We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word: shoe box”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #374 of 578 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is pretty reasonable in its price. Short walk from paddington station and the underground is easy to navigate around if you are coming from the airport. Take the train to earls court and then change lines to the circle line to get to paddington. It was about a 5 min walk to the hotel. The room we were in was on the first floor which was fortunate as the elevator was broken (permanently I think). It was ok, carpet was a bit grotty. Beds were ok, clean towels every day. Very small room barely enough for my husbands and my bags to fit beside bed. No free wifi and the tv remote required a 10 pound deposit. Breakfast was A Simple affair- cold meat cheese bread toast cereal and yoghurt juice and filter coffee. Short walk to Hyde park to see the squirrels. Reception man seemed surly at first but was helpful enough with locations and directions.

Room Tip: First floor if possible. No elevator to lug up your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for three nights as a family, we had 3 rooms. our room was an adequate size but bathroom was dirty and small. carpet in room had a nasty sticky area that cleaners always placed bin on top of. all rooms were meant to be twin rooms but one was so small it was really a single, would not want to try and get two people in it.
Lift out of order.
Was expensive for the standard of accommodation offered. Definitely will not return. Only good thing was the location and beds were comfortable.
Staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolh477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our flight was delayed, we missed the Heathrow Express by one minute, so it was 10 PM by the time we got to Paddington, 600 m from the hotel. Its easy to find once you find London Street which is just to the left as you exit the front entrance to Paddington. Its three blocks to the intersection of London and Sussex Terrace were London Street becomes Sussex Place. But when we arrived they sent us to the Seymour Hotel one block East, where the guy on the desk was "back in a few minutes". The phone number didn't work and when he turned up after 15 minutes we were sent to yet a third White House hotel around the corner at 102 Sussex Terrace. The guy proudly explained Alexandra owns 17 hotels all run as a unit. Hence the name of the review because you have no idea which of the 17 you'll stay in.

The room was on the ground floor which is great as there are no lifts and no one to help you. The room was mostly clean. You get towels but no washcloth so as with all cheapies it pays to bring your own. You get small bars of soap but nothing else, this at GB 69/night. There was no TV remote and the one they gave us the second night didn't work but on the third night they gave us one that did. There is no internet other than some external vendor has installed one at the front desk where you pay GB 1 for ten minutes. Hot water at the basin took 2-3 minutes to get hot but for some reason the shower hot water seems to be normal, obviously a different source. It was 8 C or colder each of the four nights we stayed and only once did they turn on the radiator. Also we discovered water trickling down one wall thankfully not next to our bed, on the fourth night, possibly from a leaking radiator on the floor above.

Now on the plus side, you get a great breakfast, cereal, yoghurt, unlimited bread for toast although you need to toast it twice, plus cheese and cold cuts. No eggs, which I put down to then they would need to provide salt and pepper shakers which would be stolen. As someone else has mentioned, the location is great. You can walk to many attraction but Paddington and nearby Lancaster Gate are tube stations and if you buy an Oyster ticket you can go anywhere in London.

Next time we'll stay in this area but pay for a hotel with internet and a bit more soul.

Room Tip: Try for the ground floor if you have heavy bags. There are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Last year my sister and self stayed in this hotel for two weeks. One week before going on a European Tour and one week after. Firstly the room had two single beds with a window facing Sussex Gardens. It met our needs, with the room being cleaned every day, fresh towels and bins emptied. Tea, coffee and sugar replenished everyday. Okay, the room was small but what do you expect from London standards. You pay for what you get. The breakfast was basic, toast, juice, two types of cereal, cheese slices and cold cuts. Tea and coffee was also on the menu with different jams and yogurt. When you get fed up with this you have different cafes down the road to Paddington station offering different types of breakfast, really reasonable. The front desk staff were helpful and helped with train/tube information. The area is completely safe to walk down even late at night. We kept money in our locked suitcases and stuff in the room and not one thing was robbed or moved out of place. Of course, it has location, location, location.
Overall I would recommend this place to stay, you have come for a holiday and not to spend all day in the room, so enjoy and forget the little faults.

Felicity June Advani from Australia.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor facing Sussex Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85suresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had been prepared by our travel agent to expect small room and small bathroom while staying in London. The room was comfortable and clean, but 1980's bright orange décor, single beds, rabbit warren hallways with no lift service to our floor was less than pleasant. It was a VERY basic room. The bathroom size was a joke! I have seen larger bathrooms in a motorhome. While sitting on the toilet I could stretch my arms to the wall of the shower on one side and the vanity on the other and to close the door meant I had to scrunch my legs up, I am 5ft 2in, small was an understatement. If you have a food allergy don't stay here, the included breakfast was fine for their European guests, cold cuts and hard boiled eggs and for Pacific guests who can eat rice bubbles and cornflakes and toast, basic but fine. Staff were mostly helpful, but the less time you need to spend in your room the better, it was definitely not somewhere you would want to hang out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaglanShells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After having read the reviews on this site we almost cancelled our stay in this hotel. but, when we got there, we were quite surprised to see that our room is very spacious, the water and the bathroom worked just fine. The breakfast is more than you can ask for this price and I didn't notice that much noise either. Now, I understand that we were maybe very lucky to get this room because I don't believe that someone would write a terrible review without reason, but my experience was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamapassenger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3days/2nights stay in London.

Our first room we received, was located in the basement and the walls of our room were still being plastered and painted due to the fact that a rack broke down. There were 3 seperate beds on our room (while we booked a 2 persons room). Furthermore the bathroom was just a small cabin (similar to the toilet cabin on an airplane) which just fitted a sink, toilet and shower.

After our complaint with the reception, they were not very interested in our problem and told us to come back after 2 hours when the room would be finished...

Two hours later we received a new room as the works were not yet finished. Our new room was located on the top floor (no access by elevator). There were no works being executed, nevertheless the same bathroom cabin was installed.

As we were only staying for 2 nights and we rather wanted to explore London instead of arguing with hotel management, we accepted the room.

Positive: good location
Negative: older rooms, small bathrooms, unhelpful staff, disappointing breakfast, no free internet/wifi

I would not recommend this hotel if you give great value to your room and hotel experience. If you do want to go to this hotel, make sure you ask for the better rooms.

1  Thank Stef R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#423 of 1,076 in London
1,095 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#522 of 1,076 in London
545 reviews
Linden House Hotel
#752 of 1,076 in London
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rhodes Hotel
#357 of 1,076 in London
1,469 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#670 of 1,076 in London
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 159-161 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 578 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing