We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, just lovely!”
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #548 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, just lovely!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Staunton has become my hotel of choise when visiting London. It has a very nice cozy feeling to it, the rooms are nice, quiet, clean with good air conditioning. The hotel has been refurbished without loosing the english charm. Breakfast, which is served downstairs, is adequate.

Locationwise its perfect! Just a short walk to Soho and Covent Garden, nearest tube just a couple of blocks away

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    165
    53
    22
    12
See reviews for
102
94
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel in mid October 2012 and was disappointed at what I got for the £160 price I paid for one night's stay. Is an old Victorian style house now made into a hotel which is okay. Design, decor is good however no lifts to rooms on floor 1 & above which can be a struggle for elderly or those with kids.

I had a ground floor, twin room which faced the road outside the hotel. Room was nice however way too warm. If you wanted air conditioning on during the night to cool it down, it was too noisy therefore you sacrificed sleep. Windows couldn't be opened.

4am+ I quickly learnt that either buses or Heavy Vehicles pass the front of the hotel, on average once every 5 minutes, rattling the room, therefore my sleep was gone for the night. I'd have been better travelling down from the north of England early that morning on the train for an event that morning/afternoon as I'd have had more sleep.

Anyway I advised the reception the next morning about the traffic issue and all she could say is if you stay again, please ask for a room that is located to the rear of the building. I left a letter for the management to see and it was never responded to.

I then backed this up with an email via the hotel's website about 10 days later (late October) advising my complaint hadn't been responded to, please could management contact me. No response.

So overall, I wasn't keen to put this review on however the don't care attitude from the management has made me review here. I'd say to anyone, stay away from it if you want a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: If definitely planning to stay here, request a room that doesn't face the road outside the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scankaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed here at end of October 2012. It is very clean and the breakfasts were excellent. Like most London hotels converted from former residential properties, space is adequate but limited. The location, beside Bedford Square, Oxford St and 3 Tube stations, is excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. For most families visiting London on the average budget I would highly recommend this hotel. It does not have a bar and restaurant but that was not an issue for us.
We did not have any complaints with this hotel at all. It is a very good value hotel in a great location. Bloomsbury is worth staying in anyway. Rooms are double and twin but if you do not like climbing too many steps then ask for a ground or first floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not looking onto Gower St.. If you do not want to climb too many stairs then s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel is a little gem on Gower Street. Although Goodge Street tube station appears to be the closest, Russell Square station is actually almost the same walking distance (I tested it!) and is on the Piccadilly Line from LHR and thus avoids a change of tube lines carrying luggage. The hotel is clean, quiet, and I was pleasantly surprised by the size of my room (a double on the top floor) and its excellent and clean bathroom with a spacious shower. The room rate included breakfast which includes hot items cooked to order. The hotel has no elevators but I didn't mind as I considered climbing the stairs to be my exercise away from home. On one morning when the hotel seemed crowded there was no hot water in the shower - so my advice is, shower early! The staff were all very pleasant and helpful except for one server at breakfast who seemed a bit surly. I did manage to get a smile out of her at one point, though. All in all, a really great value in a good location.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing Gower Street as it is a one-way road and traffic can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This was a nice clean hotel in a very good location. Just a short walk, once I figured it out, from the Goodge St tube station. Breakfast was good, staff was friendly. Room and bathroom were small but so what? It was clean and the bed was good and so was the food to start my day before I went out to explore, that is all I need. I stayed in the basement so the stairs weren't an issue. The neighborhood and thus building look like they are easily over a hundred years old so no suprise on no elevator. I would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We received a very warm welcome and we found the room large and comfortable.
However, we found that before breakfast, we had no hot water for the shower. We reported this to the lady in reception who was rather 'short', rude and most definitely unapologetic. We felt this was not really acceptable service for nearly £170 per night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbott89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2012

It is near the British museum & near to 2 subway stations. We have booked a Triple room w/ one King bed & 1 small bed for 3 Adults for 2 nights. The room is clean, spacious & the beds are comfortable, though the small bed is not long enough for a 6' tall person. Our room is facing the main road, but we are not disturbed by the noise of traffic outside. We had very good sleep for both nights. Breakfast is served at Basement, order to cook, very nice. .... Be aware that this hotel has no lift/elevator! You have to climb a narrow spiral stairs up to your room! This may be a drawback from choosing this hotel if you have big suitcases w/ you! Otherwise, this is a good hotel for your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#559 of 1,069 in London
776 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#537 of 1,069 in London
344 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#647 of 1,069 in London
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,069 in London
1,762 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#415 of 1,069 in London
977 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#863 of 1,069 in London
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing