We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #683 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I stayed in a luxury suite double room which was found on Laterooms.com at the last minute for a bargain price. We were very impressed with the size of the room, and it was decorated beautifully. I found the stunning roll top bath to be unusable though due the large sharp cracks which practically covered the whole base. All other facilities were great. The hotel was nice and quiet and we were allowed to store our luggage there for the day when we'd checked out, so we could explore London without carrying so many bags. The hotel is literally a couple of minutes walk from the tube which is very handy. There are also plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. On arrival staff were friendly, but we had to find our way to the room ourselves which was tricky given the odd layout of the hotel. Would have been nice to have been taken to our room.

We were disappointed with the breakfast. At the time of booking it stated breakfast was included with our stay, showing an image of a full English. However, on arrival, we discovered that only a continental breakfast was included in the room price and a full English would be an additional cost and rather expensive at that! Breakfast was mediocre with limited choices and staff were neither friendly nor helpful.

Room Tip: The luxury suite was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Emma_B11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Dunno what it is about our nations capital that turns me off. Maybe it's the expense, or maybe it's the cramped conditions or perhaps just the fact that everything is just that little bit more cramped, a little bit worse than, just not enough of it. 'It' being pretty much everything.

The Mayflower is a perfect example. It's a basic hotel, but the room we were allocated was just a little bit too small, the bathroom just too cramped, the dining room just too crowded, the breakfast just too boring. Everything cheap and just about acceptable. Is that what you want?

Look, to show you what I mean I took a photo fo the bathroom: That really is an A4 piece of paper on the floor. It's a magazine with KickAss on the front.

The breakfast is continental for which you can read cheap on crowded tables with no room. It's croissant and tinned fruit. No nice cold meats, no nice fresh fruit, nothing of any interest. Isn't England famous for the full English? At the Mayflower you'll need to settle for the half french no coffee or chocolate.

It's near the tube and not ruinously expensive but when you've said that you've said it all and that's not really what you want is it?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisher39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just spent 3 comfortable nights here. Room was very small, but clean and quiet, in a lovely neighborhood, easy walk to interesting places. From here, you can walk to the Troubadour, where Bob Dylan and Adele have performed, and toward the center of the city, where you find Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, and spectacular museums. I'd gladly return!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with large people who won't comfortably share a queen bed, ask for a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel. Nice decor, lovely shower and bed in a good location. Especially for Earls Court with both tube and exhibition. Probably 4 star standard, but a bit more homely than the chains. Good value for money!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank markfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Friendly staff, good location and value for money but a bit noisy due to train station at the rear of hotel. There was also noise from other guests banging doors but that's not really the hotels fault. Breakfast was good considering it was included in what was already a competitive price. We had a family room which was compact but acceptable.
Clean and great shower!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed for this hotel for the 1st night. It was okay.
The hotel is behind the Earl's Court underground station, so that once you find the place it is a convenient place to stay. Since it is VERY close to the underground running, you can hear the sound of the trains from 5AM to midnight. Some people might have hard time to sleep.
The hotel does not use the card key. My room was very hard to open with a key.
The breakfast was decent. The room was warm enough to escape from the coldness of outside. The shower was nice & warm. I reserved this hotel in a last minute, but the price was okay for the last minute deal because other hotels were extremely expensive.

Room Tip: If you are a hard sleeper, you might mind the sound of underground trains at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicaecr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The mayflower Hotel and Apartments was great for our trip to Earls Court for the Military Tournament, just around the corner! it was a very pleasant hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The standard double rooms were on the small size, but were clean an nicely decorated. We would recommend it for a short break in London, it's fairly central for everything.
Tony and Helen Altass

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#843 of 1,076 in London
740 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#592 of 1,076 in London
465 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#384 of 1,076 in London
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#717 of 1,076 in London
432 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#574 of 1,076 in London
744 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#648 of 1,076 in London
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Address: 26-28 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#377 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £65 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 4-Star townhouse hotel in Earl's Court decorated and furnished in a distinctive 'East meets West' style, featuring 48 bedrooms. The Mayflower Hotel has provided guests with superlative accommodation and guest service for over 20 years. What makes us unique, however, is that we offer guests the chance to experience an independent, family business with a passion for interior design and sustainability. All rooms are decorated in our trademark East-meets-West style and with classic antique furniture - each room is individually decorated! Furthermore, the Mayflower Hotel will be completely sustainable by 2016 and we are already working hard with a bespoke sustainability consultant. The Mayflower will promote healthiness and wellbeing through a range of amenities, most immediate of which will be our organic juice and smoothie bar that will provide a stylish hangout for guests and locals alike. The Mayflower Hotel is ideal for guests looking for a personalised hotel experience and who would like to visit an idyllic part of London that is frequently reserved for locals only! We also aim to inspire our guests through the intermingling of our Eastern design, values, and range of new features to offer a delightful, warm, and detoxing place to stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel And Apartments
Mayflower Hotel Apartments
Mayflower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing