We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really awful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barmy Badger Backpackers
Ranked #58 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really awful place.”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

GOOD: Nice quarter, close to metro, a lot of shops, restaurants and bars in 5 min by walk. The receptionist was really nice, kind and friendly, i guess it was only because of him i stayed the all 4 nights. Such a poor guy to sell such rooms! Kitchen was nice also, we could cook etc.
BAD: the room was really horrible: i guess it was room #1 which was under the ground floor, with a bed 1.5m of hight, with self made furniture of wood chipboard. The window was near the stairs to the backyard, so everyone could see what's in. The curtain was broken. Oh, there is also a shower cabin in the room, that's why it was very humid. All this was in a room 9 square meters. For the last two days we've moved to a room upstairs. I thought that we had the worst room in the hotel but after i regret about the first one. The mattress was made of nylon, the sheet was crumple and in the morning i found myself on the bare mattress. Last night i could sleep at all. During the night the was a lot of noise from the street. The shower on the floor was half broken. The water overrun the shower cabin. Brief, AWFUL!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeClichet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    34
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
21
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We arrived at about 10pm after being informed that our reservation in another hostel had been denied and they worked hard to suggest alternatives for us and made sure we had a place to stay for the night. We immediately reserved two beds for the following night and found a place nearby to stay for that night since they were full. The rooms were small but clean and the breakfast was simple but plentiful. The building was well looked after and the staff, again, was really kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2006

Like many hostels, it's pretty basic with cubby holes for your stuff and a bunch of bunkbeds. Unlike many hostels, it's not the cleanest or the best built. I stayed for a few nights in a co-ed 6 bed room. Lots of Aussies apparently stay practically permanently working in London on a short term basis because the pound is so much stronger than the Aussie dollar. So, half my room were these working Aussies. They're nice but they nearly took over the room like it was theirs.

The sheets were well used (getting thin and pilling). The bathroom in the room was awful. It was incredibly cramped and obviously an afterthought. It was an addition to the room built of plastic with a slow drain. And with the semi-permanent roomies, all their stuff was on every shelf. I ended up using the communal bathroom one level below which was nice and clean with tile too. Very roomy but the shower stall was a bit small. My room's bathroom was subpar compared to other hostels but the other one was average. Both were completely private though. Other hostels I've been to separate toilets from showers or are like dorms where it's one giant bathroom with individual stalls.

My bed was lumpy and had sticky stuff on it and on the railings and on the shelf. Gross! I think it was candy but does no one clean?? The window could not be opened nor fully closed. I think it was broken. The carpet probably was never vacuumed. Maybe I'm short (I'm really average sized) but I didn't have a problem with hitting my head on anything and I was on the topmost bunk.

The kitchen wasn't great. The tubs of margarine and strawberry jam was gross and messy (sticky sides). The bread was moldy! It was confusing too as to what is for everyone to eat versus what belonged to people. The kitchen towels were all wet. Who knows if they've been laundered. Overall, much to be desired. Subpar in relation to other hostels.

The staff was super friendly though. I asked him stuff from where to get eel pies to getting a UK passport and he answered it all. The "backpackers" though seemed more cliquish probably because so many stay for extended periods of time. The "real" backpackers were friendly to each other like in other hostels.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domotofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 March 2006

We stayed at the barmy badger in march 06 the girlfriend and i were in a 4 person dorm is was good (basic) the room was clean as was the bathrooms there is a good kitchen down stairs and the tv room got sky and nice sofas to sit on (it rains in london ) the staff were friendly and helpfull . The breakfast could do with some work but its free and so is the tea and coffie over all i would recomend it it is very close to all the sites .

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 December 2005

Do Not Stay at the Barmy Badger! We to were fooled by untrue reviews. The renovations have not been done! The place is rundown and needs serious work. The bathrooms are dirty and small. The beds are uncomfortable and dirty the sheets are stained and have cigarette burns in them. Also we returned from a job interview one day and our room had been entered for bug spraying without our consent. They threw our stuff all over the floor NOT HAPPY! The breakfast is great if you enjoy expired milk and stale cornflakes! And the giant tubs of margarine and i think its meant to be strawberry jam are disgusting to say the least. Steer clear of the Badger.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Saint James Backpackers
Saint James Backpackers
#79 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
East End / East London
Park Villa Boutique Hostel
Park Villa Boutique Hostel
#42 of 823 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#30 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#68 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barmy Badger Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barmy Badger Backpackers

Property: Barmy Badger Backpackers
Address: 17 Longridge Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barmy Badger (or "The Badger") is a small, friendly Backpackers hostel in Earls Court. The Badger is unique in that we are the only hostel in London that has dogs who come into work with the hostel owners! We have NO HIDDEN COSTS. Included in the price of your stay are the following: 120 megabyte WiFi in all rooms, communal areas and the garden Breakfast (cornflakes, muesli, toast, a selection of spreads & a selection of fruit Use of personal locker which has a laptop safe inside (bring your own padlock) Use of the fully equipped kitchen Use of the bbq and help yourself to our herbs and fruit grown in the garden Luggage storage on the day of arrival and departure if needed Tea and coffee all day Plenty of power sockets, including USB chargers Taxi bookings London Maps Boardgames Cable TV Book exchange Travel advice Boarding pass print out (one per person) Towels, adaptors and hairdryers are available to use with a fully refundable cash deposit. Optional extras for a small fee - laundry, long term bag storage and padlocks for sale. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barmy Badger Backpackers Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing