowne Plaza, we will definitely return to the hotel and look forward to our next visit soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing such detailed review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and a comfortable stay for all our guests in order to make The Crowne Plaza London Docklands feel like home.

I also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff friendliness and your check in experience, thank you for also recognising David from our Reception Team. I will give him a copy of your feedback and share it with the team as well. They are much appreciated and have been shared with the team to ensure they receive the deserved recognition for their hard work and dedication.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best source of information for improving guest service and maintaining our high standards of customer service. I will personally make sure your comments are taken on board and followed up by the relevant departmental managers.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michelle A. Ramirez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

After reading reviews of this hotel we thought we would be in for a treat! Booked to see the Eagles at the O2 and thought we would stay overnight without the children and spoil ourselves, sadly it wasnt to be.

We did arrive early and the room wasnt ready, which wasnt a problem to leave suitcase with staff, we completed all the necessary paperwork so everything would be ready when we returned. On our return to the hotel, we noticed that we had been moved room, after being told earlier that we would be in one room we had been moved, not sure the reason why. Anyway found the room, and openend the door to be met with a very tired room, with carpet all rucked up, and a room in need of some TLC to be honest, and we have booked an Executive Room at £175. We looked round the room, noticed stains on the carpets, only one dressing gown in wardrobe, nowhere to sit and do hair and make up, so while hubby showered i had to perch on the desk to use the mirror, not comfortable at all, think the room was designed for business stay, as also noticed when we eventually found the hairdryer in the wardrobe that you had to stand there and try and dry you hair!!

Rubbish bin had not been emptied, and there was an open carton of milk in the fridge! We did use this but have to admit not keen on using already openend items, we did explain on check out but he couldnt understand what we said!! He was friendly enough sadly his English was poor. While hubby was having a shower, i heard alot of crashing about and it turned out the shower gel dispenser in the shower was empty, he didnt realise until in the shower and didnt really want to get out to retrieve the very small bottle provided by the sink, we did ask them if they could refil the dispenser and when we returned late at night they had left 3 small bottles! So are the dispensers not in use in the shower, if that is the case, please remove.

Carpet just outside bedroom in the coridoor was also coming part at the join, i hope somebody doesnt trip of this, it needs to be fixed urgently!

The only good thing is the breakfast, all staff very friendly and helpful, food lovely and hot, nice selection.

Will admit we wont be staying here again, to be honest Premier Inn are better!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,


I want to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Docklands for your recent stay and also I would like to express my appreciation for your very constructive review which has been passed on to all departments to work on improving both facility and service, especially areas such as housekeeping amenities and room maintenance.

I would like to share some news with you as we are launching a refurbishment later on this month, which has been in planning since last year, to improve the states of all rooms. I appreciate this does not change your experience, but I would like you to give us an opportunity for us to prove to you that we are capable of providing an excellent service which I believe will restore your faith back in us.

Rest assured when next you stay with us you would see an improvement in all facilities and service. Your feedback has also been passed on to the breakfast hostess who is very delighted and extends their appreciation.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Kind Regards,

Michelle A. Ramirez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have visited the restaurant several times and always enjoy the food. The service is impeccable, we have often been looked after by Rubin who is patient, amiable, attentive and highly professional. He is a credit to the establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for you amazing review of your last experience at the restaurant of the Crowne Plaza London Docklands hotel.

I am pleased to know that your recent experienced has been satisfactory and that you found our staff both friendly and helpful. Ruben is one of our star team and he will be happy to know that he has helped to make a positive impact during your visit.

It’s also great to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel specially our customer services

One again thanks you for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Michelle A. Ramirez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#301 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#257 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#462 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in London
#164 Family Hotel in London
#198 Business Hotel in London
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing