We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the most amazing time ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Ranked #83 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I lived there for 1 year and had fun every sigle second. Met over 100 people who I am still in contact.. U must experience this place!!!!!!!

Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
Thank AybarsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2009

Of all the hostels we stayed at during our 2 week journey, St. Christophers was absolutely the WORST of them. The staff were difficult and unfriendly, the bar has horrible service, and the third floor was extremely inhospitable. Perhaps worst of all, the security is abysmal. During our 4 night stay we had multiple individuals enter our room, without knocking, throughout the day and night. I highly discourage anyone from visiting St. Christopher's Village.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamthewhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

So the staff were great, though it's through reading reviews that I found about many of the features of the hostel as this info wasn't offered at check in.

Dorm was decent, though as more than two thirds of the beds were unoccupied for the two nights it would have been nice to have been offered a bottom bunk (made it a bit hard to stumble up to the top bunk which was stuffed in a corner so had to hold onto another bunk to manouevre into mine). I wasn't sure if the dorms were single sex or anything, so should have checked any small print beforehand, but was rather shocked when on second night I was just about to get in the buff to change to turn around and see a guy waking up looking at me! :s

Cleanliness ok-ish, didn't get grossed out but wouldn't recommend to any OCDers, definitely a travellers hostel, nice international feel to it, though more of a universal mess left everywhere in the communal leisure areas (couldnt find any rooftop area apart from the smoking area, was this where the hot tub and sauna thing were meant to be?) Food was ok though went 10 mins before it finishes at 10 and there was nothing left, but went at 9 next time and couldn't get anywhere near the food and all hot water etc gone.

Location is great, near London Bridge and only about a 15 min walk to the Tate and other main sites on Southbank area.

Fantastic that a discount is offered on food and drink at the adjoining Belushis bar, only had a discount pint of Fosters @ £2 but didn't eat in the evening as stop serving at 8.30 so didn't get chance to sample the wares.

Not quite sure it was worth the price I paid but the staff were ok, there were no mass murderers and I didn't get mugged on way to tube station so overall 6/10

Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
Thank jemma132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our holiday. There was 5 of us travelling together so booked a 6 bed dorm. We knew that we would have to put up with another person in our room that night but didn't worry. However, when two people walked in we knew something was wrong. Sadly the strict hostel security had not stopped a girl from bringing a guy back to the room for some 'adult-themes' in the room. Quite a terrible experience to be honest. Thankfully he/it didn't last too long. This wasn't totally the hostels fault so can't really place blame on them.

Location: Very close to most of London's key sites, and in London you are never really that far from a tube station.

There is a nice bar attached to the hostel, and yeah its full of backpackers who have a different grasp on hygiene to the rest of the world, but the drinks were pretty cheap all night and we got well and trully drunk, so we had a great night. Made all the better by the fact that its a pretty short stumble from the bar to your rooms!

Staff: The quality of the staff tended to depend on which shift you got, sometimes they were really really good other times terrible. We asked if they could arrange a taxi for 3 of us plus luggage and they were able to arrange this without too much trouble.

Showers were so terrible, the water didn't even resemble warmth, and usually this wouldn't worry me, but considering London weather in January isn't terribly warm I was looking forward to a nice shower.

Overall: I probably wont stay here again, if I was younger I might give it another go, but I am over spending money on accommodation and getting nothing in return. I would expect at least a warm shower, surely that isn't too much to ask???

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaverickRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

This hostel is more or less what you can expect from a St Christopher's London hostel: the staff can vary from very nice and helpful to rude, the room are basic and always look like the need to be renewed, the bathrooms are acceptable, cleaniness is not bad.

The atmosphere is however nice, with many international travellers and the Belushi bar at the ground floor (which is open until late night, so it's good for some food or a last pint).

This hostel is located between London Bridge and Borough tube station, so it's in a good location as you can walk to Tower Bridge, City, Tate Modern, etc. The place is nice during the day, but I didn't feel safe walking around the area at late night, even though it's probably safe.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

This is the Worst Accomodation I ever stayed in. Deplorable service from the start. We were charged double the agreed booked rate. Given a tiny room, filthy cot, traffic noise and cold coming right through the ancient window which didn't close. To add further insult, the inept reception staff were painfully slow, with too many newbies left (alone) to mind the counter. Had to queue 15mins to pay £6 for a useless towell. Drunks and noise spilling into the hostel. I wouldn't feed their 'breakfast' to a dog. The owners should be locked up for providing such an unhealthy and shabby service and their property confiscated and redeveloped. Take my advice and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LOndOnTOwn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

This was booked at the last minute, and we booked the Shepherds Bush property. The day before, they rang and changed us to the London Bridge property, which wasn't really a problem, as I like the London Bridge area.

Check-in was dis-organised, and slow. When it is 11.30pm and you are tired, this wasn't really what I wanted. We eventually found our room, which was just a basic small room, with a bed, but after a night sleeping on the streets for the tennis at Wimbledon, an actual bed with a mattress was enough for a proper sleep.

The bar/club attached to the property was terrible, Considering we had slept on the street the previous night, and not showered properly since the previous morning, we felt like the cleanest people in there. The smell of sweat was overbearing.

We therefore headed down the street, into a few of the pubs/bars down the high street, which were great. Especially this little Italian basement bar, which was playing an interesting mix of Latin music, and cheesy classics. Everyone in there was having a good time, and we eventually headed to bed at around 3am.

This was my first experience of a hostel, and felt that as we paid very little for it, I can't be too negative. If you go into it expecting the worst, then you will feel it is valur for what you paid.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperObe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#65 of 908 in London
2,119 reviews
Southwark
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#30 of 908 in London
1,192 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#150 of 908 in London
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Village London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Village London Bridge

Address: London Bridge 161 Borough High Street | London Bridge, London SE1 1HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £14 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Village London Bridge 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legendary Hub for independent travellers since 1999, in the middle of historic London. It's BIG, it's fun and it rocks! Enjoy our parties everyday. Consistently voted one of the best hostels in the world. Did you come to PARTY? Are you ready for non-stop, action-packed good times? Then you've come to the right place. St Christopher's at the Village is the party hostel for London's young, fun and hip. Belushi's bar is where it all happens live DJs, karaoke, big screen TVs, cheap drinks, great eats and international parties. What more could any traveller ask for? Throw into the mix a roof terrace and chill out room. Is it any wonder the Village is consistently voted one of the best party hostels in the world? And so you can fit it all in we open the bar until 4am on weekends, and 2am on weekdays - you won't want to sleep with all the fun stuff that's going on in this hostel! Please note that guests under 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians. They cannot share in general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under-18s are not allowed in the bars or pubs. If you do not make this clear and book children into a mixed dorm, your reservation will be cancelled upon arrival and you will not receive a refund. Please note that the maximum stay policy is 14 days A £2 key card deposit will be required upon check in (refundable on check out) Breakfast not included, £3 for unlimited continental buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Christopher's Village London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Village Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing