We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel that nearly ruined our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lynton Hotel London
Ranked #42 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Köln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel that nearly ruined our holiday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

I definitely do NOT recommend this "hotel"! I believed all these good recommendations here and in their netsides and booked a room for 3 nighs. That was a big mistake which ruined my fist day in London.

Yes, so it was so awfully terrible that I could stay only one night (even we had to pay for a two nights) and change the hotel. In their webpage hotel promeses guietness, cleanliness and friendliness. Well i didnt get any of that. First, when we arrived, we werent sure if this is a hotel at all: there were no reseption, no one there to expect us. Then after waiting a while we got some worker to give us keys.

Hallway looked allready dupious plase. It looked messy and stinked like a paint. Whent we opened our room door, it was ok at first. Exept that they had left window open and it was fresking cold in there. I guess they didnt have any other airconditionsystem there. It didnt get much warmer after closing the window eather. It was the most terrible and coldest night in hotel, i've ever slept in! And i have experienced many hotels. And they all were cheaper that this one. Actually, i dont understand how this place can call itself a hotel. Hostel would be better.

Our "bathroom" was another thing that cant be called as a bathroom. There was just one big plasticbox in a corner of the room, that was put there afterwards. There were a toilet and a shower in about 1m2 area, so basically no room to move at all. It looked like the one you can see in boatcabins.

When went to sleep i noticed the roof where the painting which did not look so cosy anymore. Then the beds were oful asswell; my bed consisted of two old piled mattresses and sheet put on to make it look nicer. Allso noices from upstairs when someone flushed the toilet were horrible. It wasn't just the flush, but somekind of loud noice after flushing. Sounded like million rats were running around or something... (not really but sounded like that ;) ) But the coldness were the worst!

There was just one man to take care of the whole place, and could be seen. Like all many of the writers here i didnt get good impession about him. I have done customer servise work for a 6 yers now, i dont think this man knew mutch about it. He was maybe too laid back, so that he seemed to be careless. Sense of humour is a good thing but you cant treat customers like your friends. Also was he very curious and talkative that ii allready started to feel like he is trying to cover all the failings in his hotel. And he stopped to be friendly right after i told that we gonna stay only this one night. Im not gonna write his sentences here but just mention that I felt myself hurt of what he said to me.

I regret that i didnt take pictures to show you. I could recommend this hotel to someone who doesnt care about things i mentioned below. Maybe this place would be ok in a summer, but they have obviouskly not invested on customers who visit London in winter. Still, i dont think this is worth of 90£ as i got a lovely room a Lime Tree Hotel for 105£. They made our holyday there and we are very thankfull to the nice and friendly staff there... without speaking the lovely and WARM room. I can't recommend Lime Tree hotel enough!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piadimuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markconnor, owner/ manager at Lynton Hotel London, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
I was sad to read the comments regarding our B&B and would like to re-iterate as stated on our web site that we are a small and friendly bed and breakfast located in central London . We provide clean no frills accommodation .The rooms are simple and clean. We provide tea, coffee, towels, soap , free Wi-Fi and a fully cooked hearty English Breakfast ,Our en-suites are very small ( as shown in the gallery on our web site )– we do not provide shampoo, or other toiletries or bathrobes as the guest suggested all B&Bs in London do .
I would also like to clarify some of points made as follows :1/The guests arrived at 11.30 am and departed from the hotel by 6.00pm that afternoon - they did not spend the night .2/ A decorator did open the door because he was working beside it .I myself gave the couple the keys and carried their bags to the room on the third floor, answered and any questions , apologised for the fact that we were decorating the hall way, gave them the security code to the Wi-Fi and asked if I could help in any way .3/ A little later the client told me he could not log on to the internet. I suggested he check that he had disabled some functions and then to turn his laptop on and off .After a short while I went to his room and asked if all was ok . He said that the internet was working but the heating was not .I looked at the fire and showed them how to switch the heater on .The heating in room 11 is an electrical panel heater with a thermostat which is under the sole control of the guest and heats the room concerned very quickly. 4/ The gentleman came down again and said the hairdryer was not working , I took it from him and checked that it worked -he had not realised that you had to switch the switch on the wall socket I joked with him about this ,unfortunately he was not amused with my banter . 5/ The building is old and full of noises however there are no bathrooms above the room he stayed in and no one has ever mentioned any thing about it in the pass. In some of the lower rooms you can sometimes hear a toilet being flushed 6/ We do not compete with the Limetree Hotel whose prices are around 35%+ more than ours but we do use the same laundry7/ I did charge the guest for two nights ; the reason being that just before he told me he was leaving he stood in the hallway ,whilst I told a regular guest whose luggage I had been looking after that we were full for the next three nights . The customer could of said he was leaving at that moment and I could of then re-let the room and only charged for cleaning of the room ;regrettably the room did stay empty for the next two nights .
This business is my living I believe in the saying “treat people how you expect to be treated yourself“. I have been running the B&B for 10 years ,prior to that I was a civil engineer/ construction engineer for 16 years and for a small period time a London cab driver so I do believe I do know how to be good with people ;my whole working life has involved working with people not just 6 years .
I do appreciate any comments good or bad , for example I do know explain how the heater works in all rooms .
Regards Mark Connor –Owner /manager –Lynton Hotel London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    144
    16
    13
    8
See reviews for
72
112
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

It's a great value for money as London hotels are all so expensive.

Owners are very friendly n chatty, makes our stay very enjoyable. Breakfast is good and serving generous and give you a great start to tour around london the whole day.

Our room is on the 3rd level, no stairs but we were warned beforehand so it's not a problem. But for those with really big and heavy lugguages you might want to request for a lower floor room as the stairs can be difficult with big heavy luggages.

Room size is fine but toilet is a little small (but we were warned before as well) so not a big problem too...Internet is free and we can access it without problem from our rooms.

Location is just about 5 mins from victoria station, very convenient as we arrive in from Manchester by train and leave from Gatwick airport. There is an express train from the Victoria station to Gatwick which takes only 30mins.

All in all, it's a no frills place with great value for money. If you are on a budget this is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan0991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alidiacquarello
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

My mother and I stayed here while traveling before my study abroad term in Canterbury. This place is wonderful. The gentleman who handled our accommodation, Simon, was friendly, courteous, and full of humorous personality. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He was quite knowledgeable, answering any and all of our questions and advising us the best restaurants and pubs in the area to go to. Staying at Lynton Hotel has the feel of staying at a friend's house rather than a hotel. Did I mention that Simon cooks up a mean breakfast? It was my first experience with a traditional English breakfast, and to this day I still compare all other breakfasts to his. I only met Mark, Simon's brother, briefly, but from what I hear, his breakfasts are just as delicious and filling. Thanks for a great stay, guys!! I will definitely look them up next time I'm in London, and you should too.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alidiacquarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Had a really lovely 4night stay with a friend at the Lynton. The location is excellent and like said in other reviews, close to Victoria station where you can catch a tube easily to anywhere in London. The area was nice, quiet and safe and a walking distance from e.g. Buckingham Palace, Big Ben.

Owners were very friendly - Only saw Simon the day we arrived but Mark helped us with anything we asked and believe me, we had A LOT of questions ;)

The hotel is little worn but we expected that and for us it just added to the charm. Room was clean and spacious. It had the little pod bathroom that some people hate, but since all me and my friend wanted was an affordable, comfortable, clean room with ensuite, we found it served the purpose just fine.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to a friend and will be back myself given the chance. It's an old english period building with a lot of stairs so it's obviously not for everyone but we loved it. It's REALLY hard to find an affordable and clean hotel in London if you're on a budget - believe me, I spent the entire summer looking - so the Lynton was really a great find!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutrunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Maybe my expectations were too high. I read reviews of the Lynton Hotel on TA but I guess I was expecting simple and cheap like a 1980s Comfort Inn. I was disappointed when we walked in. London is expensive so we opted to economize, but you get what you pay for. Next time, I'll spend more money for a nicer hotel.

The goods: easily accessible and only a 5 min. walk from Victoria Station; relatively quiet side street thus little street noise (esp. if you request a quiet room on the back side of the hotel); friendly and helpful owners, good location for walking to Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, and local parks; full English breakfast incld. with the room; basic but clean rooms.

The not-so-greats: "bathroom in a box" concept so small you take a shower & use the toilet at the same time; worn-out twin bed furnishings and cheap scratchy towels; torn carpet in the hallways with duct tape holding it together; no A/C or fan for ventilation thus the window must be open all night.

If all you seek is a cheap basic twin-bedded room with a bathroom and no amenities, the Lynton will do. However, it would have been nice to have a few things like some shampoo and hairdryer so I wouldn't have to pack those on the plane, a bathroom large enough to stand in, and a bed that could fit both me and my husband. I felt like I was back in my old college dorm room that was built in the 1890s.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

I agree with the positive reviews found here. I was visiting from the USA and was at the Lynton Hotel for a weekend in July 2009. I found it to be in a great location, with spacious and clean rooms. Mark and Simon are wonderful… very helpful and friendly. Future trips to England will find me at the Lynton when I stop in London.
Chuck

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

I stayed with Simon and Mark at The Lynton Hotel from April 9th through April 23rd 2009. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I will not hesitate in going back there when I return to London. I was traveling by myself and both Simon and Mark went out of their way to make me feel at home and safe. If you have any questions about where to go, what to do or how to get there...Simon and Mark are the "go to" guys for that.

The breakfasts they serve are the best! It's your full English breakfast which contains the best bacon in London in my humble opinion. The location of The Lynton is incredible...Victoria station is less than five minutes walking away and you can get the bus, tube, train or coach from there and end up pretty much anywhere you want to go, in London or outside of. I spent most of my time sight-seeing on the cheap from the brilliant bus service (thanks to Mark who has a spooky knowledge of which bus goes where...).

All in all...it's a really CLEAN, really FRIENDLY, really WELL-SITUATED b&b that meets all the needs a real person could have on their travels. It's basic but comfortable, cheap but not cheesy and did I mention the bacon???

Thanks Simon, Thanks Mark...I'll be back :)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londongirlie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#644 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#447 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Belgravia
B&B Belgravia
B&B Belgravia
#102 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#13 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Hotel London

Property: Lynton Hotel London
Address: 113 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lynton B&B Hotel is a small friendly centrally positioned bed and breakfast in the centre of London, sandwiched between the areas of Belgravia, Westminster (home to the Houses of Parliament ) and Pimilico, a very safe neighbourhood. The West End, Soho, Vauxhall Cross area, Oxford Street with its shops and most of London’s tourist attractions are all nearby. Within our vicinity you will find pubs, restaurants, supermarkets, post office and ATMs just to make your stay easier. The location is also a transport hub with Victoria offering the underground, main line trains, and coaches and of course is a terminus for many of London’s famous red buses. Gatwick Airport is just 35 minutes away with the Gatwick express and all of London’s major airports can be reached by coach or tube. We offer basic amenities; our rooms are simple, small and clean. Most rooms have small en-suite facilities, safes and a few rooms share facilities on the staircase. Each room has digital television just in case you become bored with visiting all that London has to offer, kettle, tea and coffee and we can provide hairdryers and irons on request. We also serve a full English breakfast and offer free WIFI. The hotel is run by me and my brother Simon, both born within 10 minutes from our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lynton Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing