We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get What You Pay For”
Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #690 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the first time we stayed in this hotel.
It'slocation for both Earls Court and the Tube is great.
Its quite a nice quirky place, considering we didnt pay London prices £65 for a double room with continental breakfast!
Yes the room was a bit on the small side but it was clean and tidy and had all the things you expect to find and the bed was comfy.
The ensuite was compact but again clean and tidy with fresh towels and an asortment of shower products.

Staff were pleasent and courteous and not in your face which was really nice.

The Continental Breakfast was really good, aranged on a serve yourself basis with tea, coffee, juices, toast, rolls and croissant, cereal, fruit, ham, cheese and even some salad which made a refreshing change.

Check out was friendly and like I noted earlier you get what you pay for which suited us fine!

Room Tip: Book direct with the Hotel a lot of the time its cheaper regardless of what 'the internet and TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food4thoughtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

I went to London for a weekend trip with three of my girlfriends, and after reading good reviews, comparing prices, and researching the location, we decided to stay at the Mayflower Hotel. The outside of the building is very pretty as is the check in desk and lounge area. We were shocked when we opened the door to our room to see a tiny room with what they called a double bed made into a bunkbed. We were fine with having a bunkbed, but the "double" bed was barely bigger than a twin bed that had to be shared between two women. We were expecting two double beds like the pictures shown online. Overall, the room was not desirable at all, especially because of paper thin walls. We woke up throughout the night because of loud noises above us. We found out later it was a water pump, but the front desk personnel basically took it as a joke. Luckily we didn't hear any noises the second night.

On the other hand, the location was good--just around the corner from the underground tube and within walking distance of many restaurants (recommendation: Gourmet Burger Kitchen)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferNila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I'd stayed here 3 times in quick succession before on a work trip and on the 3rd trip I finally got the room type right (executive double ensuite @ GBP129/night incl breakfast). The previous 2 rooms were so small you could almost not move in them, let alone open a suitcase - and I was alone! This time I was with my husband and we got the same room - spacious with big windows that open high up over the street and a modern (if weird - who invents such crazy taps?!) bathroom that's a sort of 'glass box ensuite' on the right hand side of the room. The desk staff are friendly and and quite helpful and the location (a few minutes' walk from the Earls Court tube which is on the District, Circle & Piccadilly Lines) is very handy. The basement breakfast can be a little noisy and crowded but it's good value and pretty good quality. The worst thing about the hotel is that the lift is TINY and super slow, and the hallways are a narrow maze. I found it too easy to get lost and not know which way to go.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

It was a truly nigthmare. Only after 2 days of insistent requests, the manager decided refund us the rest of the daily rates, that was paid in full at check in (as they demand us). Problems with filth, bad service... Never ever again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdntstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This hotel is in a convenient position just 2 minutes walk to Earls Court Tube Station. They have attractive Indonesian/Chinese artifacts dotted around. Breakfast was included and was well presented. A double room on the 4th floor was, however, the smallest hotel room I have ever been given in London. You couldn't swing a mouse let alone a cat in it. The bed was against the wall and there was about 6 inches of floor to the wall. The bathroom, though well appointed in marble, was equally tiny.

They failed in my eyes by a rigid adherence to their 11.00 am check out (despite only checking in at 8.15pm) telling me they would charge an extra GBP10 to stay till mid day.

At least the WIFI worked and was free.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I recently stayed here whilst on business. Excellent location, excellent facilities, helpful staff, good breakfast, and an absolute bargain. Very clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is right above Earls Court tube station, so I'm guessing some rooms might be a little noisy, especially in the basement. I was on the ground floor and had no problems at all. The location is great, 2mins from Earls Court station and all of the surrounding shops/eateries. It's a nice area to walk around on an evening, and only 10-15 mins walk from Kensington.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed here as we were organising an event at Earls Court - It's in an excellent location and takes about 5 minutes to walk there. The staff were very courteous throughout our stay.

The room (Room 1) and bathroom was a good size and very clean. The breakfast was good, and you can pay a little extra for hot food.

All in all a perfectly good hotel for business travel. I would recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwasthere07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#436 of 1,081 in London
438 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#734 of 1,081 in London
772 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#744 of 1,081 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#606 of 1,081 in London
787 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#592 of 1,081 in London
764 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#564 of 1,081 in London
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Address: 26-28 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#382 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £57 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 4-Star townhouse hotel in Earl's Court decorated and furnished in a distinctive 'East meets West' style, featuring 48 bedrooms. The Mayflower Hotel has provided guests with superlative accommodation and guest service for over 20 years. What makes us unique, however, is that we offer guests the chance to experience an independent, family business with a passion for interior design and sustainability. All rooms are decorated in our trademark East-meets-West style and with classic antique furniture - each room is individually decorated! Furthermore, the Mayflower Hotel will be completely sustainable by 2016 and we are already working hard with a bespoke sustainability consultant. The Mayflower will promote healthiness and wellbeing through a range of amenities, most immediate of which will be our organic juice and smoothie bar that will provide a stylish hangout for guests and locals alike. The Mayflower Hotel is ideal for guests looking for a personalised hotel experience and who would like to visit an idyllic part of London that is frequently reserved for locals only! We also aim to inspire our guests through the intermingling of our Eastern design, values, and range of new features to offer a delightful, warm, and detoxing place to stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel And Apartments
Mayflower Hotel Apartments
Mayflower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing