We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for service don't come here”
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #550 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you are looking for service don't come here”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent one night here. We arrived at 2.15pm and the room wasn't ready. We were asked to wait for 15 minutes and waited 30. There was no apology and no offer of refreshments whilst we waited. The stairwell smelt musty, however the room was a decent size although the carpet was dirty, rust in the bath and my bedside cabinet wasn't even in the main part of the room because the bed was too big for the size of the room. Problems with the shower knob which wouldn't allow us to make it cooler, although Breakfast was ok.
My main point is that if you are in the hospitality business, be hospitable. The non greeting we received on our arrival put us off and when we left we were not asked if everything was ok or if we had enjoyed our stay. Therefore, I can only conclude you don't care!!
I think this is B & B standard, definitely not 4* and I should have paid £50 more to stay at a decent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Desmond65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    163
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
97
94
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel does feel like a B&B with a front desk always open. Very good staff, willing and able to assist with directions, touring information, etc. Rooms are modern and comfortable for the 3 of us. Walk to Coventry Garden, Leicester Square, theaters. Wonderful full English breakfast. Loved our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdolbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co-durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Was more like a b&b than a hotel ,stayed here for two nights and would give this hotel a 3 star rating at best ,rooms were clean but small ,location is great but breakfast was poor ,small dining area and waitress could not manage when most people came for breakfast at roughly same time ,people were standing waiting for tables to be cleared!!.i have recently stayed in the raddisson on the same street and this was a 4 star hotel ,will be going back to raddisson next time for sure!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank waynetsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
271 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Hi we had a twin room for one night and the room was perfect nice size clean and had air con.
The shower was a nice size and very clean. It was very quite
The breakfast we ok could of been better service but is was very busy. The a car park around the corner.
There was no lift and lots of stairs .
Great hotel and value for money and would stay there again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good position.
Rooms clean and comfortable with heating/air conditioning.
Reception staff great and friendly.
Breakfast great and staff friendly also.
Many steps to climb to the rooms and the breakfast is also downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 781Adriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just got back from a weekend in London with my sister and mum for my 40th Birthday where we stayed at the Staunton for 2 nights. Arrived at 1.30 Friday and greated by a very friendly young lady and because our room was not ready we were asked if wanted to wait and 15 minutes later we checked in. It is so hard to find a London hotel that has rooms for 3 adults but this does! We had 3 separate single beds, lovely dressing area and large bathroom. The rooms were lovely and clean, aircon unit, TV and the beds were lovely and comfy.

Breakfast was nice as well and the 2 ladies who worked the breakfast room were friendly and efficient. We had a cooked brekkie on our first morning and omelette on our 2nd morning, both served with 'help yourself' cereal and fruit. Fresh toast and coffee/tea was brought to your table. Each morning we went down for brekkie it was busy but always a table for us.

On Sunday, our train home was not untill 4pm and with check out being 11am we asked if we could leave our luggage in reception (which is very safe as need key to get into the building and there is always someone on reception). We then collected our luggage at 3pm and was wished a safe journey home by the friendly receptionist.

Overall we were very happy with our stay due to the room, location, friendliness of staff, brekkie and will defo stay again - hopefully planning another visit over Xmas. I would say that if you have any walking difficulties, this hotel is not for you as it is built into an old Georgian town house and there is no lift - just steep winding staircases which for me added to the character of the hotel

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel so we did not have any road noise and had very good nights sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

15 minute walk From Kings Cross station and 15 minutes to theatres in Shaftsbury avenue. Good reception from staff, great at organising taxis whenever we wanted. Room was very nice, bathroom was in need of a little attention but was clean. Only minor gripes to report so won't bother.
Very quiet room on third floor but very hot so air con on most of the time.
Breakfast was adequate which is fine, nice coffee.
Would stay again if seeing a show.
Check which floor you will be on if stairs are a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#529 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#538 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#626 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#380 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#806 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#91 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #550 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing