We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Winchester Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
46
194
207
82
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
194
207
82
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscross stationfull english breakfastreception staff areminutes walk awaycentral locationquiet streettube
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I had to attend a funeral in London and so had to book at very short notice. I found a single room on booking.com at the Howard Winchester for £55. While the room was very small, it did have a comfortable double bed and my room overlooked Argyle Square, very pleasant in the sunshine. The traditional English breakfast was everything it should be and was efficiently served. The place was clean and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the square.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wansteader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was a small friendly hotel in the King.s Cross area of London. Bed and Breakfast ensuite room with boiling water. Although the toilet facilities were in a small area they were adequate for one person. Breakfast was hot and well cooked. Plenty toast , marmalade, honey or jam.
Spotlessly clean. I got fresh towels without asking.
There was no Tea-making facilities but on request i was given a kettle to boil water. overall this was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric Stevenson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our room was in the basement which is not good since there was no window. We had to keep bathroom door open to get some air from the small window. No internet connection at all. The first day we arrived (three of us) they gave us only two towels. They said they were short on towels expecting delivery to come. We got a third towel next day. The location is very good - minutes away from St Pancras and Kings Cross. They serve traditional English breakfast which was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

From the initial booking for eighteen people, sixteen of whom were young students, to the final check out, Carmelina and the staff did everything to make our stay comfortable and trounle free.
It is easy to critisize ' budget' hotels for having small rooms, no elevators and a host of other inconveniences. Not so in this case. The rooms are big enough to sleep in and I would rather spend my money on other things than a massive room for one person. No elevator. It's not as though there are ten floors to climb. I think travelers should not expect champagne on a beer budget!!!!
Breakfast was served hot, and it was served quickly. With sixteen kids that is no mean feat.
Any question or request was answered and dealt with quickly and professionaly. More than that it was dealt with in a friendly manner by all the staff. Kudos for that.
I would and will stay there again. No complaints at all
This was a school trip wih sixteen young students from South Korea

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here with my 2 daughters for one night .Staff very helpful,,central location,,nice breakfast,,room not massive but enough room,, all in all enjoyed our stay.Should we travel to London again I would stay here again,,easy for tube and train,,,no fitness centre though so dont know why asked to review one ,,unless its because of the fitness machines in the park right opposite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecclesbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews