We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Devonport House
Ranked #394 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at The Devonport for 2 nights at the weekend. We asked to change our original room as it was a little small & stuffy - the staff were very helpful & dealt with this efficiently despite the hotel being very busy. The second room was well appointed, although very hot due to the exceptional weather - there was a fan but it was old & noisy, maybe some good quality ceiling fans would get over the problem of not being able to instal a/c. There was quite a lot of road noise too, but this is unavoidable given the location, so there is nothing the hotel can do about it. The bed was comfortable, but there were only single pillows & they were a bit lumpy.
Breakfast was very good, there was plenty of choice and we particularly appreciated the local sausages, which were excellent quality. As ever with a buffet breakfast, some items has dried out & got a bit hard & cold; I don't understand why hotels don't prepare smaller batches. On the second morning, some items had run out, including plates. This was sorted when a staff member was notified. I cannot write about breakfast without mentioning the wonderful breakfast service manager - you could not help but smile with his greeting & I'm not a morning person! He was such a character & so enthusiastic about his job - what a breath of fresh air.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the middle of beautiful Greenwich - we arrived by river, what a treat! As well as the many local attractions, the DLR/tube are really close for convenient travel to other parts of the capital.
We've stayed in numerous hotels in London, & The Devonport scores highly on service, location & overall experience & we would definitely stay there again. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MooneysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear MooneysMum,

What a fair and nice review of our venue.

We are looking into some of your suggestions and hopefully can therefore still improve our service and offerings. The local sausages are a true treat and since we changed them have brought us a lot of great feedback.

Once again thank you for the suggestions and we hopefully in the near future we are able to welcome you back at Devoport House.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is in a marvellous location in the centre of Greenwich - right next to Greenwich Park and alongside the Maritime Museum, and a short step to the Cutty Sark.
The hotel is bright, modern and well appointed. Our room was large with a bath as well as a shower. Service was good - we asked late at night for extra pillows and they were delivered to our door within minutes.
Parking is good - not free, but a reasonable £5 which entitles you to park on the day of arrival and all the following day.
Breakfast is a buffet - but the food was hot, with good quality bacon and sausages. The serving staff were excellent, and we passed comment on this at reception. They were constantly watching and refilling things that were running out without prompting, and anticipating diners needs. Considering that this was not a 'silver service' restaurant at breakfast we were very impressed.
We have stayed here twice now, and will be back again!

Room Tip: A good thing to know is that there are spare tea bags, coffee, fruit and biscuits in the internet ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JaneHNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operatiopns Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear janeHNottingham,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am very pleased that you mentioned theh ard working staff, as this part is so often overlooked. Our staff and their willingness are a hugh asset to the venue and one we are very proud of.

Reading your comment we surely will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Tiom Gehrke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lovely clean and comfortable rooms. Full size bathrooms. Good location for the DLR and plenty of good restaurants. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food. On the downside we were there on the hotests 2 days of the year and the fan provided was not enough to combat the intense heat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, OPerations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear janeeb,

Thank you very much for your review.

Regretably I read you had to combat the hotest 2 days of the year with our fan's. We would love to eliminate this issue but due to the World Heritage site we are on this we are unable to get this changed.

I am pleased you still gave the hard working team a fair score, as they would also like to have air conditioning throughout the whole building.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were amazed by how central the hotel was, right next door to the Maritime Museum. You can easily spend a whole day in the area walking around the nearby attractions.

Car parking was an extra £5 a night so if you plan well you can arrive early and have all that day to explore and leave late on the last day without additional charge.

We had room 117 which was a large light and airy twin overlooking the inner courtyard. It was very peaceful and although a bit warm there was a fan provided.

In addition to the tea, coffee and packet of biscuits in the room you will also find a comfort station up the stairs that are in front of reception. If you are early enough in the day you will also find fruit, biscuits and flapjacks as well as the drinks which is a really nice touch.

There are a couple of free computers to use attached to printers which helped us print out some last minute tour info.

At the moment your can do the books about town Greenwich trail which will take you past some interestingly painted benches.
http://www.booksabouttown.org.uk/?action=ViewTrail&Id=4

Nearby there are loads of restaurants and many are very reasonably priced.

Greenwich and Cutty Sark DLR stations are close by or you can catch a boat along the Thames and at the moment tickets for this are half price so another great deal.

Would definitely stay there again when the deals come up through De Vere.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms facing the river would give you a nice view over the gardens but could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nudrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear nudrover,

Many thanks for your great travel review.

It offers some great tips and tricks for other travellers to get the true picture about how well we are located within Greenwich.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here at Devonport House and remain in the meantime with

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

fine if there is an r in the month.

This hotel has an excellent location near to the attractions in Greenwich, very good staff in reception, reasonable beds, clean rooms of a decent size, bath sheets rather than towels, cotton sheets, breakfast was good, coffee machines available during the day and while parking is not free it's a reasonable price. Mixer taps to please American visitors. Unfortunately it was also excessively hot and the curtains don't keep light out, so while it would be a lovely hotel in winter in summer it would rate 2 stars if I'd paid the rack rate as a decent night's sleep isn't available with open windows, early flights from the City airport and too much light in the room. Since I paid a discounted rate it rates 3 stars. We did have a fan but that adds to the noise and didn't make a lot of difference to the room temperature.

I appreciate this is a listed building and air conditioning is not possible. However there is no excuse for the light coming round the sides of the curtains or under the room door from the corridor. Corridor lights that are on sensors would reduce the light pollution, since all lights generate some heat marginally reduce the heat in the hotel and of course save on energy costs. We left towels on the rack to reuse but I think they were still replaced.

Greenwich is an interesting place to visit and I'd be happy to stay in this hotel in cooler weather.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank buzzard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear buzzard2000,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We will be looking into the issue raised with the light and also how we could be more energy friendly as we are already aiming to be very energy user friendly.

Hopefully we can impress you more on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert at the O2. We had lunch in one of the restaurants nearby, there is a good selection with a few mins walk. Cutty sark is literally at end if the road. We caught the boat to the O2 & taxi back after concert it was £12. Hotel was clean, comfy & friendly helpful staff. Would use again

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank wrightlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear wrightlinz,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review.
Having given some great travel advise to others wanting to attend an event at the O2, i am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is in a lovely spot next to the Maritime Museum, and handily located for the Royal Observatory, Cutty Sark and the O2 Arena. The Clipper pier is close by, and there are good connections via the DLR.

Service was friendly and efficient, and the room was good. However, there is no air-conditioning, and on a hot couple of days this was a serious drawback. Given the high prices we paid for the room we would expect comfort in the room. Also, the hotel is close to the flight-path for London City airport. Flights seem to start early in the morning, and the noise levels were high.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jonathan L,

Thank you very much for your review.

As a Grade 1 listed building on a world heritage site, making any modern changes like air conditioning is not possible. That's why we have provided 60% of our bedrooms with fans to combat the heat.
Whilest we are understanding your point, we have sadly no way of changing this. I am pleased that you enjoyed the locations around the hotel and hope that we are able to welcome you back in trhe near future.

Kind regards,

Tim Gehrke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#446 of 1,078 in London
2,704 reviews
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#439 of 1,078 in London
1,242 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#254 of 1,078 in London
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,078 in London
1,491 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Devonport House

Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Business Hotel in London
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#311 Romantic Hotel in London
#348 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £78 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the World Heritage Site in Greenwich and steeped in naval history, De Vere Devonport House offers you the perfect way to enjoy the London buzz, without the bustle.Bedrooms: 99 en-suite, complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs with Sky Channels, DDI Telephones, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, iron & ironing board, full length mirror, laptop safe and desk space. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 14 meeting rooms & 9 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 120 Food & Drink: Restaurant & bar, internet cafe, and a selection of hot drinks available off the coffee menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Vere Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing