We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget accommodation at not-so-budget prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #532 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Budget accommodation at not-so-budget prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located just a short walk from Goodge St tube station, very easy to get into central London. The room was small, but clean and well presented, with a comfortable bed. There were all the usual facilites, such as en suite with good shower, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and fridge with the usual overpriced mini bar. The room lacked an adequate number of plug sockets even for the amount of electrical appliances already in the room; behind the kettle was an overloaded and broken extension lead, and the only sockets that we could use to charge phones were down on one side of the side of the bed and very difficult to access due to the limited space. The wifi was a bit hit and miss, and had to be reset by reception in order for it to work.
Our room was on the ground floor immediately behind reception, and we found that we were woken frequently by the sounds of people passing our room, and going through the door next to ours which lead to reception and dining room, each time sounding disconcertingly like people were trying to get into our room.
The breakfast was nice, with a choice of continental or English breakfast. The dining room was pleasant, although far too small for the amount of people who wanted to use it. Some guests took their breakfast back to their rooms as there was nowhere to sit, whilst we ended up sharing a table with another family, which in itself I don't mind, but it did feel rather cramped.

All in all, not a bad hotel, but very overpriced for fairly basic accommodation.

Room Tip: Avoid G3 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottielou888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    162
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
97
94
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at the Staunton Hotel.
From the time of booking our reservation until checkout , we had a wonderful experience. All staff members were were extremely pleasant and keen to assist. The hotel is beautiful and and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The location is central so perfect for getting around London ! The room was clean and very comfortable!
I would certainly stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodoula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Location is excellent both for walking, tube and buses. Store Street just around the corner has some excellent restaurants / cafes. Room had everything we required and was spotless. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. Hotel was far too hot for us. Breakfast was chaotic so I'd recommend going to a Store Street cafe instead. The breakfast room was small with not enough tables and not enough space between tables for clients or staff to get about comfortably. We had to wait for a table on two days, and on one other had to wait for a table to be cleared. There is another room with sofas next to the dining room - it's a shame this has not been converted into an additional dining area. The clatter from the kitchen in the next room together with the chatter from the TV made breakfast time a rather noisy affair. There was a good selection and quantity of food although the quality was at the lower end of what I consider to be reasonable. The catering staff were always polite although at times a bit flustered - they were doing their best in a very difficult and cramped environment. We never saw 'management' nor were asked for feedback. I would visit again, on a room only basis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Store Street, rather than Gower Street as it's a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaCob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This small hotel is a nice conversion of two 4 story Georgian town houses with large airy rooms on basement, ground and 3 upper floors. There is no lift so any one with difficulty climbing stairs should ask for the lower floors. Breakfast is included and is taken in a nice room on basement level. All the staff are extremely helpful and considerate. Located on several bus routes into town and close to tube stations it is very conveniently situated. The British Museum is just round the corner and many restaurants, theatres and Covent Garden are within 15 mins walk.
A very well run and excellent place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as we were visiting dominion theatre and wanted something near this was an excellent location , hotel was lovely , nice pleasant friendly staff and very nice and cosy rooms. Breakfast was very good and good choice overall stay was excellent value for money and would defiantly stay at the Staunton hotel again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Good location for those who prefer to visit central London by foot. Or 2 subway stations nearby. Not far from Charlotte st with all its restaurants. I stayed in this hotel several times and was never unsatisfied with my room. I love the way they serve breakfast, with attention and care!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaterinaXa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

my husband and I stayed here end of October 2013 and cannot praise this place enough. from the friendly staff to the lovely room and great choice of breakfast, we will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemeercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#508 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#558 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#631 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#99 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#386 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#749 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing