We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and knowledgable staff, clean beds and shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA London Oxford Street
Ranked #14 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and knowledgable staff, clean beds and shower”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at a budget hotel the first night in London and had a horrible experience. Came to YHA for the next 2 nights and got exactly what we needed. Clean beds with chargers and lights by each head-board, good showers with plenty of hooks to hang clothes and shower packs, and locker service for easy storage. Staff we're very helpful, friendly, and approachable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky H, Manager at YHA London Oxford Street, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you in our hostel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    251
    55
    7
    3
See reviews for
91
116
180
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Thanks to Becky, Leigh, Sparkles and all the other who made our first stay in a hostel a fantastic experience!

My daughter and I spent two nights here and didn't want to leave. The staff and the property were amazing. The bathrooms and showers were clean and the beds were clean and comfortable.

Becky: we don't care what Leigh says, we will come see you in Brighton!

Leigh: we will come back and bring a bigger crew next time!

Thanks for an amazing stay and we will see you next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky H, Manager at YHA London Oxford Street, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and so good to hear that you had such a good time while you were in London. I will pass on your reviews to everyone. You make a really fantastic breakfast! Hope to see you back here again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our time at this hostel was great. Leigh (and the rest of the staff) are fantastic. They're helpful, efficient and go out of their way to make the atmosphere in the hostel relaxed and welcoming. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy. We stayed at other hostels during our trip to England and only belatedly came to appreciate how quiet the rooms were at this hostel. We never heard people in adjoining rooms or those in the room above. There was a good mix of ages amongst the guests and while mine were the only children staying that week, the staff mentioned that they often get families. We were made to feel welcome and the security doors and checks also made us feel safe.

The tube station is a 10 minute walk, and many tourist sites are easily accessible on foot. You can easily walk over to the West End and catch a play (we took in Matilda). There are a lot of places to eat if you head south into SoHo. Half a block down is a Marks & Spencer with a grocery section that is perfect for the hostelling lifestyle. There are a few coffee shops around, and the hostel makes a good cup of cappuccino, too.

Make sure you keep track of your key card. Otherwise Leigh (she works at the front desk) will tease you for days. And days. AND DAYS. But she only does it because she loves her job and she loves meeting travellers and spreading joy to the masses. If you do lose your card (which is surprisingly easy when you have jet lag) all will be forgiven if you compliment Leigh on her Keens shoes.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor can get pretty hot so arrive early and try and score one on the first or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky H, Manager at YHA London Oxford Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the amazing review, it was lovely having you and your family staying at the hostel. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time here so much. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to Leigh and the rest of the staff. Go Cunucks Go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a pretty nice place to stay, but too expensive! The rooms were clean, the reception was helpful, the bathrooms were not in the room, but the rooms do have sinks. The location is great for Oxford St, a good shopping area with a tube station. They probably had the most comfortable bed I slept in for my entire Europe trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky H, Manager at YHA London Oxford Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the great review and good to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A perfect place for a group of friends! The staff is very nice, rooms cleaned, bedroom perfect...
All is very perfect, I think I'll return in this youth hostel if I have to go to London!
The youth hostel is very well located too (Oxford street, many bus, the tube...)!

Room Tip: A private room is possible for 2,3,4 or 5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky H, Manager at YHA London Oxford Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we hope to see you back here very soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Island
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Right from the get go, this place is great. Walked into reception and was greeted by a very happy Aussie lady and an English guy. Smiley, happy, cracking jokes. Awesome.
I did however walk around the block, right past the place before I came full circle again! The entrance is sort of tucked away round a corner. But once I say the sign above I felt like an idiot!!
Everything is so nice and clean and there's individual showers. I was in a 4 bed ladies only dorm. Only down fall, the pillows. But I am yet to find one hostel in the world with reasonable pillows! :P
Location is fantastic too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ve2Travel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky H, Manager at YHA London Oxford Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback, I will be sure to let the staff know. We are in the process of putting up new signs outside the building to make it easier for everyone to spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I had such a wonderful stay here that I did not want to leave. It was my first time staying in a hostel and they have set the bar high. I stayed for four nights in a female 4 bed dorm. There were lockers for everyone and a sink and fan in the room. I was impressed by the cleanliness. The bed was comfortable. The kitchen is huge and well set up. The staff are lovely and always up for a chat or to offer there advice. The location is perfect! Easy to get to and safe to walk to at night.

Thank you for a lovely stay. I will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky H, Manager at YHA London Oxford Street, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are so happy to hear that we were your first hostel exprience and that you enjoyed it so much. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,216 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 871 in London
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#23 of 871 in London
707 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#28 of 871 in London
554 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#60 of 871 in London
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Oxford Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Oxford Street

Property: YHA London Oxford Street
Address: 14 Noel Street, London W1F 8GJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in the heart of bohemian London. YHA Oxford Street is a modern backpackers hostel offering comfortable yet cheap accommodation in London's West End and offers an eclectic mix of cafes, pubs, cinemas, quirky boutiques and a great alternative nightlife, all within a 5 minute walking distance of the hostel.This is a busy city centre hostel offering a range of 3 and 4 bed dorms, twin bunk or double bed private rooms, all with shared facilities. Breakfast is available daily as well as a fully equipped self catering kitchen. Our cafe/bar offers a range of hot and cold beverages to refresh you after a long day of sightseeing or prepare you for a night out. Families with young children might prefer YHA London Central, YHA St Pancras or YHA St Paul's for a quieter London break. This hostel is not suitable for groups of more than 8 people- see YHA Thameside or YHA St Paul's. We apologise, but due to the building architecture we have no wheelchair accessible facilities at YHA Oxford Street, the lift only goes as far as our 3rd floor reception. Access to rooms on level 4 and 5 is by stairs. Our nearest hostels with full access is YHA London Central or YHA St Pancras. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oxford Street Youth Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing