We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back. ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #380 of 567 London B&B and Inns
near Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't be back. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Had to Spend 6 nights.
Awful mold smell in the toilets/shower.
Rude and unhelpful staff.
No lifts - had to carry 2 luggages by hand.
Check out is as early as 10:30AM.
Reasonably clean, 3 minute walk from Paddington station is comfortable. Hyde park is very close too.
Breakfast is OK. Very basic.

Won't recommend nor come back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GilkGilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    148
    296
    162
    185
See reviews for
189
289
60
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Located near Hyde Park and Edgware Road, this was a place to sleep. As mentioned by other reviewers,, this may not be where you want to stay if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room or in London. We spent three nights,, and this was bearable. Our room was in the basement which is your better choice. The rest of our party had to forge the narrow staircase with bags and no air conditioning in the heat of July.

Don't take your clothing in the bathroom while showering,, it is sure to get wet and there is nowhere (literally) to hang them up. We had no problem with the plumbing,, but I wished I had brought a shower disinfectant to combat the musty odor. The room was cleaned,, but it is an older facility.

I did not eat the breakfast, but i did get the tea. Don't waste your money on convenience for use of the internet in your room. No guarantee that it will be working when you try to use it. One good thing is that you can ask for plug adapters at the front desk, and sit in the lobby to use the internet.

This is a lovely neighborhood to walk around in,, we were able to enjoy a free concert in the park and excellent food on Edgware. We made the mistake of renting a car. We were able to pay for parking by the day,, but I wish I had spent the extra on a room more suitable to our needs.

If you choose this hotel,, ride the tube and enjoy the experience. Buy a pass. Best deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1411Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from 10 ghastly nights in this hotel! (during visit tried others and booked out) Our twin room was small but OK. Our Cubicle Bathroom was so tiny it was difficult to bend over on toilet without hitting your head on the door. The toilet was bordering the approx. 60cms wide shower. Although I am a small build the shower was CLAUSTROPHOBIC, my large husband found it VERY DIFFICULT to shower properly for 10 nights. We were told that ALL bathrooms were Cubicle Bathrooms in the Hotel. This bore no resemblance to photos published on the Web.
Any comments to Reception were listened to and ignored till we finally stopped asking. We heard a few guests, very irate re dripping taps for three days, toilet not flushing properly, etc. Few staff spoke English, only Reception person. The lift was "Out of Order" we think permanently (the sign looked very old). Our twin beds were rigid and uncomfortable, the room hot and stuffy with little ventilation from open window to small, closed courtyard. Both our skins became very itchy ++ when in the room and at night with small red wheals.
General maintenance of interior throughout hotel looked very over-neglected and any damage looked old.
The Continental Breakfast was OK, though boring for 10 days.
We suggest anyone considering this Hotel, although the location is good, to pay a bit more per night and get a better hotel, especially for extended stays like ours. We SO REGRET not doing this! Would not recommend this hotel really AT ALL!

Room Tip: We have no favourable tips for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richrd_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

A very tired, badly maintained facility, with impossibly steep stairs to the creaky-floored upper storey rooms, which were very poky While we were there recently, our room had a broken shower which was not repaired for 24 hours, and the lift from reception was not functional at all. The supplied breakfast was poor quality. Save your money and eat in one of several restaurants\cafes up the road. They even had the nerve to charge for wi-fi access by the hour. I am surprised that it still warrants a three-star rating. Having said all this, the staff were as helpful as they could be in the circumstances, and did their best. It's only redeeming feature was that is in easy walking distance of Paddington station.

Room Tip: If you are at all handicapped or have problems climbing stairs, don't book online or if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Expected the room to be small but the bathroom was shocking. Public toilet cubicle is bigger than the bathroom... had to hold the shower nosle because it was placed too high... bathroom flooded each shower. Cleaners didnt make the bed properly... didnt replace dirty glasses half the time. Breakfast was small to be expected but would rather make my own toast and get it hot than have them do it.,, have it sit there and eat it cold. Almost had to pay £10 for a remote for the tv. Wouldnt recommend more than 1 night stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtanmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is pretty reasonable in its price. Short walk from paddington station and the underground is easy to navigate around if you are coming from the airport. Take the train to earls court and then change lines to the circle line to get to paddington. It was about a 5 min walk to the hotel. The room we were in was on the first floor which was fortunate as the elevator was broken (permanently I think). It was ok, carpet was a bit grotty. Beds were ok, clean towels every day. Very small room barely enough for my husbands and my bags to fit beside bed. No free wifi and the tv remote required a 10 pound deposit. Breakfast was A Simple affair- cold meat cheese bread toast cereal and yoghurt juice and filter coffee. Short walk to Hyde park to see the squirrels. Reception man seemed surly at first but was helpful enough with locations and directions.

Room Tip: First floor if possible. No elevator to lug up your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for three nights as a family, we had 3 rooms. our room was an adequate size but bathroom was dirty and small. carpet in room had a nasty sticky area that cleaners always placed bin on top of. all rooms were meant to be twin rooms but one was so small it was really a single, would not want to try and get two people in it.
Lift out of order.
Was expensive for the standard of accommodation offered. Definitely will not return. Only good thing was the location and beds were comfortable.
Staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolh477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#618 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#860 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#847 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#882 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
0.1 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#663 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 159-161 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing