We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, room uncomfortably hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Devonport House
Ranked #400 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, room uncomfortably hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three days on business. The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to Greenwich Park. My room was too hot and the window could only be opened a few inches, not enough to cool the room and at the expense of increasing exposure to traffic noise. The provision of a fan did little to cool the room. In addition the curtains and blind did not do a good job in keeping the room dark. Not what you want at 5 am on a bright June morning. On departure I raised these issues at checkout and suggested that guest should be advised to wear eye masks. The receptionist appeared completely disinterested in my feedback. Good from the point of view of location. Poor from the point of view of getting a good nights sleep.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineO47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear GeraldineO47,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am sad to hear that you feel so disheartend about your time with us. Due to the fact that we are a Grade1 listed building on a world heritage site, we are not allowed to get air conditioning installed. We would love to get this sorted-out.

I hope you do return to us and we are than able to show you that we do care about our guests and their feedback.


Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    501
    241
    62
    29
See reviews for
195
692
40
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is in a fabulous location, right in the heart of Greenwich, less than 5 mins walk from Greenwich Park, and not far from the Cutty Sark and the Thanes in the opposite direction.

Sat nav works well and depending on what time of day you arrive may bring you through the park itself. There isn't a huge amount of car parking. So aim to get here at a reasonable time, and make sure the you give reception your registration details, or you are likely to get a ticket.

Staff were ok, but no more than that. Not good at giving information about hotel facilities. Our room was fine, although hot, and our view out of the window was a cemetery.

Room service menu looked great although we ate out on this occasion. . Internet worked fine.

Breakfast was poor, service negligible, and food lukewarm, although they had only just opened.

Whole place had the air of an old gentleman's club.

Worth putting up with all the negatives though to stay in such a great area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Angie,

Thank you very much for your review.

We do have 66 car parking spaces at the hotel and they are on a first-come, first-serve basis. From some of our bedrooms the view is indeed of a small graveyard, which is part of the reason why we are on a world heritage site. It is the mausoleum for Lord Nelson and a huge landmark for any naval historian visiting Greenwich.
I am sorry that you found the staff and their service not impressive but will be using your feedback to coach them to improve this.

Once again than you very much for your feedback and I hope you will be coming back to stay with us in Greenwich.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
458 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Great location next to the maritime museum. Walking distance from the river, many excellent pubs and the Cutty Sark. Friendly and efficient staff. Nice bar and courtyard. The only downside is on a hot day the rooms get very warm, there is no air conditioning and the windows only open a little. Sorting this one thing would make this hotel excellent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Montyf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing your review.

I am very pleased that you mentioned our great staff, as this is something we are very proud of.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon to Greenwich.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location, but the service is very average - I asked house keeping not to come in and they then knocked every half and hour until I did eventually let them in. The menu says some items are available after 10pm - reception says no room service is available after 10pm. Rooms are average - no fridge, mini bar, air con, toiletries weak - so unless you're completely sold on the location don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am disapointed that we were not able to impress you more on your stay with us. Sadly we are not able to implement air conditioning as we are a Grade1 listed building on a world heritage site! This fact can not be changed and in modern live this becomes yet so important.

We will be using your feedback to identify areas we can improve and hope to welcome you back iagain here at Devonport House.


Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were of a good standard and I loved the bar area. The staff were were friendly helpful and welcoming.

The location is fabulous Greenwich is a nice area and at just a short stroll out of the hotel there are some fantastic pubs and restaurants. We had a lovely meal at the nearby Vietnamese oriental restaurant and would recommend this place to anyone.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svl87blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back to Devonport House in the near future.

Kind regards,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were greeted by kasha who couldn't do enough she gave us a free room upgrade and the room was excellent I briefly men
tioned it was my partners birthday and a lovely assortment of chocolates greeted us when we returned to our room I have been to many devere hotels and this is the best by far thank you kasha

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Brady1965,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is our aim to surprise and delight our customers, once we find out it's a special occaison or anniversary.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Devonport House in the near future.


Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location and we were pleased with the convenience of getting to O2 and being able to browse Greenwich Village the following day. The service was good. This is why I give it 3 stars. The disappointments were that the room looked a bit tired and it was unfortunately a bit smelly. Couldn't exactly pin point why it smelt as it is a non smoking hotel but the room smelt of cigarettes. We didn't have time to change our room as we had been delayed getting to the hotel and I am sure we would have been accommodated had we asked to move. For £125 per night mid week, it was an average experience. We have stayed at other hotels in Greenwich and the overall experience was better for a similar price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_loves_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear travel_loves_73,

Thank you very much for your comments.

It's a shame that you where pushed for time and we therefore did not have the chance to improve your view of our venue. The bedrooms are non-smoking and we are controlling this as good as we can to ensure every guest has a fresh smelling room on arrival.

Hopefully you will return to Greenwciah and will be staying with us again.


Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#419 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#247 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Greenwich
Innkeeper's Lodge London Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Devonport House

Property: De Vere Devonport House
Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Business Hotel in London
#282 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Romantic Hotel in London
#349 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the World Heritage Site in Greenwich and steeped in naval history, De Vere Devonport House offers you the perfect way to enjoy the London buzz, without the bustle.Bedrooms: 94 en-suite, complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs with Sky Channels, DDI Telephones, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, iron & ironing board, full length mirror, laptop safe and desk space. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 14 meeting rooms & 9 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 120 Food & Drink: Restaurant & bar, internet cafe, and a selection of hot drinks available off the coffee menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing