We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, fine location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #538 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value, fine location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Pleasant service, good English breakfast with options, decent sized rooms and bathrooms.
Plenty of hot water and towels.
Walk to British Museum and theatres.
Downside: No lift and steep stairs. Not many restaurants in area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay here with us. We are very spoiled with our location so close to the shops, theatres and British museum.

We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

There are plenty of restaurants around us, including the famous Charlotte Street minutes away.

Kind Regards,
Renia Karageorgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    162
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
97
94
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

This nice Hotel near the center, British Museum and Oxford Street are very near and the tube station Goodge Street at 3 minutes.
People is very kind and the service very good. We will certainly go there next time we'll go to London City.
The breakfast is excellent and we miss it :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maurizio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay here with us. We are very spoiled with our location so close to the shops, theatres and British museum.

We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Renia Karageorgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Staunton Hotel and would not plan a return visit. The room was a good size, clean and the decor was pleasant but that was the only positive. The first night we had nothing but scalding hot water from our hand basin and shower and this problem returned intermittently throughout our three night stay. The shower was erratic and would change temperature constantly from cold to hot and this experience was not very pleasant. The staff provided minimal customer service when seeking help at night for this problem and there certainly was little desire to assist and really no explanation given. In fact I think they have heard the identical complaint so many times before and know it cannot be fixed. The staff member was watching tv on the computer very loudly and seemed a little annoyed to be interrupted. The breakfast was an interesting experience and it took 3 mornings before a staff member actually greeted us with a smile and "good morning". The breakfast staff worked hard and were efficient but I think again the standard of customer service could be improved. My cooked English breakfast was substandard, the bacon tasted strange, so I would recommend cereal and toast. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and when a heavy vehicle passed it wasn't so much the noise that was a problem but rather the reverberation/vibration of the sound so sleep was constantly disturbed.The hotel was well located for our needs but much could be done to improve the customer experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuperSal-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the standards of the hotel and please rest assured that your feedback is taken very seriously, in order to strive to achieve the high standards that we set here.

Kind Regards,

Renia Karageorgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

great location, great manager, nice and clean rooms, value for money not great but not too bad; but...plumbing and heating not always at the top (cold water sometimes hot, etc...); the main issue is the reception staff, especially on Sunday: I arrived on a Sunday evening in December and the person at the reception desk shouted at me "what do you want?"; last Sunday, no one at reception when leaving at 7.15 in the morning: I called several times the hotel, no response; the clerk arrived ten minutes later with no apologies and lying, telling I should have called, etc...If this pattern continues, even though I love his hotel and come several times per year, I will have to find another hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leopold17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the standards of the hotel and please rest assured that your feedback is taken very seriously, in order to strive to achieve the high standards that we set here. I do appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again at Staunton Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Renia Karageorgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I felt it was a bit overpriced for value, however I don't stay in London often, so maybe was good value. Location was good: across the stree from British museum and within walking distance of theaters.


  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Lovely hotel, very handy to the tube and shopping areas. Good value for a twin room with breakfast. Room was a decent size, comfy bed and nice bathroom with soft towels. There was some traffic noise but it is central London and I didn't need my trusty ear plugs to sleep well. Breakfast was very good but the coffee was the only disappointing thing in my whole stay. Reception staff were helpful and very pleasant. I'd fully recommend this hotel and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 34busymum34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Superb value, comfortable, friendly staff, good breakfast. Within 15 mins walk of Royal Opera, Covent garden, Oxford St etc. Double glazing keeps it uiet, although carrying my and The Duchess bags up the rather steep stairs definitely made me puff! (No lift).
Highly recommended, I'd go again.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher, rear rooms if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#526 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#545 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#620 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#372 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#749 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#94 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing