We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, cheap, thats about all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel
Ranked #536 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Apart from price and Location this was the low point of accommodation in Europe for me. We paid for a 3 bed private, dont be fooled, its a bunk with a double on the bottom (kinda funny, but check my photo) and very small room. Plus the stairs up there are horrendous. Only got 1 hour of Wifi per day, which constantly had issues (starbucks is close by though), then it costs you. The staff seemed to be constantly in arguments with customers

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

The best thing about this hostel was great location, very close to Central Line. You could easily get anywhere around city.
Nice people in reception. Room was really small. Two bunk beds squeezed in a very small space.Toilets and shower room need good clean up.
You have to pay extra for locker.
Deposit for key must be paid in cash (£ 10).
You can loose your deposit if you check out after 10 AM. They are strict about it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

In 20+ years travelling the world for business and pleasure, this is one of the worst places I've ever stayed at. They packs in more beds per square feet than imaginable. As a result there's nowhere near enough space to accommodate all guest whom end up working and hanging out in hallways and staircases. Rooms are unbearably cramped, with twice the amount of beds than what would be comfortable and absolutely no room for luggage. The showers & toilets are absolutely filthy. The tiny kitchen which has no dishes, cups or cutlery of any sort is also filthy with rodent traps stern around. The included "breakfast", only served 7:30 to 9:80, is of the lowest quality possible and practically inexistent and the kitchen is off limits 9:30 to 11:00 so if you miss it, you're out of luck. Not even going to go into the renovation work with the noise, smells and clutter that goes with. This is truly a very sad place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks last fall. I have limited experience w/hostels in Europe, so keep that in
mind. There were several aspects of this hostel that I appreciated. I met some really nice folks
who were staying here and most of the staff was helpful. The cacoon- stacked beds were
short (just long enough for me at 5'6") so my adult son was never really comfortable. There was
theft (maybe guest did not take adequate precautions) and the misery that causes. We were
each given a locked storage bin at our beds and I got no details on the expensive camera that went missing. I did not look at any of the other hostels in the area and there are many. The
location was very convenient to a wide range of restaurants, transportation and Hyde Park for walking. There are free breakfasts included in the price. Next time I will shop around more.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before signing up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Our first stop in London to check rates. This was 2pounds more than the one up the street but I wish we would have stopped here for the first night. It didn't take long to move in the morning.!!!! The staff here were warm and friendly. The kitchen and tv room were downstairs and the computer room were on the small side for the amount of people. Met some great people here and would come back. Location to the tube and food stores was great.

Room Tip: Check the bathrooms first before you stay. The one up the street from here had roaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

There are some nice people working over there and putting their heart to keep this hostel working, however the place is behind the standards, specially for the place like London. this hostel is far far behind to reach the basic standards. Good to stay for one or two nights, but if you stay longer, there are better places for sure

Room Tip: Not recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This was the worst Hostel I have stayed in throughout Europe. It was overpriced and with way too many beds put in each room. The staff was friendly, but didn't seem overly concerned with concerns that were happening. I was in a room with 20 other people and it was an extremely tight fit and hard to sleep with that many people coming in at every single hour. Everything was an extra add on, and so the overpriced hostel became even more expensive. The bathrooms were very small and not very clean. Redeeming factors are that the beds have a curtain to pull and make your personal space dark and the location is actually great. Very close to the underground and restaurants.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#157 of 923 in London
291 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#61 of 923 in London
2,141 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Abercorn House
Abercorn House
#459 of 923 in London
740 reviews
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel

Address: 48-50 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £13 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 165 yrd from Bayswater Underground Station and Hyde Park, Smart Hyde Park Inn offers budget dormitories with free WiFi access throughout. There is a spacious shared kitchen and 24-hour front desk. Set in a grand period property, the large dormitories have elegant decor and original features. There are plenty of shared bathroom facilities, and guests can use a hairdryer and ironing facilities. Smart Hyde Park features a common room with comfortable seating, computers and a flat-screen TV. There is also a modern kitchen with an oven, refrigerator and microwave, and continental breakfasts are served daily. Smart Hyde Park Inn is a 20-minute walk from Marble Arch and Oxford Street. Lively Soho is a 40-minute walk from the building, and the famous Leicester Square is a 10-minute Tube ride away. Westminster is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping, Theater and Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing