We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like stepping back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saint Simeon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saint Simeon
Ranked #730 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Before we stayed here, I read many other reviews, so was unsure what to expect.
As a group of ladies, we booked a family room at a brilliant rate (£100 for 5 of us).
The location is very central and building beautiful.
Upon arrival the check in was easy and very courteous. Soap and shower gel were offered and breakfast was explained.
The beds and towels were clean and pressed. The bathroom was clean and fresh.
The room was warm.
Yes, the decor is dated and things are a little tired, but for the price it was excellent. There were several chairs, a wardrobe, cupboard and shelves for our belongings.

The breakfast was like staying with a family. Food was pressed on us in a kind way and nothing was too much trouble. There was a lot of fruit! We also noticed that grapefruit and melon was cut and left out several hours before serving, but it was easy to avoid!
The Father was there too and he was charming.

This hotel offers excellent value for money and a real cultural experiance. It is not the most glamerous experience you will ever have, but I will definihtely be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    92
    94
    45
    62
See reviews for
134
55
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

this is the worst place I've ever seen in my travel around the world. Beijing 35 years ago was luxury, compared to this hotel. Dirty, smelly, uncomfortable, badly or not heated at all, drafty windows.the room is illuminated the whole night from the light outside in the corridor. Not to speak about the noise from the neighbours, their TV (lucky if it works), the slamming of doors on the upper and lower floors. No toilet paper (this must be collected on a table close to the hotel reception), no soap, old and worn-out beds, lousy pillows, no chairs to put your clothes, no space to turn around. A gloomy-faced Director. Fortunately his staff is trying to make up for all this by being friendly, but the hotel is still not up to any standard and should just be closed up and removed from the lists.
A real pity, as the area is very stylish, beautiful streets and parks around and the tube close by.

Room Tip: impossible in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Sylvia030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel is suitable for those who doesn'it have excessive demands, but wants a clean room, a good and kind staff, and breakfast included (not amazing, but enaugh in comparizon with how much paid). Centrally located, we slept in a quaintupla on 2nd floor, spacious, comfortable. Good value, very good quality /price ratio. Absolutely to book!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgess hill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, DO NOT STAY HERE!
The building was very old and tired inside and our room smelt damp and the windows were very drafty with the beds underneath them!
When we arrrived our key wasnt available for several hours so we had to ask the owner to let us into our room.
Breakfast was very cramped, the service was terrible and the food not much better with chipped milk jugs,dirty table cloths and crumbs in the rancid butter.
Please take note of this review, you wont want to stay in this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at. My wife and I booked and prepaid for a four night stay. Once booked in though you can not get any of your money back if you want to leave early so beware.. The room was deplorable: dirty, cramped (7 ft.wide). The bathroom was barely functional. This hotel reminds me of old Soviet Union accomodations. Noisy all night with doors slaming, loud voices, creaking floors, and walls so thin you can hear your neighbours doing their business during the night. The doors don't even have door handles. No soap or shampoo unless you make a special request. At breakfast you must sit where you are told and are provided and as a reward are offered copious amounts of fruit that is in various stages of decay. I can't think of a single good thing to say about this except that we made it out alive and it is an experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: Stay far away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMorris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were very pleased with our recent stay at Saint Simeon. The hotel staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. The room was larger than expected, clean and very comfortable. The location was terrific- beautiful, safe neighborhood. The kids were impressed by all the sports cars parked on our street- ferraris, maseratis, etc! Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Gloucester Road station- very convenient. This place is nothing fancy, but it's a very nice hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights with my husband, 2 young daughters and my mother-in-law. We had a family room, which actually sleeps 7. The layout of the room was very accommodating, with 2 single beds and bunk beds on the main level. Then you go up stairs to a loft with a single bed and a double bed. The bathroom was very old and in desperate need of updating. The toilet wouldn't flush without effort. The sink's faucets were way too close to the back of the sink, making if very difficult to wash your hands.

The location has a lot of street noise with vehicles going nonstop all night. You have to open the balcony doors for ventilation (no air conditioning). Yes, there is a balcony, but you share it with the room next door. You have to make sure the balcony doors are locked before you leave the room for security. And they were hard to open and close!

Breakfast was included and served downstairs. We only ate there once, as that was more than enough! They had tons of fruit, but there were flies around it! And the father of the family keep pushing the fruit on us. Very annoying!

This hotel is family run and they do try hard, but the building desperately needs updates and renovations. When we went to check in, our room wasn't ready yet. They stowed our luggage in the dining area and we went off to explore London. It was obvious they rushed getting our room ready because when we got back a few hours later, our sheets were still damp! I turned down the bed and we went to dinner. By the time we got back, they were dry, but that unnerved me. While I could see the effort being made here, I don't recommend this hotel unless they go through a major renovation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#493 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#766 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#395 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#744 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#654 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Simeon

Property: Saint Simeon
Address: 38 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #730 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saint Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Simeon London
Saint Simeon Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing