We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was not clean in 3 days!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel
Ranked #548 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 25 November 2011

On the 3 days that i stay they did not clean the floor
The breakfast was ok
If you are searching for a budget place this is the right place

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regenb00g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here with 4 friends during the NFL Wembley weekend.
Arrived to be told our room was on the top floor with no option of a lift. A 74 step trip did little to help our 1st impressions.
The room had 2 bunks & a single & was swelteringly hot, largely thanks to hot water pipes running around one wall & a tiny window.
The view from the window consisted of the back of another hotel, in front of discarded toiletries & even clothes from previous occupants.
The beds were very small, with barely enough room to roll over, a thin mattress & 1 pillow.
The room itself was unclean behind & under the beds with more discarded items. There was only 2 power points accessible, with a further 2 blocked by a set of bunks.
The nearest toilet & shower were in a room with a high step up to the cubicle & lavatory that would become slippery after a shower & was a hazard. The shower was weak & very difficult to maintain a constant temperature. The next nearest shower to our room was in its own room, but was stone cold.
Bizarrely, we had to bring our own linen down at the end of our stay or we would forfeit our deposits.
On the plus side, the hostel is in a nice area of London, with access to a busy high street & good tube links. However, even coupled with the low price, this wasn't enough of a saving grace.
Even as a base to simply leave your belongings, sleep, get clean & explore the city from, I could not in good faith recommend staying here unless you had no other option.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveWBhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I chose it basically for the neighborhood, (Bayswater is on a walking distance to Notting Hill and Kensington Park, High St Kensington and its museums, a couple of blocks away from the tube - watch out, because some Circle line stations are closed during the summer due to renovations) and its price. But, honestly I would have preferred to pay a bit more, and get cleaner bathrooms/ toilets. The kitchen is not equipped, unless you leave a deposit to get pans and other kitchen stuff. Basically, if you are just looking to save, this is your place. But don't expect more.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank ccmi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Only positive from this hostel is that the 12 bed dorms on ground floor are very spacious. However 6 bed dorms are very cramped.
This place is THE WORST HOSTEL we have ever stayed in, I'm being nice leaving out the profanity. Kitchen was a disgrace and building patch jobs were less than perfect, ie non working lights and lack of hot water. Just a general feeling and appearance of staying in a partially condemned building filled to capacity. Front desk not very friendly, tried to extend stay and charged a lot more than web prices. This place has potential, but if you can spare a few extra pounds go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shez222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I had made a reservation through booking.com for a 4-bed dorm, but it hadn't been processed. It wasn't that they had lost the booking - they found the email - it was just that no-one had reserved a bed for me. As a result I had to stay in a 5 bed dorm the first night then change to a ten bed dorm.

The breakfast was a joke – a tiny kitchen that couldn't accommodate everyone, tiny bowls with one choice of cereal and cheap white bread that came out of the toaster barely darkened.

The showers were bad too – tiny spouts that gave out very little water and were all timer operated so that they kept cutting out.

The wi-fi worked ok if you were on the ground floor (reception/common room), but I noticed of the seven or so desktop computers five were broken.

The roof was full of asbestos too, so there were warning signs all over it.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
Thank Darth_Hutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

we spent there just one night so its a little bit hard to judge off that, however the first impression is that this hostel is nothing special: the room was small with few space for the suitcases and really hot at night, the bed and the toilets (just two for 20 people!) were not too clean. however the position is perfect, just right in front of the tube station. there are better hostels nearby

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmeRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Ive stayed 2 times in this hostel.The rooms are a bit crowded for the mix dorms but quite clean. Toilets and bathroom are located in certain floors but clean. As for security, key cards are used to enter the dorm area but lockers are available in certain dorms. Breakfast are included and serve till 9 am and the pantry closes at midnite. Forget it if you want to prepare late snack at the pantry. The receptionist is quite friendly and the service is quite ok. At one time i checked in early with my friends since they have bed availability and they also offered me breakfast!!. As for the location, it is very near to the tube station. Only 2 minutes walk from Bayswater tube station. Tesco and fast food outlet is just around the corner. I recommend to stay in this hostel to travelers who are seeking cheap but value for money hostel in London.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movie_buff36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#60 of 956 in London
2,219 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#141 of 956 in London
296 reviews
RestUp London
#412 of 956 in London
559 reviews
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel

Address: 48-50 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £11 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 165 yrd from Bayswater Underground Station and Hyde Park, Smart Hyde Park Inn offers budget dormitories with free WiFi access throughout. There is a spacious shared kitchen and 24-hour front desk. Set in a grand period property, the large dormitories have elegant decor and original features. There are plenty of shared bathroom facilities, and guests can use a hairdryer and ironing facilities. Smart Hyde Park features a common room with comfortable seating, computers and a flat-screen TV. There is also a modern kitchen with an oven, refrigerator and microwave, and continental breakfasts are served daily. Smart Hyde Park Inn is a 20-minute walk from Marble Arch and Oxford Street. Lively Soho is a 40-minute walk from the building, and the famous Leicester Square is a 10-minute Tube ride away. Westminster is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping, Theater and Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing