We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not relaxing! Tiny.”
Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #695 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not relaxing! Tiny.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We've stayed in London a number of times and we like to see and stay in different locations. This was for my husbands birthday and we were disappointed! On entering we thought it looked at nice place, but given the tiny basement room changed our minds. Asking if there were any other rooms, I was told a SUPERIOR for an extra £25. Not value for money, as it was slightly bigger and the bed was exactly the same. Yes, you only sleep there, but it was hard for us to both get ready to go out. Sleeping was tiring too, as we were scared that we'd hit one another. No toiletries like they say. Sorry, there was a little tablet of soap. Breakfast is a squeeze and busy. It's the start of your day and it's not a nice one. Full English was extra and quite a bit extra. I just think, listen to the reviews a little more. It's not a four star. We won't be staying again, sorry. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. So that's something! Website and professional photos extremely misleading!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    305
    220
    142
    166
See reviews for
157
371
63
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Mayflower hotel while the Christmas Ideal home show was on to which we where visiting. The hotel is less than a five minute walk from both Earls Court tube station and Earls Court exhibition centre so making it an ideal place to stay. The hotel was excellent value for money and the service provided by the staff was exceptional.We had forgotten our show tickets and they kindly allowed us to use the computer to reprint them free of charge. The Hotel staff where always polite and very helpful. Our room was number 35 on the third floor at the back of the hotel, we could see Earls court tube station from our window but the noise from it didn't bother us.it was only slightly noticeable and not at all during the night. There was two double beds in our room a large wardrobe, desk, tv and radio. the bathroom was a good size and always kept clean with a fresh supply of fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. The only negative was that the shower head wasn't detachable but thats only my personal preference.There is a ceiling fan in the room so no air con for those who need it. The hotel has a small lift so if your room is on a higher floor there is no need to carry cases up stairs. The breakfast was great with a selection of cereals,bread meat cheeses fruit and yoghurt, tea coffee and juice. However a full english was available for a small cost. There are a good selection of shops and restaurants nearby so you don't have to go far if you don't want to. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have no doubt that we will be visiting again.Thank you

Room Tip: Probably choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileybongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The smallest rooms ever, hygiene very poor and staff were rude and unhelpful. I would not reccommend this place to anyone and certainly would not describe it as a hotel Website is very misleading but full marks to their photographer for their angles and lighting on the photos!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGuide2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

my experience with this hotel was very good I reached there at 9 am & was given a room by 11.30 am check in time is 2 pm, they went out their way to accommodate me, the staff Mr. Faisal & Ms Yolanda I guess a pretty white girl & their housekeeping was good kept the room clean, & breakfast even though they had continental was professional manged I will stay& recommend this hotel to all my friends & family - Azim Shroff - Mumbai

Room Tip: choose rooms on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzimS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was the smallest room I've ever stayed at. I have stayed in a standard single room (room 45) and it was like 2m x 3,5m plus a 1m x 1m bathroom. For me to have the suitcase opened I had to seat on the bed, not possible to pass to the bathroom without closing it. No air conditioning at all, and TV not always functioning properly. For you to watch some TV only laying on the bed, as it was just on the ceiling above.
Very noisy, hearing all doors and fire doors opening and closing as well as tubs from the rooms close by.
Also, the corridors and lift were the narrowest possible, lift was hard to fit one person.
Breakfast was up to a 2 star hotel standard. Can't be called "continental breakfast" as described nowhere in the world.
The only positive aspect was the location, a couple of minutes walking from Earls Court station.
Definitely would not recommend to anyone, this is a 2 star hotel, not 4 star!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

this must be the smallest double room on record! honestly one person had to stay in bed for the other to walk. im sure there are rooms larger than this in the hotel but please dont be misled by the photographs on display.
The staff were lovely and things were clean but not for the claustrophobic!

Room Tip: do not choose the standard double! perhaps the rooms with four poster beds or luxury room as picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed one night last weekend and cannot fault the hotel at the price charged. Very convenient to Tube. Hotel has numerous attractive wooden hangings and all public areas were very clean. Staff very efficient and friendly. Large bed occupied most of the room but everything was spotless and all equipment worked. Bathroom more like a wet room with modern fittings, toiletries and a very efficient shower. It was a warm evening and we left the window open but noise from street on a Sunday was minimal and did not bother us but we are good sleepers! Continental breakfast was excellent with generous selection of juices, fruit, cereals, breads, cheeses and even tomato and cucumber. In view of our experience we found it hard to understand some of the previous poor reviews given to the hotel as we can be hard to please.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#850 of 1,068 in London
724 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#725 of 1,068 in London
421 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#405 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#573 of 1,068 in London
730 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#510 of 1,068 in London
1,017 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#580 of 1,068 in London
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Property: Mayflower Hotel
Address: 26-28 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#379 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 4-Star townhouse hotel in Earl's Court decorated and furnished in a distinctive 'East meets West' style, featuring 48 bedrooms. The Mayflower Hotel has provided guests with superlative accommodation and guest service for over 20 years. What makes us unique, however, is that we offer guests the chance to experience an independent, family business with a passion for interior design and sustainability. All rooms are decorated in our trademark East-meets-West style and with classic antique furniture - each room is individually decorated! Furthermore, the Mayflower Hotel will be completely sustainable by 2016 and we are already working hard with a bespoke sustainability consultant. The Mayflower will promote healthiness and wellbeing through a range of amenities, most immediate of which will be our organic juice and smoothie bar that will provide a stylish hangout for guests and locals alike. The Mayflower Hotel is ideal for guests looking for a personalised hotel experience and who would like to visit an idyllic part of London that is frequently reserved for locals only! We also aim to inspire our guests through the intermingling of our Eastern design, values, and range of new features to offer a delightful, warm, and detoxing place to stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel And Apartments
Mayflower Hotel Apartments
Mayflower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing