We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares
Ranked #360 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you are wanting cheap accommodation, this is the place to stay. However the money you save on the hostel is made up by the money spent on the train. It is a 2.5km walk into the city centre, so location is not fantastic.
The room are clean, but there are nos n wash basins. One shower room per floor is not good when you have 30 people or more per floor. Also, the rooms are extremely warm, and one fan does not make a difference.
Other than that, the people are friendly, breakfast is decent and it's very close to a train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    72
    88
    38
    29
See reviews for
32
21
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I heard many negative comments about this hostel before booking, but I still decided to go there. And it was worth it! Oh I love this hostel! I met many wonderful people there, and the service was really helpful when I needed something. The bed was really comfortable, and the breakfast nice. The location was nice, the tube station and tesco are only few minutes walk away. And near of this hostel there are nice park also.
I will come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The showers were small ( only one on each floor! ) with no heat setting and a push style faucet that was a bit irritating. It could take up to an hour to actually get a chance to go in because of the volume of people.

Breakfast was plain, and ran out quickly.

Staff was a bit brisk and standoffish- felt like I was bugging them by being there.

This bring said, spacious rooms and comfy beds. The fan in our rooms was a lifesaver when it was hot.

Felt safe leaving bags in the room, location fairly close to tower bridge and give station.

Laundry service downstairs was also appreciated- 5 pounds for a wash and dry was much better than having to huff it to a laundromat.

All in all a decent stay, but not a place I would entirely recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Location was out of the way, but right beside a tube station. Felt like I was annoying the staff, and the breakfast in the morning was terrible. The beds were comfy and had outlets beside each bed, but the showers/toilets in the hall were TERRIBLE. The showers only had one temperature and only lasted 10 seconds at a time, so you constantly had to keep pressing the button to keep the water running. Not to mention only one shower per floor, so you had to wait 1-2 hours to get in! The common area/kitchen on the first floor was handy, and the pizza downstairs in the bar was delicious. This place had potential, but just doesn't rise to it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsaymair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nice place for the price we paid for.
Clean and big rooms. The breakfast is not 5 stars, but as it is free you can't complain. And the staff is very friendly and the location is perfect.
The only down side it that there is only one shower room per floor and the pub downstairs was very noise as our room was on the first floor. But is was still ok.

Room Tip: 12 bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Netania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London City Hotel
#224 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Southwark
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#60 of 824 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares

Property: Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares
Address: 6A Great Dover Street, London SE1 4XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Dover Castle Hostel and Bar, providing backpackers and students with great value accommodation and entertainment since 1985. Whatever your circumstances, we will supply you with all you need to experience the best of London. We're located in Borough, just a few minutes walk to London Bridge and London's Southbank with close proximity to major tourist attractions, such as the Tower Bridge, St Paul's Cathedral, Southbank, Tate Modern and the London Eye. ** Lively entertainment every night, free Wi-Fi, a fully equipped guest kitchen, TV room, laundry facilities, lockers, a free luggage room, and much more. ** Longer staying guests can be set up with private rooms in houses and in flatshares, arranged via our Dover Castle flatshare agency. ** Guests can rent large single rooms or a twin room for 2 persons. The kitchen and bathroom facilities are shared. ** The houses and flats are located in Zone 2, Southeast London, typically 20 minutes from London Bridge. ** Your temporary base in London where you can stay, relax, meet, and interact. Whether you're planning to stay in London for the short or long term, we offer great value to enhance your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares Hotel London
Dover Castle Hostel And Flatshares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing