We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Arran House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arran House Hotel
Ranked #375 of 575 London B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was the worst hotel experience I have ever. When I stayed here for an extended time, the hotel was in the middle of a bed bugs epidemic that the management flat out denied to my face when I had picture evidence of bites, black spots on my sheets, and a room full of discarded mattress that mysteriously disappeared as soon as it was discovered by guests. In addition, the staff was unfriendly and unresponsive, including denying the presence of mice and cockroaches in the cellar bedrooms and dining area when they were standing next to me looking at the vermin. So corrupted. Also, the downstairs bathroom was share with 8 people and was the access point to the downstairs courtyard where there would be staff smoking and the linen closet that continually distupted bathroom time for staff to retrieve "clean" sheets. I would never stay here again and I advise all readers to stay very far away.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carusar211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    216
    107
    58
    60
See reviews for
174
121
91
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed in a twin room with a friend. Comfy beds, crisp clean sheets. New towels every day. The toilet/shower was shared, but was nice and clean. There was a sink +kettle & cups in the room. Breakfast which was included was OK. The variety wasn't huge, but there was plenty of everything (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, bacon, jam, bread, juice ect.)

Check in/out was a breeze and the staff was friendly and efficient. There is a pleasant garden at the back (you have to go through the reception) and a nice common room with lots of newspapers and magazines. You can leave your luggage there if you check out early. No air con, but there is a fan in the ceiling.

This hotel is far from fancy and luxurious, but great value for money in London where hotels are super expensive. If you don't mind carpet on the floor in the room and sharing a bathroom. Go for it! The location is great too. 5 minutes to the nearest tube station (Goodge street) Plus: Oxford street/ Soho/ Covent garden ect. is within walking distance.

Ps! There is no elevator, so be aware if you are a diva/ can't carry your stuff and have lots of heavy luggage :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oslotraveler1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family of 5 stayed in a quintuple room at the Arran House Hotel.
Room okay. Very good breakfast buffet (including bacon, sausages and eggs!), although the breakfast room gets quite crowded.
Clean toilets and showers.
Our only problem: the heat! We had a room at the top floor, London was hot, and our room was extremely hot, despite fans etc.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on top floor in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Hotel was OK. Clean and bright. 5 minute walk from Goodge Street tube station. Very hot, no airconditioning but there was a fan in the room. But the bit that really angered me was the rudeness and behaviour of the woman in the kitchen when I asked if more bacon was on its way at breakfast. It was unacceptable for someone to behave like that in the service industry. I complained to reception.

Plenty of other hotels to choose from in London but if you don't mind being treated like dirt by the breakfast staff then this may be the place for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the front. Road noise if you have the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzyblondegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I spend 5 Nights at the Arran House and i enjoyed it!
The double room was quite small but big enough, but you don't really spend all day in a hotel room!
Furthermore the rooms were clean, well equipped (sink, kettle, wifi, ventilator) and the shared bathroom is just a few steps away.
The included breakfast offered everything i needed to start my day!
The location of the Arran House is top. 2 mins to the next tube, 5 mins to the British Museum or 10 mins for Soho, 15 mins for Oxford Circus.
All in all a great location to stay an explore London. I would definitively come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Comrade1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I should have researched more thoroughly. Shower and toilet are not in the room. They're not even on the same floor but down the stairs! And the room was quite small. On the plus side, the breakfast was good and the common room charming. The location was only marginally close to tube stops. While probably not over priced, I would suggest spending a bit more a night for a much more modern experience. Hard to believe this is a 3 star!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeGrantGuignol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with my partner in a twin room. The room was very small, only just enough room to walk around the beds however there was also a sink and vanity in the room which were handy. Location was good, only 15 mins walk to the main bit of town and in a good area. The staff were generally nice and the breakfasts were great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTheo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#628 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#545 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#756 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#90 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House Hotel

Property: Arran House Hotel
Address: 77-79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arran House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Arran House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran House London
Arran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing