We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgraceful, rude staff dirty and smelly and don't book parking!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #653 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgraceful, rude staff dirty and smelly and don't book parking!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Well not sure where to start but anyway here goes. We booked through Booking.com where we were to pay on departure but the hotel charged our card before we even got there , when we arrived at reception we asked where the carpark was and was told very rudely it was around the corner and that someone would take us!! That's when we started to worry! We paid £30 to park from 2pm until 9.00 the next day! Well the carpark was not around the corner it was 4 street away in someone's back garden big enough for 3 cars snugly fitted. When I ask why it was not stated on their website that the parking was off site they couldn't answer me !!! We were shown our room it was suppose to be a suite but it was more like a apartment in Benidorm :( and it was flirty and it smelt of smoke, a member of staff had very clearly been living in it. The lift was being used and it was un safe. The staff did not speak a word of English or that may have just been for our convenience!!! I have never stayed in a hotel like it Disgraceful and rotten, our room did not even have a number on the door but we were told it was room 55 if there had been a fire we would have burnt alive because we would not have been found!!! Well breakfast was non existent ! Cereal and some very old dried meat and burger cheese slices cut in half we didn't hang around for it . DON'T BOOK OR STAY AT THIS HOTEL.............RANK SMELLY DIRTY AND RUDE STAFF THAT DON'T GIVE A DAME BECAUSE THEY HAVE ALREADY TOOK YOUR MONEY,,,,,!!!!!!!!! OH AND I MUSTN'T FORGET THE TRAINS! THEY SHAKE THE HOTEL ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    304
    213
    139
    161
See reviews for
154
362
62
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancee wantes to stay somewhere in london, as part of a birthday present to go with her JT Concert at the o2.we thought this was ideal.i am so angry still and we are on our way home now but there was thick dust on ledges, door frames, the tap was manky!, some furniture was loose and broken in the bathroom, the four poster frame from the bed you could wobble the structure with your little finger.also, there was I think a 12 bulb chandelier with only four bulbs working, the fan they supplied was cracked. The. Male manager of the time that served us refused to give us a refund and his attitude towards us stinks! He should not be working there at all.to all you people looking at this hotel, you are all entitled to your opinion but for godsake think wiselyrrad all the true reviews and pictures.i promise you, the reviews like mine are all 100% TRUE.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank utdfan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had booked this room through a room bookings website and had requested a quiet room. I suppose in hindsight it might have been better to check with the hotel first, but I have to say my heart sank when I found myself in the basement in the bedroom nearest the breakfast room. The noise from the tube trains rumbling in and out of Earls Court until the wee hours and starting again at 5am was not what I wanted. Also the staff were noisy getting breakfast ready - lots of clattering around with glasses and crockery before 7am on the first morning, but I was already awake because of the underground.

I did go up and complain at reception immediately about the breakfast preparation noise and asked to be moved but was told the hotel was full in a fairly brusque manner. I was told that the staff would be asked to be quieter the next morning, and this happened, but I had to ask, which isn't something you should have to do in a boutique hotel. I also said about the underground noise and was told that it was to be expected as the hotel was near a tube station. But I suppose if I'd been upstairs rather than in the basement it might have been better, but I didn't get chance to find out as I got the brush off.

Very ordinary continental breakfast, didn't strike me as four star, but as I was hungry and tired it was adequate. And the tube rumbling was audible throughout breakfast so that put me on edge.

The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was tiny, I should have brought my own shampoo and shower gel as the only complimentary toiletry was a small bar of soap.

Sorry, Mayflower, won't be back again...

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end up with a basement room to avoid the rumbling noise from the underground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel was clean and the continental breakfast was sufficient for myself other people in my party paid the extra cost for a cooked breakfast, people are right the rooms are very small my room was a double room but felt that it was ok for me on my own but with two people it would fee overcrowded, great location though and modern decor throughout, we paid £79 a night which is very good for where the hotel is located

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snare1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The room I have stayed in this hotel is probably the smallest ever. Strangely one does not feel claustrophobic in there, despite the shock one has after opening the door. Ultra compact, so it is the kind of place you only go to rest and have breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms here for our group of four.Both were very clean but tiny- barely 2 feet to move between the bed & wall. There was no way for 2 people to move about the room at one time. The bathrooms were clean & modern but also very small. In one you could literally sit on the toilet & brush your teeth in the sink at the same time. A large person would have a hard time even fitting in the bathroom. The location is convenient to restaurants, grocery, & Earls Court tube, but one of our rooms faced the rear of the building over looking the station & despite being on top (4th) floor, the noise from trains could be heard until 1AM & then repair work on the tracks started at 2AM. Closing the window helped but the small rooms got warm even in spring weather. On a positive note, the staff were polite & helpful.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belmarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Warning - the first thing they will try to do is "upgrade you to an apartment." The hotel is dark and dirty. The rooms are shabby and small. Any attempt to ask for clean sheets will be met with complete confusion.

Room Tip: Get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBG747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#553 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#838 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#546 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#445 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#282 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Property: Mayflower Hotel
Address: 26-28 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#369 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 4-Star townhouse hotel in Earl's Court decorated and furnished in a distinctive 'East meets West' style, featuring 48 bedrooms. The Mayflower Hotel has provided guests with superlative accommodation and guest service for over 20 years. What makes us unique, however, is that we offer guests the chance to experience an independent, family business with a passion for interior design and sustainability. All rooms are decorated in our trademark East-meets-West style and with classic antique furniture - each room is individually decorated! Furthermore, the Mayflower Hotel will be completely sustainable by 2016 and we are already working hard with a bespoke sustainability consultant. The Mayflower will promote healthiness and wellbeing through a range of amenities, most immediate of which will be our organic juice and smoothie bar that will provide a stylish hangout for guests and locals alike. The Mayflower Hotel is ideal for guests looking for a personalised hotel experience and who would like to visit an idyllic part of London that is frequently reserved for locals only! We also aim to inspire our guests through the intermingling of our Eastern design, values, and range of new features to offer a delightful, warm, and detoxing place to stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel And Apartments
Mayflower Hotel Apartments
Mayflower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing