We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Reception”
Review of Rose Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #890 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Reception”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Location good, 5 minutes walk from Paddington. Quiet Square.
Room was very small, no chairs, no dressing table, smoke alarm light flashing in eyes all night. Bathroom very small but rooms were kept clean on daily basis.
The reception on arrival not good - receptionist paid all attention to computer - needs to learn to pay attention to people. A welcoming smile and hello would make all the difference.
The breakfast room was like a third rate cafe, cramped, cheap tables and chairs, a mishmash of cutlery, plates too small. One choice of juice, two options of cereal, cooked breakfast dishes very often one was empty so if the bacon was there you had to wait for eggs, when eggs arrived perhaps the sausage had run out. Then you find no knives. Only one choice of toast. Poorly organised.
The worst thing was the staff, the first morning you were left to find out for yourself that it was all self service. The two waitresses just stood at the side. Their knowledge of English may be limited but a smile and 'Good Morning' makes a big difference. One young woman never smiled at all, surly expression. I have to say on our last morning there was an older woman who was much more pleasant.
Management really needs to look at who they are employing.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    144
    157
    86
    153
See reviews for
184
128
44
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel's location is almost perfect, only a short walk away from the train station Paddington. The hotel itself is a bit unconventional, half-way between a hotel and a bed-and-breadfast; the rooms are very small but are clean and have an en-suite bathroom. The breakfast is simple but good and the staff is friendly. On the downsides, the wifi is extremely slow, so I ended up going to a nearby Starbucks for internet. Also I didn't find any channel on the TV :)

That said, a single room with breakfast for less than £50 in Central London is a bargain, so the hotel is good value for money for short stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0tik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night. It is only at most 5 min walk from the Paddington Station, which is very accessible especially if you are catching the Heathrow Express to the Airport that takes only 15min.

I had a single room which is adequate for one. The room is clean and it seems like it has been recently refurbished. I managed to open my 29" luggage on the floor, without much walking space thereafter. There are many channels on TV while there's a kettle in the room for you to make tea or coffee. There's a small open closet for you to hang your coat too. The toilet is pretty big and very clean.

My room is at the front of the hotel so the lights at the hotel will shine into my room. You can hear people talking outside the hotel.

The staff is friendly while the breakfast is pretty standard, with toast, coffee and tea served. Hot food (sausage, egg and bacon), cereal at the buffet table.

There are many pubs and restaurants nearby so many food options available too. It is also walking distance to Hyde Park.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel is noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The website can be a bit misleading.
Firstly, and really the only positive with this hotel, is its location near Paddington Station.
The rooms were extremely small, there wasn't even room to open a suitcase unless it was on the bed which made getting dressed every morning more of an event than is necessary. The hotel advertises wifi available throughout the building, but this was definitely not the case. It was a causal factor for choosing Rose Park as we needed it for our studies. It would only work in the tiny lobby and the breakfast room. With people storing bags in the only standing space in the lobby, we decided we would try to do our work in the breakfast room. Three minutes later a staff member charged in shouting (unnecessarily) to get out of the room and that we couldn't be there unless it was breakfast time. Questioning him on where we could get wifi as stated on the website so we could do our studies, he simply turned his back and said that it was not his problem. Rude, and I can't quite comprehend the ban on guests sitting in the only seated area of the hotel that gets wifi unless it's breakfast time.
I would suggest that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRJT_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I've read a lot of negative reviews about this hotel and I think they're from people that have an unreasonable high standard for hotels. I even suspect the majority is not used to the basic European hotel.

I had a really pleasant stay at the Rose Park Hotel, for starters because they are really cheap for what they have to offer: standard rooms at an excellent location. Because London is a really big city, and not the most logically structured one, your access to the metro is of the upmost importance when you're a tourist. With this hotel you'll be close to 5 of the city's most important metrolines, not to mention a direct railwayservice from Heathrow Airport. That is exceptional, you'll be really flexible and in the end it will save you a lot of time.

The rooms,might be on the small side but they are clean and they are functional and and they are hosted by an really friendly staff. Besides, if you are visiting this city and plan to stay in your room a lot, you're doing something wrong.

Room Tip: I had Room 401, which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Rose Park is practically next to Paddington tube station, so you as in the heart of London within minutes. The staff were very nice at all times. We were allowed to check in before 2 pm, luckily. The room was very cosy, modern and clean. The way to the rooms smells lovely every day. Breakfast is ok to start the day with a full tummy. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Agustina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to break our journey from Nth Africa back to Wales, the hotel is less than 5 mins walk from lancaster gate tube station, its a hotel in a geogian square in a quiet corner of paddington, our reception could have been a little more welcoming the asian guy was a little abrupt, we took the lift to our 4th floor family room a bright well decorated room overlooking talbot square, the room was spotlesly clean, the bathroom was modern with a lovely strong shower, again it was spotless, the welcome tray was well stocked, the linnen was clean and smelt freshly laundered. The hotel was quiet and we slept well, breakfast was plentifull and well presented as a buffett style full british breakfast with tops ups of tea or coffee served at the table, I will have no hesitation of stating here again if I visit London a great 3 star hotel, the staff looked after our luggage even after we had checked out whilst we did some last minute sightseeing, lovely helpful people.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnmh156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Westpoint Hotel
Westpoint Hotel
#841 of 1,069 in London
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#823 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#838 of 1,069 in London
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
#907 of 1,069 in London
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#694 of 1,069 in London
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#553 of 1,069 in London
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Park Hotel

Property: Rose Park Hotel
Address: 1-3 Talbot Square | Paddington, London W2 1TR, England (Formerly Rose Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #890 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel in Paddington is pleasantly situated in a quiet garden square. Newly refurbished throughout in January 2012, The Rose Park Hotel is a fine Victorian town house with colonnade entrances, originally built as a private residence for wealthy Victorian families. Offering excellent facilities and services to both business travellers and tourists, the hotel is located in the heart of London, close to all the attractions London has to offer as well as extensive transport links.All room rates include cooked Full English Breakfast All rooms are air-conditioned and also have complimentary Wi-Fi. The hotel is non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Court London
Hotel Rose Court
Rose Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing