We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont bother with the Boulevard” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulevard Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #843 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont bother with the Boulevard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

It was a mistake booking at the Boulevard Hotel. We were on a limited budget this trip because of the currency conversion and therefore we looked into several options and chose the Boulevard because the web site made it look particularly attractive and most of the reviews we looked into showed pretty favorably. What we found upon arrival, however, was that the hotel web site completely misrepresents itself. it certainly will not strike you as "modern" when you see it. We knew it would be small but we had no idea that small meant microscopic. We also booked a larger room but were told upon arrival that the one we asked and PAID for (no refund) was no longer available. "we have a very nice room for you in the basement..LG1 would do" To compound the problem we didnt feel comfortable just leaving and striking out on our own looking for something else either so we felt trapped into staying. To preface: we are not big people. That said, my girlfriend and I could barely squeeze our two bags in the room together and when one of us was up and moving, the other had to sit on the bed to free up enough floor space so that the other could navigate. Just rediculous. The bathroom was so small that I couldnt bend over to shave or wash my face without showering the floor with water. The staff apparently knew that because on the first day they placed a bath towel down upon the floor to help control the challenge. The fact that the sink was approx 8 inches wide didnt help. My poor girlfriend couldnt even shave her legs in the shower because she simply couldnt stand inside and lift her leg at the same time. Think RV or Camper trailer bathroom.
Its that small folks.

We also read over and over about how friendly and terribly helpful the staff was. Forget that too. They are on site and more often than not, awake while setting at the front desk. They are NOT enthuesiastic or welcoming. Actually one person was and we saw him pretty often while staying there but he was the day staff and we were always out from about 9 am so we didnt have much interaction with him unfortunately. The other three people we met were simply vacant. One evening we were out of towels and my girl friend went to the front desk to see if she could obtain some more. The was greeted with "what do YOU want?" and a scowl from this middle eastern fellow manning the front desk......feeling very uncomfortable, she came back down to the shoe box and explained what happened. I returned up stairs with her and made sure that he fully understood who was the guest here and that he would quickly applologize to her. He reluctantly did but it wasnt genuine. I was REALLY unhappy about this....The next morning I told the day staff what happened and we never saw him again. The pros / the room was cleaned every day / it really was tidy, just spectacularly small / it had recently been renovated and looked new- think Ikea / the location is great and very close to Paddington Station tube and rail lines / its a ten minute train ride from Heathrow / there are lots of good restaurants in the area and a good selection of traditional pubs to lounge in / its a ten minute walk from Hyde Park and Kensington Palace area / you can walk to most tourist sites if you really want to / and there is an outstanding restaurant about 50 feet away that serves new British cuisine (why its there I have no idea because it seems out of place in this neighborhood). The cons / we felt that the hotel misrepresented itself and that we werent given the opportunity to make it right / construction within the hotel that would wake you up at 8 am whether you wanted to be up or not / a completely disinterested staff / its now called "easy hotels.com" that was written on our door! / no phone / no desk or furniture of any kind within the room / absolutetly no room to move around / no breakfast or place to sit and enjoy breakfast as is shown on the web site / we had to take a voucher to McDonalds if we wanted to fulfil their commitment to provide a "continental breakfast" so therefore if you are good with egg and bacon sandwiches and terrible coffee every morning you will love it / theTV remote didnt work and no one could figure it out for us so if we wanted to change the TV channel we had to climb over our suitcases to do so / no closet to hang anything up in / no iron or board to press your cloths that you couldnt hang up.....you get the picture.

If your a single person and simply want a place to lay your head for the night, dont mind being dissapointed and cheated a little bit, you might like the Boulevard/Easy Hotel. Otherwise, spend the extra 25--50 pounds a night and get a real hotel. There are 100 within a mile of Paddington. Now we know and wont make the same mistake twice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Hotel did NOT match the web site description at all. We felt cheated.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomtlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    31
    15
    11
    13
See reviews for
3
19
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

I am just back from my stay in London (23rd -25th June 2008). I was supposed to stay at the boulevard but when we arrived at the hotel we were told by staff that due to water leakage the rooms had to be renovated so we would be moved to a hotel further round the corner. After arriving at the next hotel we were told by staff that we would not be staying there either, so we were moved further again. on arrival at the next place we were told that we would have the BASEMENT room. We decided to look at the room before deciding to stay or not. The bathroom was smaller than the toilet on a plane.NO JOKE. there was no way anyone would have been able to shower in it. To worsen things the room actually had a door leading on to the street. That was the final straw. We then had the task of trying to find a hotel with vacancies which was not easy as it was wimbledon week so everywhere was full. We came across the castleton hotel but unfortunately it was booked up but the very kind manager MARK rang around hotels and found one that could accomodate us for the two nights.Our new hotel was the lancaster court hotel which was 10 times better than that of boulevard. I would definately recommend the castleton and lancaster hotel.perfect location to all the top attractions especially oxford street, marble arch, hyde park. DO NOT GO TO THE BOULEVARD HOTEL.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greaselightening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Tucson
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

This place is a rip off. We made the mistake of booking through the hotel websute and it has a non-refundable, non-cancelable policy for any reason including a family death! We booked on the basis of positive reviews from this website. Big mistake!
Impossibly small room - my husband was able to stand and touch both walls (average size man). No way to wash your face without sitting on the toilet. Noise all night long on the stairs and a porn shop on the corner. We were unable to open my suitcase and stand on the floor at the same time!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — just about everything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank baileymomTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

I stayed there for 4 nights, and was not very happy in the end, as for almost the same price you can go to Chrysos. The rooms are extremely small, but comfy. The furniture is quite old, and the mattress is very puffy. Next to the bed was a small "bar" where surprisingly was a coffee machine, but never used it. The bathroom is more than small, and if you are claustrophobic, better try another hotel. The air van from the bathroom would go on for more than 15mins after you turned off the light (imagine this after a long day of walks around town and shopping). With regards to the breakfast, I could say there was almost none. I usually don't eat in the morning, but my boyfriend does and he would make me go on a little adventure to McD. After breakfast (which surprisingly is Continental breakfast - and I've never seen a continental breakfast so insufficient). The stuff doesn't speak very well English (though it may sound strange cause you're in London), but in the end you manage to make yourself understood. The good thing with this hotel is that is very close to Paddington station, and in front of the hotel there is a small park. You also have an Indian Cuisine restaurant next to the hotel's entrance that I suggest you don't go to very often though the food is ok, but they will make you pay more than you would expect.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room space
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

The photos on the hotel's website are quite misleading, especially the reception which was unrecogniseable from the photo. However, after reading reviews before our trip we were prepared. Despite the bedroom and shower room being very small, which was sufficient for three nights, we found the room to be confortable, warm and very clean. The towels were changed and the room cleaned every day, which was great and the young male receptionist was helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location. We didn't have breakfast but presume it's still in the cafe around the corner as there is no breakfast room at the reception, where there is building work going on. We found this hotel to be good value for money and played a large part in a very enjoyable stay in London.

  • Liked — Cleanliness - warm, comfortable room
  • Disliked — unsightly and disorganised reception
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank natd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

I've been using the Boulevard hotel 1-2 times a year since 2004. I usually fly to London for a long weekend for some shopping and cultural pleasures, travelling either alone or with my hubby. I have always been content with the price/quality ratio, and this trip was no exception.

The Boulevard is a small, modern hotel, and is, like most of small hotels in London, situated in an old townhouse.

The rooms are tiny, but clean and functional with Scandinavian style modern decor: light wood, laminate floors, flat screen tv etc. The bed in double rooms is a queen-size one, and in single rooms there's a single bed. The beds are comfy and the bedlinen has always been immaculately clean. There is a small cupboard/dressing table unit (with a hairdryer) in each room, but that's about it regarding the storage space. If you have a lot of luggage, you might want to consider one of the bigger double rooms. There are coffee/tea -making facilities in each room. I've usually had a room at the back where it's quieter, but had no trouble sleeping in a room facing the street. But if you are a very light sleeper, bring earplugs. There is also some noise from the corridor, but only occasionally. (Having said that, during my last visit the floorboards in the room above creaked when the occupant walked there, but it was not that bad).

The bathrooms are really tiny, but clean and feature everything needed. The showers have good water pressure and enough hot water. There are soap/shower gel dispensers and towels are changed daily.

During the last year or so, the hotel's owner has apparently changed. The rooms have also had a small facelift (new curtains etc), and the prices have gone up slightly. Previously, the hotel reception area acted also as the breakfast area (breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, coffee/tea, juice), but in March 2008 the reception area was under renovation and we got breakfast coupons for the cafe next door instead.

In most cases, the hotel staff has been friendly and informative, and they have let me store my bags for the day at the reception after the check-out if I've had an evening flight home.

The Paddington area is filled with restaurants & pubs and the transportation links both to Heathrow & city centre are excellent: Paddington rail station and several tube lines within 5 mins walk. There is also a handy bus connection, line 23, that runs to Liverpool Station 24/7 for easy access to the Stansted Exporess and Stansted airport. The bus stops right in front of the hotel.

This hotel is perfect for someone that is looking for a comfy place to sleep in, but does not want much more from the hotel. The rooms are suitable for max. 2 people with not that much luggage. There's no lift at the hotel, so be prepared to carry your own luggage up the stairs. I recommend this hotel for independent travellers, tourists and other people who are looking for a clean, reasonably-priced place to stay.

To sum it up: nice little hotel with small but clean rooms. Good connections. Know what to expect, and you'll like it.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, price/quality ratio.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lotsoftravel08
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

DO NOT STAY HERE. The photos on the website are nothing like what the actual hotel is. Small rooms - I am 5'9" and I could easily reach one side of the room with my hands and one side with my feet. You can barely fit in the bathroom and there is no room for luggage. The breakfast was horrible and the staff barely spoke English. BEWARE.

  • Liked — Close to Paddington Station.
  • Disliked — The staff who didn't speak English.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lotsoftravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Avon Hotel
#876 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#620 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#771 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
The Belvedere
#644 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Hotel

Property: Boulevard Hotel
Address: 10 Norfolk Place | Bayswater, London W2 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #843 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boulevard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing