We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Devonport House
Ranked #394 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great location, good size rooms and pleasant and obliging staff. Great attractions in Greenwich itself and good transport links into Central London. Bedrooms clean and a good size as was the bathroom. Small car parking charge but very reasonable for such a short walk into the hotel lobby. Would very much recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

Sadly I could not reply any earlier, as I have only recently joined the venue.


Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    517
    247
    62
    29
See reviews for
198
708
41
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here for one night with my partner. The location was perfect, we took a stroll to the River Thames and had something to eat at one of the restaurants there and with the sunset it was lovely. Our reason for coming to this hotel was just to have a night away and i'm glad I chose this location.

The check in process was quick and the reception lady was very polite. Once getting to the room I was quite disappointed, it was very small and quite bland. The blind in the bathroom didn't close properly so that was annoying whilst trying to take a shower. I thought I was getting a double bed but it was two single beds pushed together which seemed to move as soon as you sat on it. This was very uncomfortable which resulted me to driving back to Portsmouth at 4.30 in the morning to my own bed. Our beds were very close to the door so I heard people going in and out their rooms during the night.

The bar area was very nice, I enjoyed having a drink in there with my partner. You can eat there aswell which I would do next time if I return.

Overall, I enjoyed the hotel location and I would go back but only if I could try a different room, as other reviews seem to have nice rooms :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Gosport,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

I am sorry to see that you had to drive ack to Portsmouth to get your sleep, as this was a big set-back.
I only joined the hotel recently, so was not able to reply earlier.

I hope you will return and we get the chcnce to ensure you have a good night sleep in our bed this time.


Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I stopped there using a 3 night room only deal. Easy to get to and has parking for extra £5 per night. The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful and polite. I asked for a room with a view and they gave a me a room with a pleasant view over the lawns towards the Cutty Sark. The curtains were great for blacking out the morning sun and the noise level was low, even though I looked towards a main road. Greenwich is very nice for a short break. I recommend the park, observatory and the nearby pubs and Pie and Mash shop!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupertatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Rupertatkinson,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I have only recently joined, hence you only get an acknowledgement now.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.


Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is inside a fantastic old structure and the location is amazing. There's lots to do and see in the local area. As the building is so lovely from the outside it's a shame that the rooms are pretty bland and characterless- like a motel. The bed was comfortable though and the price was very good and the bathroom was clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyCruiseFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear LadyCruiseFan,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I have only recently joined, hence you have not had an acknowledgement been posted.
We are looking into the decor design and what we can do on your point raised.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fine hotel for the price, lovely bed with big pillows and plenty layers.
Room came with nice hot chocolate and selection of teas to drink, a little kettle and Scottish biscuits.
We weren't super pleased with the cleanliness as the carpet was filthy and the tiles and around the taps were dirty. The room itself was very small for so-called 'deluxe' booking.
Lastly there was not a flat-screen tv in the room as advertised when we booked.

In general a mild disappointment but as we really only slept and washed there we weren't too bothered. We'd still recommend it for the price and location, if you were the complaining kind I'm sure you could be given a larger room.

We recommend going for breakfast at the local Greenwich market, cuisines for all over the world available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear misspickle,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

As I only recently have joined the venue, I will be looking into the matters mentioned.
Cleanliness is one of our biggest standards and I am sorry on this occaison our team has let you and us down.


Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely hotel. Right next to the Maritime museum and below the hill walk to the observatory. On the other side a short walk to the Cutty Sark and all the lively places around that. Room spacious and comfortable, breakfast the high quality British Breakfast you can only find in the smaller hotels. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Small disadvantage was that traffic on the main road byond the garden starts quite early and on a warm day with the windows open this can wake you up. So next time I will request a room on the inside which should be quieter. But if you have seen enough of the large chain hotels this is a very welcome change.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Dutch1505,

Thank you very much for your kind review about Devonport House.

As I only recently joined, I could not acknowledged this any earlier.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Loved the hotel,loved the history of the place and the character. Beautiful gardens at the front of the hotel,wonderful to relax in. Excellent location,right next to lovely Greenwich Park and near to the historical Cutty Sark. Some very good bars and restaurants nearby. Breakfast here very good and good value,nice restaurant and comfortable lounge bar with a lovely outdoor seating area. Very nice room and bathroom,both spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed. Friendly and professional staff...especially the very entertaining guy at the restaurant ! Just could not fault the hotel at all and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Karen ,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I only started recently, so could not acknowledge your comments before.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#414 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#236 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Greenwich
Innkeeper's Lodge London Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Devonport House

Property: De Vere Devonport House
Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Business Hotel in London
#276 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Romantic Hotel in London
#349 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the World Heritage Site in Greenwich and steeped in naval history, De Vere Devonport House offers you the perfect way to enjoy the London buzz, without the bustle.Bedrooms: 94 en-suite, complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs with Sky Channels, DDI Telephones, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, iron & ironing board, full length mirror, laptop safe and desk space. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 14 meeting rooms & 9 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 120 Food & Drink: Restaurant & bar, internet cafe, and a selection of hot drinks available off the coffee menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing