We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked straight out when I saw the room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Winchester Hotel
Ranked #736 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Checked straight out when I saw the room!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

OK so I know the hotel is cheap for the location, but I checked in and immediately checked out and found another hotel. It wasn't helped by the taxi driver dropping us off and telling us it used to be much more of a hotel that charged for rooms by the hour...

It was tatty and dirty, and the room was small and looked like a hostel (no mattress protector on a very thin mattress - yuck). Also the door lock got stuck.

Looks much nicer from the outside than it does on the inside. If you are used to hostels, then this may well be for you - I like a bit more comfort and cleanliness (as I said, I didn't book it and wouldn't have if I had seen these reviews - it was booked by my colleague's assistant!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    182
    195
    72
    49
See reviews for
118
134
88
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Yes its absolutely fine, it isnt anything special or anything crappy. Its a good value hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful and also the rooms are cosy, but unfortunately small. Good pricing and at a great area to roam London (Close to Kings Cross).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisOneGuyFromFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

First of all i paid £55 a night for a very small but cosy single room. The location in Kings Cross is not my favourite but i was at a conference only 2 minutes walk away so it was good for that. The tube and mainline stations are 2 minutes walk, plenty of bars and cheap places to eat around the hotel, go down the side streets off Euston Road to find good local pubs and food.

The hotel itself well the staff are all friendly a good english breakfast is served and you get a TV in your room, there is noise from other rooms as the hotel is old and the stairs and piping creak but for the price in London you wont find a friendlier cosy little hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are small and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
Thank bonzo1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

A great value hotel. Friendly and efficient check in and check out, a great full english breakfast (best i have had for a long time) and a great location.

Whisly the room was small and not particularly modern the bed was surprisingly comfortable. I had a good nights sleep and did not hear any noise

Again the en suite shower room in miniscule but did the job efficiently

I paid £55 for a single room via Bookings.com and consider this excellent value for money.

Very close to Kings Cross station this a good place for a budget night in London

I will certainly stay again

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Howard Winchester s a very convenient hotel to stay between trips being quite close to KingsCross/St Pancras Station.
Extremely nice people at the reception (husband and wife), good breakfast, quiet neighbourhood. It is just 100 yards inside Congestion Charge Zone, so you can park outside the zone near KingCross.
Small rooms but clean, Good Wi Fi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicu_moraru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maierhoefen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

People at the reception of the hotel are very nice and helpful.

Unfriendly in the breakfast room. 3 Minutes after 09:00 we were told in a very rude tone to leave the breakfast room. I didn't go back for breakfast and preferred Mc-Donalds around the corner.
Bathrooms are not well equipped: No Soap holders.
Rooms are badly soundproofed. Matrasses are saggy.
You need:
- earplugs to sleep in this hotel

Room Tip: room N° 5 was ok despite the matrasses and the soap holder
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was one of the best hotels I have ever been to. First of all, it's a 2min walk to Kings Cross and St Pancras Station, so you should never miss a train.

Inside, it is very clean, nice rooms, and they do extremely nice breakfast. You can go for breakfast from 07:30 - 09:00. I slept in the three-bedded room - in the basement. Even in there it was nice. The beds were comfy and everything.

They even let us leave our bags at the hotel while we did sightseeing around London. I would definetly recommend this to a friend.

Room Tip: In basement you can hearpeople stamping on floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#562 of 1,068 in London
909 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#538 of 1,068 in London
964 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#802 of 1,068 in London
433 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#948 of 1,068 in London
285 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,068 in London
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Winchester Hotel

Property: Howard Winchester Hotel
Address: 9 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #736 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Winchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Winchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Winchester London
Hotel Howard Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing