We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible nousy unfriendly réception staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abercorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abercorn House
Ranked #448 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“horrible nousy unfriendly réception staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Staff @ réception were the most unfriendly and disgustin guys I have ever met in a hostel. They were two guys just acting like barking dogs. No smile, whatever i was asking they tryed to charge me extra money.
Example: Internet is 1 pound/hour or 5 pounds,
If you'll ask them for the 1 pound ticket, they'll tell you, they have only the 5 pounds one. Internet was not working well , but extremly slow.
I asked them for a locker to put my stuff, because i was in a dormitory, and it's always safer.
They answered me no lockers otherwise take a private room.....and so on.
Very Noisy place even with earplugs especialy slamming doors, and noisy guest

Room Tip: If you take a private room you'll still hear slamming doors and noisy low key guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    220
    197
    98
    120
See reviews for
72
292
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Location, exceptionally clean - cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Very secure - great locking. Good showers. Fridge in room - terrific. The room was very clean as were the toilets and showers. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk from hammersmith tube station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiamkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

booked for 6 nights. the night we checked in the counter staff (guy) was extremely turn-offish. not helpful, not friendly, not welcoming. he just gives off the vibe that he dont want to be there and couldnt give two hoots about who walked in. paid in full (after deposit when booking).

booked a double room ensuite. went in, the room was tiny (that is alright, at least still managed to accomodate 2 luggages). looks clean. floor was oily though. but overall fine.

the problem is, there was absolutely no ventilation at all whatsoever. no air-con, no fan. windows couldnt be opened (we tried). but even then i really dont suggest/recommend anybody to open as it opens up to a back alley where everybody else throws their big black garbage bags at.

so the whole tiny room was extremely stuffy and very lack of air. we were sweating in there just after 10 mins.

toilet was tiny (which was acceptable). sink drainage was extremely slow to the point it overflowed even when you are just brushing your teeth.

we perspired whilst we slept, extremely uncomfortable and we couldnt and didnt sleep well.

wanted to check out immediately but there were no rooms available in nearby hotels (we went out to ask around midnight) and we had a very early day tour the next day, so we had to grin and bear.

morning came, alarm rang and i went to off the alarm to prepare for the day tour. ended up slipping on a puddle of water that appeared out of no where. slammed my right knee cap on the floor, cut my finger and scrapped my right hip. until now after about 2 weeks, my knee cap still hurts.

managed to find a room on airbnb and moved out the very next night after our day tour.

wanted to speak to the counter guy but he didnt look helpful or friendly at all and honestly at that point in time we just wanted to get the hell out of that place. so we left. to which we admit, we should have spoken to the guy and see what can be done. but we just really want to leave fullstop.

2 days later emailed the hostel management, asking for a refund. didnt respond. sent several emails before finally getting a respond about 2 days later (if i remember correctly).

went down on the 2nd last day of our trip, the manager there asked why we didnt speak to any of them maybe they could have done something. but like i mentioned before, i agree that we should have spoken to them but just felt that they were not helpful or friendly and just simply want out.

however, the manager was kind enough to refund 50% of the amount i paid (minus the deposit). which is the only reason why i gave service 3 stars.

location is very good but i definitely wont recommend unless you dont mind a tiny room with bad sink and extremely bad ventilation (no air circulating at all) and a super black face counter staff (he probably is the night shift guy) that dont seemed to want to be there at all.

however, the price is not cheap either. maybe for london standards, yes. but for a hostel with that sort of room, i wouldnt pay any amount of money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Refurbished in 2012/3 (?) the house is clean and good condition. Located next to Hammersmith Station it's a 30min journey into the city by tube. Prices are modest, beds mattresses are rather worn and space is tight. Space in shared facilities is tight, no ways to hang your towel or clothings.
Public WiFi or Internet Cafe is 1 GBP / hour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hostel was in a fairly good location because the metro station is about 5 minutes walk from the hostel and it looks new and modern BUT I will not stay in this hostel anymore.

The reasons being:
1. We booked for three beds and were expecting that we could at least share a room together, but was told that it was very full so they had to separate us. That was okay, but when we POLITELY expressed slight dissatisfaction, the staff began to act rudely.

2. As mentioned, my friends and I did not get the same room, so one of my friend was given a key to access to another room, sharing with three other guys. But the key that was given by the rude staff did not work, so we went to talk to that staff. Perhaps he did not like being questioned or he could not handle complaints, he got offended and wanted to pick a fight with my friend. He even commanded him to go outside so they could fight? Is this how you react to your customers dissatisfactions? You fight them?

3. The toilet was horrible. Unflushed toilets, toilet papers everywhere on the floor, can’t control the temperature of the water etc.

To be honest this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed. I will never come back and please avoid if you want cleaner toilets and NICER staffs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Abercorn hostel for four nights and it was exactly what we needed : a cheap place to sleep. The hostel was really clean and the bed comfortable enough to get a good night of sleep. The best thing about this place is that it's a 2 minute walk from a metro station that connects three important lines. The only thing is that people are a little loud at night during the weekend (hey, who can blame them, they're on vacation after all!), so if you need complete silence to sleep, I would bring ear plugs.
Over all, a good place to rest after a long day of sightseeing.We were happy with our choice.

Room Tip: There's a fridge in the rooms and a place to cook on each floor. You'll get covers in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Lemay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#225 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Saint James Backpackers
Saint James Backpackers
#116 of 827 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
RestUp London
#445 of 827 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#71 of 827 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn House

Property: Abercorn House
Address: Abercorn 28-30 Bute Gardens | Hammersmith, London W6 7DS, England (Formerly Abercorn House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abercorn House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abercorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammersmith Rooms Bute Gardens Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing