We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
167
270
59
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
270
59
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspimlico tube stationno elevatoryogurttop floorbreakfast is servedthird floorbreakfast roombuckingham palacestaff was very friendly and helpfulrestaurants and pubstea coffeeminute walktriple roomhighly recommend this hotelrooms are smallquiet areaconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

By no stretch of the imagination can this be called a hotel. As Alex Polizzi (the Hotel Inspector) might be prone to say, there’s a world of difference between a B&B (which is what this is) and a Hotel. In fact, ‘Hostel’ is not far from the truth either. Admittedly we got off to a bad start. When we booked the hotel through Booking.com we made it very clear that because of mobility problems (arthritis) and as the hotel has many floors but no lift (a problem identified by other users) we needed a ground floor room. Instead, and seemingly as a special favour, we were allocated a second-floor room, up four flights of stairs. Customer service seemingly does not extend to carrying luggage, whether you’re disabled or not. On that point – this hotel is not suitable for anyone disabled.

We should have been alerted as soon as we checked in really – but by that time we’d already prepaid. The check-in desk is reminiscent of a hostel check-in – and what is jokingly referred to as the lounge is smaller than most bedrooms – right in front of the check-in kiosk.

Then we’re told that breakfast finishes at 9am – and check-out is 10am. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room in the basement, so on check-out day that’s five flights of stairs – twice. Breakfast itself is a bit of a joke – continental – but not sure which continent. Tinned fruit in 2017? Again – it’s somewhat like you’d imagine a hostel dining area to be. No wonder breakfast is included. I wouldn’t bother really. As the extravaganza of a breakfast stops being available after 9am it’s probably a good idea to rest quietly in your room until 10am when you must leave. That’s unless you also have builders taking down scaffolding directly outside of your bedroom window from 8.30am until you leave at 10am. Once again, customer service does not extend to advising builders to wait until guests have checked out before they launch into banging, drilling, and shouting. Actually, all in all, that’s the problem – this hostel operates based on what’s best and convenient for the owners and the staff – certainly not for guests. And all of this for a rip-off £120!
Here’s one guest who won’t be back.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuelaLondon, Manager at Melbourne House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest
We are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We feel the comments you made are very unfair and do not tell the truth and we need to clarify your statement.
I am insulted by describing us similar to a hostel; I guess you have never stayed in one in central London.
We are a small family run hotel and we strive to give our guests a more personal atmosphere than you would get in bigger chain Hotels, that does come with a compromise as the hotel is an old victorian building and limited in space and on 6 different levels and without a lift, stairs are the only way to get to rooms but that is reflected in the price.
Our rates are very reasonable for the area £120 for a room for 2 people including breakfast and all taxes, this is central London, we are 20 minutes from Buckingham palace, big ben and the houses of parliament. Running a business in central London is very expensive, not just do you get a breakfast you also have a room for 24 hours with clean sheets that we pay for. The online agent also takes a very hefty slice of the room rate. Staff also have to be payed and taxes such as rates and vat not to mention heating, hot water, cleaning material and much much more, the list is endless. If you think the room rate is a rip off, you should get out more and live in the real world.
Our value for money is very good as previous reviews have proved.
The customer service we provide is an excellent one as we always strive to help our guests for whatever queries they might have, for example if they need to print any documents or boarding passes it is printed for free, take time to have a chat or book activities, help them book a cab.

Our male receptionist always offer help with Luggage. This was offered to you but you declined. As you may recall we also offered to change you to a ground floor double room but you insisted on a twin which was on the second floor, no other twins are below.
Our rooms are clean and the Breakfast is NOT just tinned fruit, we also offer fresh fruit like bananas and apples. Our breakfast includes a variety of meats, cheeses and eggs. Our hot croissants and pancakes are a favourite of many of our guests. We also offer Yogurts, cake, cereals, a selection of toast including brown seeded bread. We serve tinned fruit as it goes well with our yogurts and a lot of people like the combination.
It is true we did have the exterior of the building painted and the scaffolding was taken down on your departure but they started at 10 am which was at a reasonable time.
Unfortunately it is people like you which cause demise to small family businesses. Your review is very one sided and hateful, which we feel is not deserved which your review history on TripAdvisor confirms this.

It will come as no surprise to you that we certainly will not welcome you here again, I sure where ever you visit next, you will find something to complain and moan about by expecting 5 star accommodation at cheap budget prices.

Kind Regards
John Desira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This was our 4th stay at the Melbourne House Hotel. John, the owner, is wonderful to work with and makes us feel like we are visiting family! We find the location to be very convenient for our flights in/out of Heathrow and Gatwick, since it is a short walk from the Victoria Train and Bus Stations. The front door is always locked, and we feel safe and cozy inside. We are always greeted with a smile, and have received help over email before our trip. The rooms are small, but it is London. The wifi works very well on all floors. The rooms at the back have a nice garden view and are quiet (we haven't stayed at the front). The breakfast is standard and included, with meats, boiled eggs, breads, cheese, fruit, cereal, juices, milk and yogurt. The staff are very attentive at breakfast, and friendly. The neighborhood is lovely, with nice restaurants, small shops and coffee/tea shops close by (the Roasting coffee shop on Churton St. has excellent Italian coffee!!). The Pizza Express (actually very good for a chain restaurant) is a close walk over on Moreton St. This has, and will continue to be our London stay. Thanks John for all of the lovely conversation once again, and for making us feel at home!

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet and have a nice garden view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nisabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Basic B & B in London - three minutes walk from Pimlico tube station. Very central but a quiet town-like feel about the suburb. Bog standard continental breakfast, good service and our room was better than most B & Bs. Shower worked fine, but there were 4 flights of narrow stairs to reach the bedroom. Also they had a repair ongoing so couldn't open our window for two days!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank finnscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I stay in the hotel from 20.07.17 until 29.04.17 with my family
The staff is very friendly and the hotel shines from its cleanness.
The location is awesome (just some steps of pimlico metro station)
The continental breakfast is fair.
At the end, the friendliness of the staff (John, Nimo and the others) made me fill absolutely at home.
We fill that everyone on the hotel staff are always making their best efforts to fulfill our requests .

Room Tip: Some rooms has windows to the street, therefore some street noise disturb at the night. But there is rooms absolutely quiet
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Easy to find and check-in but a long hike up to the fourth floor with no lift, even with just a small overnight bag. The room was small but clean and, being a hot day, very warm although there was a small fan that helped. Good TV, free internet, enough power sockets, powerful shower and tea/coffee so all basics in place. My room was on the front so a little noisy with the road traffic (and fan) but no noise from other rooms around me. Some good eating and drinking places within a few minutes walk e.g. O Sole Mio. Breakfast in in the basement. Basic but nice e.g. hard boiled eggs, hams, breads and cereals. Would I stay again - a yes but request a lower floor

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews