We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel to stay”
Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #699 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's located close to the metro station, so it's easy to travel around.
The reception staff isn't really friendly, they mixed up my booking and were not very nice when resolving it. But luckily they gave me a nice room after that.
The room was spacious and had a nice view over the garden. Breakfast was simple but sufficient.
Overall an average hotel.

Room Tip: Get a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you want backpacker service at five star prices, this is for you. We came across this hotel on trivago as last minute accommodation in London as part of our honeymoon. We reserved a standard double room for £500 which looked amazing on the website.
We got there and were treated like convicts upon check in, got upstairs and found we were staying in what was probably a broom closet at on stage.
The double bed stretches from wall to wall with only some room on the side which we had to use for our bags. The room has no facilities except a noisy fan which is one screw off flying off the ceiling. We asked to change rooms because of it but reception didn't want to hear about it.
The room is blisteringly hot and there isn't even a fridge, I'd expect more from a caravan site. I even asked reception for a spoon to eat my yoghurt and was told to walk ten minutes down the road to m&s and get one there. Same thing when I asked for some ice in my beer.
The whole place is right next to the train station which you can hear all day and most of the night, especially if you want to have the window open, thankfully the ceiling fan is loud enough to drown out some of that sound as well as any low level conversation within the room
We also expected breakfast included in the price as indicated on the website but came down in the morning to find that only bread and croissants are available and anything cooked would cost 10 pounds extra.

Worst Stay Ever!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked through another website and were impressed with the price and pictures. However, on arrival we were very disappointed with our so called studio apartment. While it did have a small kitchen, the bedroom area was poorly designed, so there was very little space. In addition, it was a ground floor apartment on one of the busiest streets of central London. Since we could not open the windows because of this, it was very hot and stuffy. We asked to change rooms and were given a very small room on the ground floor of the main hotel. We both have bruises on our legs, as there was not enough space to move between the beds or sit on the toilet. When we complained, as this was not equivalent to our prepaid room, we were told that this was a "family room" and was more expensive than the studio. Not sure where the family would fit! Please be careful when believing the pictures!

Room Tip: Do not accept ground floor in main hotel, as breakfast guests will be outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Webspinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having stayed in the Mayflower Hotel on several occasions I was quite looking forward to staying the apartment which I had to book at the rooms in the hotel were full. However I was very disappointed. The apartments are around 5 mins away from the main hotel back on the main road. I was in the first room on the ground floor n the RHS. Although the room itself was clean enough as was the kitchen and bathroom the entrance hall to the apartment block smelled very strongly of damp and was very unpleasant.
When I arrived the fire alarm was going and although this was silence it still emitted a beep every 20 secs all night which was very annoying.
As the room was on the ground floor and on the roadside there was no way to open the window without the massive noise and dust from the road. the curtains such as they were appeared to be pinned to the wall so couldn't be opened and the wooden blinds were pretty ineffective
Over all it was really disappointing considering the high quality of the hotel
The staff were great and the breakfast was fine but I wouldn't stay in the apartments again

Room Tip: Don't choose an apartment and if you are in the appartments ask for a room at the back on a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gottal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were a family of 4 (2 children, 2 adults). We had booked a room in the main hotel, but upon arrival they gave us a free upgrade to a more spacious apartment accommodation, just a short walk away (so this review is for the apartment part of the hotel, and I cannot say anything about the rooms in the main hotel). The apartment was up a flight of steep stairs, and there is no elevator, so be warned if you are disabled. When we first arrived in the room, London was having a heat wave, and there was no air conditioning in the apartment, but once we opened some windows and turned on the electric fan, it cooled down pretty quickly. The apartment was very large, especially by London standards. There were 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, a living room (complete with ample sitting room, a table and chairs, etc.), and 2 bathrooms in the apartment. The iron and television did not work, and the water in the shower would alternate randomly from hot to cold and sometimes even turn off briefly, but we can overlook those things. The hotel accommodation was clean, spacious, and comfortable, but not luxurious, if that's what you're looking for. They provide a free basic breakfast in the main hotel each morning (apartment guests are welcome to it, too). If you'd like to do some of your own cooking in the apartment, there's a 24 hour Tesco within walking distance where you can do your grocery shopping. The area is safe, clean, and pedestrian friendly, and in the immediate area there are plenty of pubs and fast food restaurants, including a very good fish and chips shop. Although the hotel, itself, isn't centrally located for sightseeing, it's right by the Earl's Court subway (tube) stop, and you can take that and be in central London within just a few minutes. It was very easy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Caligirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very nice decor, pleasant staff and good location, not too far away from the centre and all it's attractions. Lovely little balcony to sit outside on even in one of the basement rooms. The beds were very comfortable.

Bit pricey but quite understandable given the location.

Clean on the whole but on our arrival there was a hair caught in the wrapper of an unopened bar of soap on the bathroom sink, and it wasn't a hair from someone's head...

Facilities were good but could have done with more plug sockets. Couldn't use the TV and the kettle at the same time. We were woken in the morning by the maids making a lot of noise outside the room in the basement.

Room Tip: Maids were very noisy on the basement floor first thing in the morning. Woke us up quite early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It was a total nightmare staying at that so call serviced apartment. First, those apartments are not located on Trebovir Rd, our apartment was on Warwick Rd, a very busy and noisy highway. My family spent all the 3 nights there without sleep including our 22-month old toddler. The place was extremely dirty, we couldn't even seat on the Sofa because of dust and dirt. The eating table and chairs were old, dirty and broken down. Also, the apartment was so small we could barely move in it. We also noticed a closet in the apartment that contains linens, staff waited outside every day until we leave for breakfast or go out so they enter to get linens out of the room to serve other apartments in the building. This is absolutely unbelievable!! Another reviewer mentioned this before but I didn't take note. The place looked like an old student apartment who went away and they use it to make money under the name of serviced apartment.

There are no telephone in the room, so if you don't have a working mobile phone, you need to find a public phone to even call the reception office which is located 5-7 minutes walk on Trebovir Rd. Management staffs were unreachable and were extremely rude when we finally got a hold of them. The only convenience of this place was the Earls Court tube station which is a 2 min walk. I would not recommend this place to anyone, unless you do not mind staying in backpacking style room or hostels. People in management of this place should be ashamed of themselves. We totally feel cheated!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Choongo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#799 of 1,078 in London
757 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#447 of 1,078 in London
374 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#584 of 1,078 in London
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#600 of 1,078 in London
752 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#579 of 1,078 in London
1,039 reviews
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#613 of 1,078 in London
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Address: 26-28 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#382 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £56 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 4-Star townhouse hotel in Earl's Court decorated and furnished in a distinctive 'East meets West' style, featuring 48 bedrooms. The Mayflower Hotel has provided guests with superlative accommodation and guest service for over 20 years. What makes us unique, however, is that we offer guests the chance to experience an independent, family business with a passion for interior design and sustainability. All rooms are decorated in our trademark East-meets-West style and with classic antique furniture - each room is individually decorated! Furthermore, the Mayflower Hotel will be completely sustainable by 2016 and we are already working hard with a bespoke sustainability consultant. The Mayflower will promote healthiness and wellbeing through a range of amenities, most immediate of which will be our organic juice and smoothie bar that will provide a stylish hangout for guests and locals alike. The Mayflower Hotel is ideal for guests looking for a personalised hotel experience and who would like to visit an idyllic part of London that is frequently reserved for locals only! We also aim to inspire our guests through the intermingling of our Eastern design, values, and range of new features to offer a delightful, warm, and detoxing place to stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel And Apartments
Mayflower Hotel Apartments
Mayflower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing