We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for a budget trip”
Review of Abercorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abercorn House
Ranked #482 of 959 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in late October and were very pleased.

We originally booked a room with shared facilities but were upgraded upon arrival to an ensuite room for no extra cost! Perfect start!

Rooms were quite small but quiet and perfect for one night! The decor was very modern and our room looked as though it had been very recently refurbished - everything was new. Everything was very very very clean. Before we stayed there were no reviews mentioning cockroaches and other reviews on here about cockroaches have made me feel a bit uneasy now but there was no sign of any when we stayed - as a clean-freak the cleanliness of the hotel was one of its best features!

You do have to pay in cash but I don't think this is much of a problem.

The location is FAB! Less than a 5 minute walk from the tube and you can be in central London in around 20 minutes!

The man on reception was courteous and polite but we didn't use any of the other services on offer.

Only downside was our room was very cold, maybe the radiator wasn't turned on. But this didn't really matter as we just wanted somewhere to sleep and freshen up.

Overall, a great choice for anyone wanting cheap, clean, simple accommodation close to central London

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed five nights from 1 to 7 January. It's a quiet location, near buses, tube station and shopping area. It's close enough to West End with various lines running and relatively cheap for double room. It also has facilities - kitchen equipped with various gadgets, and fridges in the room, which makes it possible to cook your own food and don't have to spend a fortune on eating out. The cafe next to the reception is well stocked, TV room and internet access very handy and cheap. Very clean, especially bed linen and towels, which is one of the most important points for me, and warm and cosy. Friendly staff is another asset, so I'd definitely recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoriana_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed for 4 nights just before Christmas. We wanted something basic and nearby the main attractions of London. We were pleasantly surprised with Abercorn! The location was perfect: close enough to downtown to not spend long on the tube, but far enough away that we weren't spending an arm and a leg on the hostel.
We were really pleased with the cleanliness and warmth of the room, though it was a bit loud on the ground floor. The hostel allowed us to check in at 9 am, which was awesome as we'd just come off a red eye flight. The hostel is 2 minutes from the tub station and 3 minutes to a wide variety of shops, cafes and pubs. I was especially pleased with the amazingly hot, powerful shower in our ensuite.
I will definitely stay with Abercorn next time I am in London, and I will most definitely recommend it to friends!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank meghangw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in November 2012 with boyfreind. We had a double room with private bathroom, on first floor. Building has obviously just been redecorated, room was very clean, warm & quiet. freindly staff. near to Hammersmith Appollo & tube station, would definatley stay here again, a bargain!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is the second time I've stayed. I'm just updating to say that the refurbishment, that was causing some building work, has now finished (sep 2012). I asked for a quiet room and was given an immaculate double but not charged extra. Apart from that, it was as good as the first time I stayed, and I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room they put you away from the stairwell, which can be a bit nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here for one night, watching a band in London and four adults needed a place to stay. We booked a 4 person room, which had 4 bunk beds, wardrobe, Fridge, tea and coffee facilities. Also in the room was cutlery, plates, bowls and cups - which I thought was a great idea if we where going to use the kitchen or staying longer than 1 night.
The room was clean and warm. Reception staff very friendly.
We arrived home late (00.30) and where able to buy snacks from the foyer food counter (very good prices here, 50p for crisps/chocolate, £1.00 for a samosa)
The next morning we used the communal showers - basic room with individual showers in cubicles (like a swimming pool changing room or similar)
Parking on the street outside is free after 6.30pm (free on Sundays) and a meter has to be used outside these hours - quite expensive.
Hammersmith Tube is right at the end of the street - 2 mins walk - as is a shopping centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfun1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice, clean, not-to-old double bed room. Cool modern bathroom. Location doesn't look good on a map, but Hammersmith's high street is just around the corner, there are four different tube lines at Hammersmith station. 20 mins to Picadilly Circus, more than half an hour to the City and East End.
The only downside was the presence of cockroaches of some sorts. They were hiding under bed, closet and in nooks and cranies around the room, bathroom and hallway. In four days I killed five, and spotted some five more. So it's not like you are in a danger to be eaten alive.
It's still one of the best hostels I've ever slept in London.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#294 of 1,081 in London
740 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#60 of 959 in London
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#141 of 959 in London
296 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn House

Address: Abercorn 28-30 Bute Gardens | Hammersmith, London W6 7DS, England (Formerly Abercorn House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 959 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £16 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abercorn House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abercorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammersmith Rooms Bute Gardens Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing